Back Teens | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Human Rights in Focus: Illegal Immigrants

David M Haugen · Referencepoint Press
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Immigration laws are designed to manage immigrant populations, reassert a nations boundaries, and help define what it means to be a citizen of a given countryand all of this is meant to be carried out humanely and without discrimination. But some argue that these protections are not enough...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Traitor Angels

Anne Blankman · Balzer Bray
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father - perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity - from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love & Gelato

Jenna Evans Welch · Simon Pulse, 2016.
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn't in the mood for Italy's famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She's only there because it was her mother's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Shot Kill

Robert Muchamore · Hodder & Stoughton
Format: Paperback

Spring, 1943. The war is turning against Germany, but Hitler isn't giving up. In a secret bunker deep in occupied France, scientists are hard at work on Hitler's latest deadly weapon: code name FZG-76. Back in England Henderson's boys will need to undergo advanced sniper training...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Radical

Emily Kokie · Candlewick Press
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Determined to survive the crisis she's sure is imminent, Bex is at a loss when her world collapses in the one way she hasn't planned for.

Preppers. Survivalists. Bex prefers to think of herself as a realist who plans to survive, but regardless of labels, they're all sure of the same...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Secrets

James Klise · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A Fire Destroys . . .A Treasure Appears . . .A Crime Unfolds . . .An Edgar Award Winner, Best YA Novel 2015 A Chicago Public Library "Best of the Best" 2014 A Booklist Editors' Choice, Books for Youth 2014 A Booklist Top Ten Crime Fiction for Youth 2014 When Saba Khan's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roam

C.H. Armstrong · Central Avenue Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Seventeen-year-old Abby Lunde and her family are living on the streets. They had a normal life back in Omaha but, thanks to her mother's awful mistake, they had to leave behind what little they had for a new start in Rochester. Abby tries to be an average teenager-fitting in at school,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbroken

Laura Hillenbrand · Delacorte
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting biography includes more than 100 black-and-white photos, as well as exclusive content,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 Steps to a 5: 500 AP Physics 2 Questions to Know by Test Day

CHRISTOPHER BRUHN · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Your essential study guide to preparing for the AP Physics 2 Exam -- organized for easy reference and crucial practice5 Steps to a 5: 500 AP Physics 2 Algebra-Based Questions to Know by Test Day is tailored to meet your study needs -- whether you've left it to the last minute to prepare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's Not Me, It's You

Stephanie Kate Strohm · Point
Pages: 275
Format: Print book

Avery Dennis is a high school senior and one of the most popular girls in her class. But a majorly public breakup with the guy she's been dating causes some disastrous waves. It is right before prom and Avery no longer has the perfect date. She runs the prom committee, how could she not show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Ribbon

Lucy Adlington · Candlewick
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Shining a light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust, Lucy Adlington weaves an unforgettable story of strength, survival, and a friendship that can endure anything.Three weeks after being detained on her way home from school, fourteen-year-old Ella finds herself in the Upper Tailoring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Holding Smoke

Elle Cosimano · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

John "Smoke" Conlan is serving time for two murders-but he wasn't the one who murdered his English teacher, and he never intended to kill the only other witness to the crime. A dangerous juvenile rehabilitation center in Denver, Colorado, known as the Y, is Smoke's new home and the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Basher Science: The Complete Periodic Table: All the Elements with Style!

Adrian Dingle · Kingfisher
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Do you confuse boron with barium or chlorine with fluorine? Fear not! Basher Science has come to the rescue by mixing science and art to create a unique periodic table. From unassuming oxygen to devious manganese, the incredible elements show you the periodic table as you've never seen...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Ship of Smoke and Steel

Django Wexler · Tor Teen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Ship of Smoke and Steel is the launch of Django Wexler's cinematic, action-packed epic fantasy Wells of Sorcery trilogy.

In the lower wards of Kahnzoka, the great port city of the Blessed Empire, eighteen-year-old ward boss Isoka enforces the will of her criminal masters...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl on a Plane

Miriam Moss · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 277
Format: Print book

Bahrain, 1970. After a summer spent with her family, fifteen-year-old Anna is flying back to boarding school in England when her plane is hijacked by Palestinian terrorists and taken to the Jordanian desert. Demands are issued. If they are not met, the terrorists will blow...
Read More check catalog