Back Book Club Picks | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Book Club Picks  
The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel

Juliet Grames · Ecco
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

For Stella Fortuna, death has always been a part of life. Stella's childhood is full of strange, life-threatening incidents - moments where ordinary situations like cooking eggplant or feeding the pigs inexplicably take lethal turns. Even Stella's own mother is convinced that her daughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miracle Creek: A Novel

Angie Kim · Sarah Crichton Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families -- and our deepest secretsMy husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home

Rob Kugler · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An uplifting and unforgettable story of a US Marine, his extraordinary dog, and the road trip of a lifetime.When US Marine Rob Kugler returns from war he had given up not only a year of his life in service to his country, but he had also lost a brother in the fighting as well. Lost in grief,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cape May: A Novel

Chip Cheek · Celadon Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"What a treat. Glamorous and nostalgic and very sexy, Cape May is a novel about marriage, lust, shabby seaside towns and lots of gin. Brilliantly unsettling -- one of those books that stays with you." - Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel

Kim Michele Richardson · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything -- everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter. Cussy's not only a book woman, however, she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hurricane Season

Nicole Melleby · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This debut novel - about taking risks and facing danger, about love and art, and about growing up and coming out - will make its way straight into your heart. Fig, a sixth grader, wants more than anything to see the world as her father does. The once-renowned pianist, who hasn't composed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Light from Other Stars

Erika Swyler · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the author of national bestseller The Book of Speculation, a poignant, fantastical novel about the electric combination of ambition and wonder that keeps us reaching toward the heavens. Eleven-year-old Nedda Papas is obsessed with becoming an astronaut. In 1986 in Easter, a small Florida...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things that Fall from the Sky

Selja Ahava · Oneworld Publications
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

One quirk of fate can send life spiralling in the most unexpected direction ... Things that Fall from the Sky is a stunning narrative that explores the unexpected and inexplicable nature of reality. Three lives are changed forever by a series of random events: a young girl loses her mother...
Read More check catalog