Back Teens | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Surviving the Emotional Roller Coaster: DBT Skills to Help Teens Manage Emotions

Sheri Van Dijk · New Harbinger Publications, Inc.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

The teen years are an emotional roller coaster. So, how can you make it through? In this important guide, leading dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) and teen expert Sheri Van Dijk offers four core skills to help you manage your emotional ups and downs, build great relationships, and thrive!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Get Happy

Mary Amato · Egmont USA, 2014.
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.Minerva has been raised by her single mother after her father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Long Game: A Fixer Novel

Jennifer Barnes · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., can fix just about any problem her classmates--or their power-wielding parents--might have, but when terrorism, assassination, and murder strike, she soon finds herself wrapped up in an intricate plot that may end up hitting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A 2017 Newbery Honor BookNew York Times BestsellerA young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying. ★ An NPR Best Book of the Year★ A BOOKLIST Best Book of the Year★ An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of the Year★ A Kirkus Reviews Best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stopping the Pain: A Workbook for Teens Who Cut and Self Injure

Lawrence Shapiro PhD · Instant Help; Pap/Cdr Pr edition
Format: Print book

If you’re cutting or hurting yourself you’re not alone. Thousands of teens across the country think that hurting themselves is the only way they can feel better, even though they continue to feel alone and out of control.There are a lot of reasons why teens hurt themselves....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Holocaust: The Origins, Events, and Remarkable Tales of Survival

Philip Steele · Scholastic
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

During World War II, six million Jewish men, women, and children lost their lives under the Nazis, in one of the darkest events of modern history. THE HOLOCAUST: The Origins, Events, and Remarkable Tales of Survival is a thought-provoking new book that explores the circumstances that led to the Holocaust,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kissing in America

Margo Rabb · Harper
Pages: 391
Format: Print book

Acclaimed writer Margo Rabb's Kissing in America is "a wonderful novel about friendship, love, travel, life, hope, poetry, intelligence, and the inner lives of girls," raves internationally bestselling author Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) . In the two years since her father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans

Don Brown · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Kirkus' Best of 2015 list School Library Journal Best of 2015 Publishers Weekly's Best of 2015 list Horn Book Fanfare Book BOOKLIST Editor's Choice On August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina's monstrous winds and surging water overwhelmed the protective levees around low-lying New Orleans,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Christmas truce of 1914.

Tom Streissguth · Essential Library
Pages: 112
Format:  Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats

112 pages : illustrations (some color), map ; 21 x 25 cm.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Riders

Veronica Rossi · Tor Teen
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Riders. A new fantasy adventure from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Veronica Rossi.For eighteen-year-old Gideon Blake, nothing but death can keep him from achieving his goal of becoming a U.S. Army Ranger. As it turns out, it does.Recovering from the accident that most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Rover No More: Being the Last Recorded Account of the Life & Times of Jacky Faber

L. A. Meyer · Harcourt Brace and Company
Pages: 355
Format: Hardcover

Jacky Faber is framed as passing confidential U.S. information to the British. Forced to flee Boston, she goes undercover as a governess for a prominent Puritan family. When outed by a nosy postmaster, she deserts the respectability of her position, dons a leotard and slippers, and poses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Building a Spacecraft

Tyler Omoth · Capstone Press,
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

Incredible high tech spacecraft allow us to explore the depths of outer space. How are these amazing machines built? Get ready to find out!
Read More check catalog
 
 
The displacement of native peoples

Lynn Peppas · Crabtree Publishing
Pages: 48
Format:  Print book : Juvenile audience : EnglishView all editions and formats

This revealing book examines how First Nations and Native Peoples have been displaced in the United States and Canada through treaties, empty promises, and military force. Through close examination of primary source images, documents, and first-hand accounts, readers will gain an understanding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soldier

Julie Kagawa · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being hunted forever as an outcast, Ember Hill chose to stand with Riley and his band of rogue dragons rather than become an assassin for Talon. She's lost any contact with her twin brother, Dante, a Talon devotee,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Critical World Issues: Genetic Engineering

Martin Thompson · Mason Crest
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Genetic engineering involves the deliberate modification of the characteristics of an organism by manipulating its genetic material. This allows modern scientists to shape characteristics of living things. This technology offers many positives, including the possibility of enabling people...
Read More check catalog