Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown

Penny Junor · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the first in-depth biography of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall - the infamous other woman who made the marriage of Britain's Prince Charles and Princess Diana "a bit crowded" - esteemed royal biographer Penny Junor tells the unlikely and extraordinary story of the woman reviled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Broadway: A History of New York City in Thirteen Miles

Fran Leadon · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

An eye-opening history of Manhattan told through its most celebrated street.In the early seventeenth century, in a backwater Dutch colony, there was a wide, muddy cow path that the settlers called the Brede Wegh. As the street grew longer, houses and taverns began to spring up alongside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After

CLEMANTINE WAMARIYA · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A riveting story of dislocation, survival, and the power of stories to break or save us Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to speak in whispers, when neighbors began to disappear, and when she heard the loud, ugly sounds her brother said were "thunder....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rocket Men: The Daring Odyssey of Apollo 8 and the Astronauts Who Made Man's First Journey to the Moon

Robert Kurson · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The inside, lesser-known story of NASA's boldest and riskiest mission: Apollo 8, mankind's first journey to the Moon on Christmas in 1968. A riveting account of three heroic astronauts who took one of the most dangerous space flights ever, from the New York Times bestselling author of Shadow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

KIRK WALLACE JOHNSON · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
President Carter: The White House Years

Stuart Eizenstat · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 1024
Format: Hardcover

The definitive history of the Carter Administration from the man who participated in its surprising number of accomplishments -- drawing on his extensive and never-before-seen notes.Stuart Eizenstat was at Jimmy Carter's side from his political rise in Georgia through four years in the White...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Cook in the World: Tales from My Momma's Table

Rick Bragg · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the beloved, best-selling author of All Over but the Shoutin', a delectable, rollicking food memoir, cookbook, and loving tribute to a region, a vanishing history, a family, and, especially, to his mother. Including seventy-five mouthwatering Bragg family recipes for classic southern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Timothy Leary Project: Inside the Great Counterculture Experiment

Jennifer Ulrich · Abrams Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The first collection of Timothy Leary's (1920-1996) selected papers and correspondence opens a window on the ideas that inspired the counterculture of the 1960s and the fascination with LSD that continues to the present. The man who coined the phrase "turn on, tune in, drop...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Can't Help Myself: Lessons & Confessions from a Modern Advice Columnist

Meredith Goldstein · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A disarmingly honest memoir about giving advice when you're not sure what you're doing yourself, by the woman behind The Boston Globe's Love Letters column. Every day, Boston Globe advice columnist Meredith Goldstein takes on the relationship problems of thousands of dedicated readers....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unified: How Our Unlikely Friendship Gives Us Hope for a Divided Country

Tim Scott · Tyndale Momentum
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In a divided country desperate for unity, two sons of South Carolina show how different races, life experiences, and pathways can lead to a deep friendship -- even in a state that was rocked to its core by the 2015 Charleston church shooting.Tim Scott, an African-American US senator, and Trey...
Read More check catalog