Back Teens | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Wood

Chelsea Bobulski · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An enchanted wood poisoned at the roots. A girl bound by an inherited duty. And the lost traveler from another time who might help her uncover the truth. From debut author Chelsea Bobulski comes The Wood, a YA novel filled with dark mystery and atmospheric fantasy. Winter didn't ask to be the guardian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
That Thing We Call a Heart

Sheba Karim · HarperTeen
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt's pie shack....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Undefeated: Jim Thorpe and the Carlisle Indian School Football Team

Steve Sheinkin · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

"Sheinkin has made a career of finding extraordinary stories in American history, researching them exhaustively and recounting them at a nimble pace for readers aged 10 and up . . . Thorpe's greatness may be aspirational, but Sheinkin's brisk and forthright delivery makes it seem entirely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dark Intercept

JULIA KELLER · Tor Teen
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The Dark Intercept is the beginning of a "riveting" (Emmy Laybourne) science fiction adventure that challenges the voluntary surrender of liberties for the perception of safety. When the state controls your emotions, how hard will you fight to feel free?In a radiant world of endless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bar Code Rebellion

Suzanne Weyn · Scholastic Paperbacks; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

The second book in the action-packed Bar Code series.They want your identity. They want your freedom. They can't have them. The bar code rebellion.Kayla has resisted getting the bar code tattoo, even though it's mean forfeiting a "normal" life. Without the tattoo, she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Phantom limbs

Paula Garner · Candlewick Press
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

How do you move on from an irreplaceable loss? In a poignant debut, a sixteen-year-old boy must learn to swim against an undercurrent of grief - or be swept away by it.Otis and Meg were inseparable until her family abruptly moved away after the terrible accident that left Otis's little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Careers in architecture and construction

Barbara Sheen · ReferencePoint Press
Pages: 80
Format:  Print book : Juvenile audience : English

Architecture and construction are among the fastest-growing job sectors in the United States. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at architecture and construction jobs ranging from electricians to landscape...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elvis Presley: Rock & Roll's King (Lives Cut Short)

Stephanie Watson · Abdo Publishing Company; Unabridged edition
Pages: 112
Format: Library Binding

An examination of the life and career of music legend Elvis Presley
Read More check catalog
 
 
Silver Shadows: A Bloodlines Novel

Richelle Mead · Razorbill; Not Indicated edition
Format: Hardcover

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives.In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of Margot Sanchez

Lilliam Rivera · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted - from debut author Lilliam Rivera.Things/People Margot Hates: Mami, for destroying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tankborn

Karen Sandler · Tu Books
Pages: 373
Format: Hardcover

Best friends Kayla and Mishalla know they will be separated when the time comes for their Assignments. They are GENs, Genetically Engineered Non-humans, and in their strict caste system, GENs are at the bottom rung of society. High-status trueborns and working-class lowborns, born naturally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adolf Hitler

Catherine Ellis; Jeremy Roberts · Rosen Publishing
Pages: 112
Format:  Print book : Biography : Juvenile audience : English : First editionView all editions and formats

The one person at whose feet the blame for both the Holocaust and World War II can be laid is Adolf Hitler. Readers will learn how Hitler rose to power and the horrific ways that he made use of that power once he had accumulated it. This biography discusses Hitlers role in the so-called...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ohio

Darlene R. Stille · Childrens Pr; Revised edition
Format: Book

The third series of America the Beautiful is back in a revised edition. The books in this series are bursting with fascinating facts, updated statistics, and brand-new full-color photographs. America the Beautiful's dynamic design and editorial approach to the geography, history, people,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Freedom Summer Murders

Don Mitchell · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

To coincide with the 50th anniversary of the Freedom Summer murders, this will be the first book for young adults to explore the harrowing true story of three civil rights workers slain by the KKK.In June of 1964, three idealistic young men (one black and two white) were lynched by the Ku Klux...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mirror in the Sky

Aditi Khorana · Razorbill
Pages: 334
Format: Print book

Another Earth meets Perks of Being a Wallflower in this thoughtful, mesemerizing debut and subject of a TedX talk about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year."[O]ne of the most powerful reads of the year....
Read More check catalog