Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
A Heart of Blood and Ashes

Milla Vane · Berkley
Pages: 560
Format: Mass Market Paperback

A generation past, the western realms were embroiled in endless war. Then the Destroyer came. From the blood and ashes he left behind, a tenuous alliance rose between the barbarian riders of Parsathe and the walled kingdoms of the south. That alliance is all that stands against the return...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Twenty Days of Turin: A Novel

Giorgio De Maria · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Written during the bloodiest phase of the 1970s Italian domestic terror, a cult novel, with echoes of Lovecraft and Borges, makes its English language debut. In the spare wing of a church-run sanitarium, some fervent youths create "the Library," a space where lonely citizens can read...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unremarkable

Geoff Habiger · Shadow Dragon Press
Pages: 207
Format: Paperback

In 1920s Chicago, postal employee Saul Imbierowicz is unwittingly swept up in a city-wide conflict between rival gangs, federal agents, and supernatural forces beyond his control. After striking out on his own from his overbearing Jewish family, Saul quickly becomes involved with the seductive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of M: A Novel

PENG SHEPHERD · William Morrow
Pages: 485
Format: Hardcover

Brad Thor's Summer 2018 Fiction Pick for THE TODAY SHOW!

"Eerie, dark, and compelling, [The Book of M] will not disappoint lovers of The Passage and Station Eleven." --BOOKLIST

WHAT WOULD YOU GIVE UP TO REMEMBER?

Set in a dangerous near future world, The Book...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dominicana: A Novel

Angie Cruz · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"Gorgeous writing, gorgeous story." -- Sandra Cisneros

"An essential read for our times." -- Cristina Garcia

Fifteen-year-old Ana Cancion never dreamed of moving to America, the way the girls she grew up with in the Dominican countryside did. But when...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Cry of Metal & Bone: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book 3

L. Penelope · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 496
Format: Paperback

The Mantle dividing Elsira and Lagrimar has fallen. As the two kingdoms struggle to unify, one threat stands above them all.As desperate Lagrimari flee their barren land for a chance at a better life in Elsira, a shadowy group with ties to the Elsiran government launches an attack on their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Future Is Blue

CATHERYNNE M VALENTE · Subterranean
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Subterranean Press is thrilled to present a major new collection from one of the most dazzling, distinctive voices in the literary world. Catherynne M. Valente, the New York Times bestselling and multiple-award-winning author of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making...
Read More check catalog
 
 
84K

Claire North · Orbit
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

From one of the most powerful writers in modern fiction comes a dystopian vision of a world where money reigns supreme, and nothing is so precious that it can't be bought....

The penalty for Dani Cumali's murder: £84,000.

Theo works in the Criminal Audit Office. He assesses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deepest Blue: A Novel

Mindy Tarquini · SparkPress
Pages: 324
Format: Paperback

"Tarquini spins a haunting lyrical fantasy dealing with love, loss, and political turmoil..." -- Publishers WeeklyFor fans of Paulo Coelho and Neil Gaiman comes a magical story by critically acclaimed author Mindy Tarquini. In Panduri, an enchanted city seen only at twilight,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Keepers

Brenda Cooper · Pyr
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

Two sisters, one from a megacity and one from the wilderness, work together to protect the wilderness and the reintroduction of wolves from a group more interested in private property than public good.In a future Earth that's run by brilliant green cities separated by open land held...
Read More check catalog