Back Travel | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Travel  
The Best American Travel Writing 2017

Lauren Collins (Editor) · Mariner Books
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

"The Best American Travel Writing has been the gold standard for short-form travel writing from newspapers, magazines, and the Internet since its inception." - New York Times Book Review Everyone travels for different reasons, but whatever those reasons are, one thing is certain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Japanese Picture Dictionary: Learn 1,500 Japanese Words and Phrases

Timothy G. Stout · Tuttle Publishing
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

If a picture is worth a thousand words, students of the Japanese language have everything they need in Tuttle's Japanese Picture Dictionary. Deftly illustrating the use of more than 1,500 commonly used Japanese words and phrases, author Timothy Stout gives learners a clear, easy-to-use...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wonder Trail: True Stories from Los Angeles to the End of the World

Steve Hely · Dutton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Steve Hely, writer for The Office and American Dad!, and recipient of the Thurber Prize for American Humor, presents a travel book about his journey through Central and South America. Part travel book, part pop history, part comic memoir, Hely's writing will make readers want to reach for their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hauntings of the Kentucky State Penitentiary

Steve E Asher · Permuted Platinum
Pages: 270
Format: Print book

The Kentucky State penitentiary opened its heavy iron gates to the condemned over 100 years ago - yet many of them, long deceased, still walk its corridors.Noted paranormal researcher Steve E. Asher provides true, first-hand accounts of the paranormal as well as his own personal experiences...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tokyo Geek's Guide: Manga, Anime, Gaming, Cosplay, Toys, Idols & More

GIANNI SIMONE · Tuttle Publishing
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Tokyo is ground zero for Japan's popular "Geek" or otaku culture - a phenomenon that has now swept across the globe.This is the most comprehensive guide ever produced to Tokyo's geeky underworld. It provides a comprehensive run-down on each major Tokyo district where geeks congregate,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frommer's Italy 2019

Stephen Brewer · FrommerMedia
Pages: 832
Format: Paperback

From the most trusted name in travel, Frommer's Italy 2019 is a comprehensive, completely up-to-date guide to one of Europe's most storied vacation destinations. With helpful advice and honest recommendations from Frommer's expert authors, you'll walk among the ancient ruins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Kiss or Two?: The Art and Science of Saying Hello

ANDY SCOTT · The Overlook Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

You can order coffee in six languages, but how do you fare when it comes to the nebulous practice of greeting? Do you aspire to be a citizen of the world? Do you want to avoid intercultural fumbling when meeting new people? In an increasingly global and connected world, our ways of saying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fodor's Oahu: with Honolulu, Waikiki & the North Shore

Fodor's Travel Publications · Fodor's Travel
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Written by locals, Fodor's Oahu travel guidebook offers expert advice and insider tips for all tastes and budgets. Complete with detailed maps and concise descriptions, this travel guide will help you plan your trip with ease and make the most out of your visit to Honolulu, Waikiki, and the North...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Greek to Me: Adventures of the Comma Queen

Mary Norris · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The beloved Comma Queen returns with a buoyant and charming book about language, love, and the wine-dark sea.In her New York Times best-selling Between You & Me, Mary Norris delighted readers with her irreverent tales of pencils, punctuation, and punctiliousness over three decades in The New Yorker's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Munich & the Bavarian Alps

DK Travel · DK Eyewitness Travel
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

With superb photography, illustrations and maps, this easy-to-use travel guide will lead you through the best of Munich and the Bavarian Alps.From unmissable city sights such as Munich's Englischer Garten and stunning Nymphenburg Palace, to Bavaria's romantic historic towns of Nordlingen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frommer's Hawaii 2018

Martha Cheng · FrommerMedia
Pages: 640
Format: Paperback

Comprehensive and completely up-to-date, Frommer's Hawaii takes you from world-famous beaches to secluded rain-forests and everywhere in between. Frommer's expert authors -- all journalists who specialize in Hawaii -- know every inch of the islands and they're not afraid to tell the truth....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Not-Quite States of America: Dispatches from the Territories and Other Far-Flung Outposts of the USA

Doug Mack · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

An eye-opening journey to the most overlooked parts of America.Everyone knows that America is 50 states and ... some other stuff. Scattered shards in the Pacific and the Caribbean, the not-quite states -- American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
RVing, 4E

ALPHA. · Alpha Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Take the driver's seat on your very own RV adventures There's something uniquely satisfying about packing your bags, mapping your route, planning your campground stops, and hitting the open road, family vacation-style. And when you travel in an RV, you enjoy all the comforts and conveniences...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Idiot's guides rv vacations.

Jeremy Puglisi · Alpha Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey into the Alaskan Wilds

Caroline Van Hemert · Little, Brown Spark
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Hope Jahren, Helen MacDonald, and Cheryl Strayed, the gripping story of a biologist's journey from Washington State to high above the Arctic Circle -- traveling across remote and rugged terrain solely by human power -- to rediscover birds, the natural world, and her own love...
Read More check catalog