Back Teens | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
All the Crooked Saints

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Here is a thing everyone wants: A miracle.Here is a thing everyone fears:What it takes to get one.Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado, is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle-mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans, and a sky full...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fireblood

ELLY BLAKE · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In this action-packed sequel to the New York Times bestselling Frostblood, Ruby must choose between her fiery homeland and the icy king who loves her.Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his powerful throne. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guardians of the Galaxy by Abnett & Lanning: The Complete Collection Volume 2

Dan Abnett · Marvel Comics
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

Can the Guardians of the Galaxy stop the War of Kings? As Black Bolt and Vulcan square off and the Inhumans and Shi'ar ravage entire planets, the Guardians are stuck in the middle! As new discoveries are made and old friends are betrayed, the new Guardians must stand shoulder-to-shoulder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women with Wings: Women Pilots of World War II

SHANNON BAKER MOORE · ESSENTIAL LIBRARY
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Women with Wingsdiscusses how in the 1940s, women broke free from traditional gender roles by piloting aircraft both on the homefront and in combat, making critical contributions to the Allied victory in World War II. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Teen's Guide to Getting Stuff Done: Discover Your Procrastination Type, Stop Putting Things Off, and Reach Your Goals

Doug Shannon · Instant Help
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Do you procrastinate? And if so, what's your procrastination type? In this fun and illustrated guide, author Jennifer Shannon blends acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and cognitive behavioral strategies to help you recognize your procrastination habits, discover the strengths of your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pacifica

KRISTEN SIMMONS · Tor Teen
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Kristen Simmons, critically acclaimed author of Article 5 and Metaltown, brings her trademark action, romance, and frightening prescience to this tale of high seas adventure.For too long our people have suffered, plagued by overcrowding, disease, and lack of work. We have only just survived...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Was Here

Gayle Forman · Viking, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) , 2015.
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay comes "a heartbreaking novel about coping with loss" (People) . When her best friend, Meg, commits suicide by drinking a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snow White: A Graphic Novel

Matt Phelan · Candlewick Press (MA)
Pages: 216
Format: Print book

Award-winning graphic novelist Matt Phelan delivers a darkly stylized noir Snow White set against the backdrop of Depression-era Manhattan.The scene: New York City. The dazzling lights cast shadows that grow ever darker as the glitzy prosperity of the Roaring Twenties screeches to a halt....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jess, Chunk, and the Road Trip to Infinity

Kristin Elizabeth Clark · Farrar
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The last time Jess saw her father, she was a boy. Now she's a high school graduate, soon to be on her way to art school. But first she has some unfinished business with her dad. So she's driving halfway across the country to his wedding. He happens to be marrying her mom's ex-best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Avian

Nicole Conway · Month9Books, LLC
Format: Paperback

What kind of power is lurking inside him? After a year of training to become a dragonrider, Jaevid Broadfeather has been sent home to rest during a three-month interlude. But when he returns to find the king drake has chosen Beckah Derrick as his new rider, Jaevid realizes something big is about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Novice: Summoner: Book One

Taran Matharu · Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 355
Format: Print book

He can summon demons. But can he win a war?Fletcher is working as a blacksmith's apprentice when he discovers he has the rare ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must travel with his demon, Ignatius, to an academy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jump-starting a career in pharmaceuticals

Tamra Orr · Rosen Publishing
Format:  Book : English : First EditionView all editions and formats

For readers interested in becoming a pharmacy technician, manufacturing technician, pharmaceutical sales representative, pharmacy billing specialist, pharmacy records manager, or pharmacy clerk, among other jobs, this guide encourages them to start doing their homework now by taking any high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Now or Never!: Fifty-Fourth Massachusetts Infantry's War to End Slavery

RAY SHEPARD · Calkins Creek
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Here is the riveting dual biography of two little-known but extraordinary men in Civil War history -- George E. Stephens and James Henry Gooding. These Union soldiers not only served in the Massachusetts 54th Infantry, the well-known black regiment, but were also war correspondents who published...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't You Trust Me?

Patrice Kindl · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 246
Format: Print book

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.Don't you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue-eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Presenting Buffalo Bill: The Man Who Invented the Wild West

Candace Fleming · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 273
Format: Print book

Everyone knows the name Buffalo Bill, but few these days know what he did or, in some cases, didn't do. Was he a Pony Express rider? Did he serve Custer at the Battle of Little Big Horn? Did he scalp countless Native Americans, or did he defend their rights?This, the first significant...
Read More check catalog