Back Biographies & Memoirs | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Religion in the Oval Office: The Religious Lives of American Presidents

Gary Scott Smith · Oxford University Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

In his highly praised book Faith and the Presidency, Gary Scott Smith cast a revealing light on the role religion has played in presidential politics throughout our nations history, offering comprehensive, even-handed examinations of the role of religion in the lives, politics, and policies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Killing Kind

M. William Phelps · Kensington
Format: Hardcover

She was seventeen years old, a beautiful girl with a Hollywood smile and luminous brown eyes. Sprawled in a culvert just off the gravel road like an abandoned doll, she wore only toe socks, a sweatshirt, and a necklace. She was not the killer's first victim. Nor would she be his last.The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Clash FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Clash City Rockers

Gary Jucha · Backbeat Books
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

(FAQ) . Founded by guitarist Mick Jones and fronted by the legendary Joe Strummer, the Clash had the charisma of Elvis, the integrity of the Beatles, and the swagger of the Rolling Stones. Through a series of influential singles and stirring concerts, the Clash not only outlasted their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Southern Discomfort: A Memoir

TENA CLARK · Touchstone
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the bestselling tradition of The Help comes a riveting, and profoundly moving memoir set in rural Mississippi during the Civil Rights era about a white girl coming of age in a repressive society and the woman who gave her the strength to forge her own path - the black nanny who cared...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geek Sublime: The Beauty of Code, the Code of Beauty

Vikram Chandra · Graywolf Press
Format: Book

The nonfiction debut from the author of the international bestseller Sacred Games about the surprising overlap between writing and computer codingVikram Chandra has been a computer programmer for almost as long as he has been a novelist In this extraordinary new book his first work of nonfiction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Driven toward Madness: The Fugitive Slave Margaret Garner and Tragedy on the Ohio

Nikki Marie Taylor · Ohio University Press
Pages: 152
Format: Print book

The story of Margaret Garner - the runaway slave who, when confronted with capture, slit the throat of her toddler daughter rather than have her face a life in slavery - has inspired Toni Morrison's Beloved, a film based on the novel starring Oprah Winfrey, and an opera. Garner's story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Leaving: A Memoir

Ayelet Tsabari · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An intimate memoir in essays by an award-winning Israeli writer who travels the world, from New York to India, searching for love, belonging, and an escape from grief following the death of her father when she was a young girl This searching collection opens with the death of Ayelet Tsabari's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rickey and Robinson: The Men Who Broke Baseball's Color Barrier

Harvey Frommer · Taylor Trade Publishing
Format: Print book

Blending exclusive rare interviews with Rachel Robinson (Jackie's widow), Mack Robinson (Jackie's brother), Hall of Famers Monte Irvin, Duke Snider, Pee Wee Reese, Roy Campanella, Ralph Kiner, and others, celebrated author Harvey Frommer evokes the lives of general manager Branch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of Eva Moskowitz: A Memoir

Eva Moskowitz · Harper
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

From Eva Moskowitz, the outspoken founder and CEO of the charter school Success Academy, comes a frank, feisty memoir about the rough-and-tumble battles to reform America's education system.Eva Moskowitz is a fighter with a reputation for having "sharp elbows" - if that's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood

Tom Phelan · Gallery Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Frank McCourt's Angela's Ashes and Alice Taylor's To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan's We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vulnerable Faith: Missional Living in the Radical Way of St. Patrick

Jamie Arpin-Ricci · Paraclete Press
Format: Print book

Patrick of Ireland lived a Christian life beyond the ordinary - that's why we call him a saint. But Jamie Arpin-Ricci contends that, although St. Patrick may have been extraordinary, the sort of life he lived is available to everyone - if we only desire and accept it. This book is Arpin-Ricci's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World

James Barron · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world's most sought-after stamp. When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby's for nearly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hack Attack: The Inside Story of How the Truth Caught Up with Rupert Murdoch

Nick Davies · Faber & Faber
Format: Hardcover

At first, it seemed like a small story. The royal editor of the News of the World was caught listening to the voicemail messages of staff at Buckingham Palace. He and a private investigator were jailed, and the case was closed. But Nick Davies, special correspondent for The Guardian, knew...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Greetings from Utopia Park: Surviving a Transcendent Childhood

Claire Hoffman · Harpercollins
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In this engrossing, provocative, and intimate memoir, a young journalist reflects on her childhood in the heartland, growing up in an increasingly isolated meditation community in the 1980s and '90s - a fascinating, disturbing look at a fringe culture and its true believers.When Claire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Roots of Rock, from Cardiff to Mississippi and Back

Peter Finch · Seren
Pages: 280
Format: Paperback

In The Roots of Rock, from Cardiff to Mississippi and Back Peter Finch reflects on how popular music has shaped both his life and the culture in which he lives, from first hearing American music on the radio in his Cardiff home in the 1950s to the compendious and downloadable riches of digital...
Read More check catalog