Back Teens | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Teens and Suicide

CHERESE CARTLIDGE. · REFERENCEPOINT PR INC
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

Each year in the United States, thousands of youths take their own livesand the teen suicide rate is climbing. Teens and Suicide examines the nature of teen suicide, what causes it, what it is like to live with it, and how or whether it can be treated or cured.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buried Heart

Kate Elliott · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The explosive finale to World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's captivating, New York Times bestselling young adult series
Read More check catalog
 
 
Earthrise: My Adventures as an Apollo 14 Astronaut

Ellen Mahoney · Chicago Review Press
Format: Hardcover

On February 5, 1971, Edgar Mitchell jumped off the last rungs of a ladder connecting him to NASAs Antares spacecraft and landed with two feet on the Moon. Following the disastrous Apollo 13 mission, Mitchell was one of three astronauts to successfully complete the Apollo 14 journey to the Moon,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clutch

Heather Camlot · Red Deer Press
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

It is 1946 in a poor Jewish neighborhood in Montreal where a few dollars equals a fortune, and no matter where you go you will find the best home cooking anywhere on Earth. It is also a million miles away from the posh mansions on the other side of town. But a 12-year-old boy can still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay Sweet

SIOBHAN VIVIAN · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Last Boy and Girl in the World and The List comes a bold and sweet summer read about first love, feminism, and ice cream.Summer in Sand Lake isn't complete without a trip to Meade Creamery - the local ice cream stand founded in 1944 by Molly Meade who started...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucky Few

Katie Ormsbee · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Court of Wings and Ruin

SARAH J MAAS · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 720
Format: Hardcover

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.As...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poppy

Mary Hooper · Bloomsbury Usa
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Poppy is young, beautiful and clever - and working as a parlourmaid in the de Vere family's country house. Society, it seems, has already carved out her destiny. But Poppy's life is about to be thrown dramatically off course. The first reason is love - with someone forbidden, who could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lifeboat Clique

Kathy Parks · HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Pages: 1
Format: Audio CD

[Young Adult Fiction (Ages 12-17) ]Some people might say Denver has a death wish. Why else would she sneak into a Malibu beach party where she'd be surrounded by enemies? Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he'd ask her out, but why question a miracle of fate? Well,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Franklin D. Roosevelt's Presidency

Linda Crotta Brennan · Lerner Publications, 2015.
Pages: 104
Format: Print book

When Franklin Delano Roosevelt took office in 1932, the United States was in crisis. The Great Depression had left many people unemployed, homeless, and desperate. Roosevelt established a "New Deal," which set the country on a path to recovery. Roosevelt's administration also...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cut Off

Jamie Bastedo · Red Deer Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

A topical tale of one teen's addiction to the Cyber World - and the Northern adventure that saved his life.Fourteen-year-old Indio McCracken enjoys meteoric stardom as a guitar prodigy after his father posts a video of him playing. Things quickly go sour when Indio's fame fuels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Get Caught

Kurt Dinan · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos ClubWhen Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, he has to ask: why him? After all, he's Mr. 2.5 GPA, Mr. No Social Life. He's Just Max. And his favorite heist movies have taught him this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gypsy Davey

Chris Lynch · SSBFYR Teen, 2014.
Pages: 151
Format: Hardcover

A boy triumphs over his abusive environment in this raw and gripping story from National Book Award finalist Chris Lynch.Davey's had to grow up fast in order to get away - away from his beautiful mother, who loves him but can't take care of him; away from his charismatic but reckless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Firebrand: A Steeplejack novel

A J HARTLEY · Tor Teen
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author A. J. Hartley returns to his intriguing, 19th-century South African-inspired fantasy world in Firebrand, another adrenaline-pounding adventure.Once a steeplejack, Anglet Sutonga is used to scaling the heights of Bar-Selehm. Nowadays she assists politician...
Read More check catalog
 
 
As Old as Time: A Twisted Tale

Liz Braswell · Disney Press
Pages: 484
Format: Print book

What if Belle's mother cursed the Beast? As Old as Time is the third book in a new YA line that reimagines classic Disney stories in surprising new ways. When Belle touches the Beast's enchanted rose, memories flood through Belle's mind-memories of a mother she thought she would never see again....
Read More check catalog