Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Book Club Picks  
Half of What You Hear: A Novel

Kristyn Kusek Lewis · Harper Paperbacks
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors - perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.Greyhill, Virginia - refuge of old money, old mansions,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man: A Novel

Jonas Jonasson · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

The hysterical, clever, and unforgettable sequel to Jonas Jonasson's international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.What's next for Allan Karlsson? Turns out this centenarian has a few more adventures in store . . . It all begins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unquiet: A Novel

Linn Ullmann · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Praised across Scandinavia as a "literary masterpiece," "spellbinding," and "magnificent," Unquiet reflects on six taped conversations the author had with her father at the very end of his life.He is a renowned Swedish filmmaker and has a plan for everything....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Admin: How I Learned to Do Less, Do Better, and Live More

Elizabeth F. Emens · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Reading this book should be at the top of your To Do list. Life Admin will give you many hours of your life back. Every day an unseen form of labor creeps into our lives - stealing precious moments of free time, placing a strain on our schedules and our relationships, and earning neither...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Address Book

Sofia Lundberg · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy." - Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called OveFor fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

She possessed a stunning beauty. She also possessed a stunning mind. Could the world handle both?Her beauty almost certainly saved her from the rising Nazi party and led to marriage with an Austrian arms dealer. Underestimated in everything else, she overheard the Third Reich's plans while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love

Dani Shapiro · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The acclaimed and beloved author of Hourglass now gives us a new memoir about identity, paternity, and family secrets--a real-time exploration of the staggering discovery she recently made about her father, and her struggle to piece together the hidden story of her own life.What makes us who we are?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In My Mind's Eye: A Thought Diary

Jan Morris
Format: Hardcover

Riffing on cats and Brexit, the Royals and the annoyances of aging, the nonagenarian Jan Morris delights with her wickedly hilarious first-ever diary collection. Celebrated as the "greatest descriptive writer of her time" (Rebecca West) , Jan Morris has been dazzling readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women Rowing North: Navigating Life's Currents and Flourishing As We Age

Mary Bray Pipher · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Reviving Ophelia, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age.Women growing older contend with ageism, misogyny, and loss. Yet as Mary Pipher shows, most older women are deeply happy and filled with gratitude for the gifts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Possum Living: How to Live Well without a Job and With

Dolly Freed · Tin House Books
Pages: 225
Format: Paperback

In the late seventies, at the age of eighteen and with a seventh-grade education, Dolly Freed wrote Possum Living, about the five years she and her father lived off the land on a half-acre lot outside of Philadelphia. At the time of its publication in 1978, Possum Living became an instant...
Read More check catalog