Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians

Ian Frisch · Dey Street Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Neil Strauss' The Game and Joshua Foer's Moonwalking with Einstein comes the fascinating story of one man's colorful, mysterious, and personal journey into the world of magic, and his unlikely invitation into an underground secret society of revolutionary magicians from around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Notes on a Nervous Planet

Matt Haig · Penguin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

A follow-up to Matt Haig's internationally bestselling memoir, Reasons to Stay Alive, a broader look at how modern life feeds our anxiety, and how to live a better life.The societies we live in are increasingly making our minds ill, making it feel as though the way we live is engineered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Edward M. Kennedy: An Oral History

Barbara A. Perry
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady First: The World of First Lady Sarah Polk

Amy S. Greenberg · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The little-known story of remarkable First Lady Sarah Polk--a brilliant master of the art of high politics and a crucial but unrecognized figure in the history of American feminism.While the Woman's Rights convention was taking place at Seneca Falls in 1848, First Lady Sarah Childress Polk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Restless Kings: Henry II, His Sons and the Wars for the Plantagenet Crown

Nick Barratt · Faber & Faber
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

"A vivid and humane study of the Plantagenets' diabolical and devious first family - a real joy to read." -- Dan Jones, author of The War of the RosesIn The Restless Kings Nick Barratt presents the tumultuous struggle for supremacy between the first Plantagenet king, Henry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Disappear: Notes on Invisibility in a Time of Transparency

Akiko Busch · Penguin Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Vivid, surprising, and utterly timely, Akiko Busch's HOW TO DISAPPEAR explores the idea of invisibility in nature, art, and science, in search of a more joyful and peaceful way of living in today's increasingly surveilled and publicity-obsessed worldIn our increasingly networked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Let Me Down: A Memoir

Erin Hosier · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A fierce, vivid memoir about a father-daughter relationship steeped in God, rebellion, and the Beatles. Erin Hosier's coming-of-age was full of contradiction. Born into the turbulent 1970s, she was raised in rural Ohio by lapsed hippies who traded 1960s rock 'n' roll for 1950s-era Christian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can't Go Wrong Doing Right: How a Child of Poverty Rose to the White House and Helped Change the World

Robert J. Brown · Convergent Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable account of a quietly remarkable life, Robert Brown's memoir takes readers behind the scenes of pivotal moments from the 20th century, where the lessons he learned at his grandmother's knee helped him shape America as we know it today. Called "a world-class power...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Prince: A Search for Pat Conroy

Michael Mewshaw · Counterpoint
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"In The Lost Prince Michael Mewshaw sets down one of the most gripping stories of friendship I've ever read." -- Daniel Menaker, author of My Mistake: A Memoir Pat Conroy was America's poet laureate of family dysfunction. A larger-than-life character and the author of such...
Read More check catalog