Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
American Eden: David Hosack, Botany, and Medicine in the Garden of the Early Republic

Victoria Johnson · Liveright
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The untold story of Hamilton's -- and Burr's -- personal physician, whose dream to build America's first botanical garden inspired the young Republic. When Dr. David Hosack tilled the country's first botanical garden in the Manhattan soil more than two hundred years ago, he didn't just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Errors: A Panorama of Our Glitches, from Pointless Bones to Broken Genes

Nathan H. Lents · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

An illuminating, entertaining tour of the physical imperfections that make us human We humans like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution's greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch head colds so often - two hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frankenstein and the Birth of Science: The Era of Ingenuity that Electrified Science and Fiction

Joel Levy · Andre Deutsch
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

On the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, this fascinating study explores how the real science of her times influenced Mary Shelley's classic work of science fiction. Mary Shelley grew up surrounded by the era's prominent scientific thinkers, and conceived Frankenstein...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mask of the Sun: The Science, History and Forgotten Lore of Eclipses

John Dvorak · Tantor Audio
Format: Audiobook

Eclipses have stunned, frightened, emboldened, and mesmerized people for thousands of years. They were recorded on ancient turtle shells discovered in the Wastes of Yin in China, on clay tablets from Mesopotamia and on the Mayan "Dresden Codex." They are mentioned in Homer's Iliad...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Roll Back Global Warming

Paul Hawken · Penguin Books
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

The 100 most substantive solutions to reverse global warming, based on meticulous research by leading scientists and policymakers around the worldIn the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe

Mike Massimino · Crown Archetype
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to find yourself strapped to a giant rocket that's about to go from zero to 17,500 miles per hour? Or to look back on Earth from outer space and see the surprisingly precise line between day and night? Or to stand in front of the Hubble Space...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Killing It: An Education

Camas Davis · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A wayward young woman abandons her magazine career to learn the old ways of butchery and discover what it means to take life into her own handsCamas Davis was at an unhappy crossroads. A longtime magazine writer and editor in the food world, she'd returned to her home state of Oregon with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reactions: An Illustrated Exploration of Elements, Molecules, and Change in the Universe

Theodore W Gray · Black Dog & Leventhal
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The long-awaited third installment in Theodore Gray's iconic "Elements" trilogy. The first two titles, Elements and Molecules, have sold more than 1.5 million copies worldwide. With Reactions bestselling author Theodore Gray continues the journey through our molecular and chemical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pleasure Shock: The Rise of Deep Brain Stimulation and Its Forgotten Inventor

Lone Frank · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The electrifying, forgotten history of Robert Heath's brain pacemaker, investigating the origins and ethics of one of today's most promising medical breakthroughs: deep brain stimulationThe technology invented by psychiatrist Robert G. Heath at Tulane University in the 1950s and '60s has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Significant Figures: The Lives and Work of Great Mathematicians

Ian Stewart · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A celebrated mathematician traces the history of math through the lives and work of twenty-five pioneering mathematiciansIn Significant Figures, acclaimed mathematician Ian Stewart introduces the visionaries of mathematics throughout history. Delving into the lives of twenty-five great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dinosaur Artist: Obsession, Betrayal, and the Quest for Earth's Ultimate Trophy

Paige Williams · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New Yorker magazine staff writer Paige Williams delves into the riveting and perilous world of fossil collectors in this "tremendous" (David Grann) true tale of one Florida man's attempt to sell a dinosaur skeleton from Mongolia--a "beautifully written story steeped in natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Place in the Universe: Understanding Our Big, Messy Existence

Paul M. Sutter · Prometheus Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An astrophysicist presents an in-depth yet accessible tour of the universe for lay readers, while conveying the excitement of astronomy.How is a galaxy billions of lightyears away connected to us? Is our home nothing more than a tiny speck of blue in an ocean of night? In this exciting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Other Minds: The Octopus, the Sea, and the Deep Origins of Consciousness

Peter Godfrey-Smith · Farrar
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A philosopher dons a wet suit and journeys into the depths of consciousnessAlthough mammals and birds are widely regarded to be the smartest creatures on earth, it has lately become clear that a very distant branch of the tree of life has also sprouted higher intelligence: the cephalopods,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liquid Rules: The Delightful and Dangerous Substances That Flow Through Our Lives

Mark Miodownik · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Sometimes explosive, often delicious, occasionally poisonous, but always interesting: the New York Times best-selling author of Stuff Matters show us the secret lives of liquids: the shadow counterpart of our solid "stuff."We all know that without water we couldn't survive,...
Read More check catalog