Back Biographies & Memoirs | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood

Tom Phelan · Gallery Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Frank McCourt's Angela's Ashes and Alice Taylor's To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan's We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer

MICHELLE MCNAMARA · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Introduction by Gillian FlynnAfterword by Patton OswaltA masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer - the elusive serial rapist turned murderer who terrorized California for over a decade - from Michelle McNamara, the gifted journalist who died tragically while investigating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife's Tale: A Personal History

Aida Edemariam · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this indelible memoir that recalls the life of her remarkable ninety-five-year old grandmother, Guardian journalist Aida Edemariam tells the story of modern Ethiopia - a nation that would undergo a tumultuous transformation from feudalism to monarchy to Marxist revolution to democracy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eyes on the Street: The Life of Jane Jacobs

Robert Kanigel · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

The first major biography of the irrepressible woman who changed the way we view and live in cities, and whose influence can still be felt in any discussion of urban planning to this day. Eyes on the Street is a revelation of the phenomenal woman who raised three children, wrote seven groundbreaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
H. H. Holmes: The True History of the White City Devil

Adam Selzer · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 472
Format: Hardcover

America's first and most notorious serial killer and his diabolical killing spree during the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago.H. H. Holmes: The True History of the White City Devil is the first truly comprehensive book examining the life and career of a murderer who has become one of America's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Price of Illusion: A Memoir

Joan Juliet Buck · Atria Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

From Joan Juliet Buck, former editor-in-chief of Paris Vogue comes her dazzling, compulsively readable memoir: a fabulous account of four decades spent in the creative heart of London, New York, Los Angeles, and Paris, chronicling her quest to discover the difference between glitter and gold,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Together: A Memoir of a Marriage and a Medical Mishap

Judy Goldman · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A routine procedure left novelist, memoirist, and poet Judy Goldman's husband paralyzed. Together is her unforgettable account of the struggle to regain their "normal" life and a nuanced portrait of a marriage tested.When Judy Goldman's husband of almost four decades reads a newspaper...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend

Karen Bartlett · Lesser Gods
Pages: 340
Format: Paperback

"The most definitive biography yet" -- Choice magazine"A vivid portrait of a tortured soul" -- Out in the City"A heart-breaking read" -- Record CollectorKnown the world over for her unique musical style, distinctive look and a voice that propelled her into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Dee and the Empire of Angels: Enochian Magick and the Occult Roots of the Modern World

Jason Louv · Inner Traditions
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

A comprehensive look at the life and continuing influence of 16th-century scientific genius and occultist Dr. John Dee * Presents an overview of Dee's scientific achievements, intelligence and spy work, imperial strategizing, and his work developing methods to communicate with angels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rolling Stones on Air in the Sixties: TV and Radio History As It Happened

Richard Havers · Harper Design
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The first official, in-depth history of the Rolling Stones told through the band's television and radio broadcasts - appearance by appearance - published to tie in with the global release of a DVD containing recently discovered, never-before-released footage of the Stones on TV, in front...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Way Back

Charley Boorman · Aa Publishing
Pages: 319
Format: Hardcover

This biography details motorcycle adventurer Charley Boorman's recovery from a major road traffic accident in 2016. On February 16 2016, motorcycle adventurer Charley Boorman suffered a major road traffic accident in Portugal. Having spent the better part of his life on some form of motorbike,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Banished Immortal: A Life of Li Bai

Ha Jin · Pantheon
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the National Book Award-winning author of Waiting: a narratively driven, deeply human biography of the 8th century poet, Li Bai--also known as Li Po--one of the most beloved poets ever to emerge from China.With the instincts of a master novelist, Ha Jin draws on a wide range of historical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
So Much Things to Say: The Oral History of Bob Marley

ROGER STEFFENS · W W NORTON
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The definitive oral history of Bob Marley by one of the world's foremost reggae scholars. Bob Marley's life is the stuff of legend. Raised in the slums of Kingston, Jamaica, Marley (1945-1981) wrote songs that inspired millions. So Much Things to Say tells Marley's life story like never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Future Perfect: A Skeptic's Search for an Honest Mystic

Victoria Loustalot · Little A
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A witty, unflinching, and provocative memoir about one woman's journey into the fact, fiction, and fraud of the modern mystical complex.In the months following the breakup with her longtime boyfriend, Victoria Loustalot crossed paths with multiple psychics eager to impart their vision....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret

Craig Brown · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

A witty and profound portrait of the most talked-about English royalShe made John Lennon blush and Marlon Brando tongue-tied. She iced out Princess Diana and humiliated Elizabeth Taylor. Andy Warhol photographed her. Jack Nicholson offered her cocaine. Gore Vidal revered her. Francis Bacon...
Read More check catalog