Back Politics | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
The Big Stick: The Limits of Soft Power and the Necessity of Military Force

Eliot A Cohen · Basic Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In The Big Stick, Eliot A. Cohen argues that the United States must use military power in support of its foreign policy, but that doing so will be increasingly difficult. The United States must continue to assume primary responsibility for maintaining world order, or risk a chaotic international...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Cowboy Strike: Bullets, Ballots & Class Conflicts in the American West

MARK LAUSE · Verso
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

When cowboys were workers and battled their bossesAlthough later made an icon of "rugged individualism," the American cowboy was a grossly exploited and underpaid seasonal worker, who waged a series of militant strikes in the generally isolated and neglected corners of the Old West....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Building the Great Society: Inside Lyndon Johnson's White House

JOSHUA ZEITZ · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The author of Lincoln's Boys takes us inside Lyndon Johnson's White House to show how the legendary Great Society programs were actually put into practice: Team of Rivals for LBJ. The personalities behind every burst of 1960s liberal reform - from civil rights and immigration reform, to Medicare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way Forward: Renewing the American Idea

Paul Ryan · Grand Central Pub
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the intellectual leader of the Republican party, an unvarnished look into the state of the conservative movement today and a clear plan for what needs to be done to save the American Idea.THE WAY FORWARD challenges conventional thinking, outlines his political vision for 2014 and beyond,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The True Flag: Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire

Stephen Kinzer · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Overthrow and The Brothers brings to life the forgotten political debate that set America's interventionist course in the world for the twentieth century and beyond.How should the United States act in the world? Americans cannot decide. Sometimes we burn with righteous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Impeachment : a citizen's guide

Cass R Sunstein · Harvard University Press
Pages: 208

As Benjamin Franklin famously put it, Americans have a republic, if we can keep it. Preserving the Constitution and the democratic system it supports is the public's responsibility. One route the Constitution provides for discharging that duty--a route rarely traveled--is impeachment. Cass...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head

Clive Veroni · House of Anansi Press
Format: Book

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwells Outliers and Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veronis Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing. In the early twentieth century political operatives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Senate Intelligence Committee Report on Torture: Committee Study of the Central Intelligence Agency's Detention and Interrogation Program

Senate Select Committee on Intelligence · Melville House
Format: Print book

"The most extensive review of U.S. intelligence-gathering tactics in generations." - Los Angeles TimesMeticulously formatted, this is a highly readable edition of the Senate Intelligence Committee's investigation of Central Intelligence Agency interrogation and detention...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Climate Swerve: Reflections on Mind, Hope, and Survival

Robert Jay Lifton · The New Press
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Over his long career as witness to an extreme twentieth century, National Book Award-winning psychiatrist, historian, and public intellectual Robert Jay Lifton has grappled with the profound effects of nuclear war, terrorism, and genocide. Now he shifts to climate change, which, Lifton...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

ANONYMOUS. · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITOR'S CHOICE | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post * Bustle * Men's Journal * The Chicago Reader * StarTribune * Blavity "One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond the Messy Truth: How We Came Apart, How We Come Together

VAN JONES · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A passionate manifesto that exposes hypocrisy on both sides of the political divide and points a way out of the tribalism that is tearing America apart - by the CNN political contributor and host hailed as "a star of the 2016 campaign" (The New York Times) who tries to "fight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fantasyland: How America Went Haywire: A 500-Year History

Kurt Andersen · Random House
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A razor-sharp thinker offers a new understanding of our post-truth world and explains the American instinct to believe in make-believe, from the Pilgrims to P. T. Barnum to Disneyland to zealots of every stripe . . . to Donald Trump. In this sweeping, eloquent history of America, one of our sharpest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death: An Oral History

Casey Jarman · Zest Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In this illuminating collection of oral-history style interviews, Casey Jarman talks to a funeral industry watchdog about the (often shady) history of the death trade; he hears how songwriter David Bazan lost his faith while trying to hold on to his family; he learns about cartoonist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dirty Wars and Polished Silver: The Life and Times of a War Correspondent Turned Ambassatrix

LYNDA SCHUSTER · Melville House Publishing
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From a former Wall Street Journal foreign correspondent, an exuberant memoir of life, love, and transformation on the frontlines of conflicts around the world Growing up in 1970s Detroit, Lynda Schuster felt certain life was happening elsewhere. And as soon as she graduated from high school,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wall and the Gate: Israel, Palestine, and the Legal Battle for Human Rights

Mikhaʼel Sefarad · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

From renowned human rights lawyer Michael Sfard, an unprecedented exploration of the struggle for human rights in Israel's courtsA farmer from a village in the occupied West Bank, cut off from his olive groves by the construction of Israel's controversial separation wall, asked Israeli...
Read More check catalog