Back Politics | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
Bunny Mellon: The Life of an American Style Legend

Meryl Gordon · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A new biography of Bunny Mellon, the style icon and American aristocrat who designed the White House Rose Garden for her friend JFK and served as a living witness to 20th Century American history, operating in the high-level arenas of politics, diplomacy, art and fashion.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic

Mike Duncan · PublicAffairs
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The creator of the massively popular, award-winning podcast series The History of Rome brings to life the story of the tumultuous years that set the stage for the fall of the Roman Republic.The Roman Republic was one of the most remarkable achievements in the history of civilization. After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weeding Handbook: A Shelf-by-Shelf Guide

Rebecca Vnuk · American Library Association
Pages: 218
Format: Paperback

No! We can t rid of that! Vnuk, author of the popular Weeding Tips column on BOOKLIST Online, is here to show you that yes, you can. A library is an ever-changing organism; when done the right way, weeding helps a library thrive by focusing its resources on those parts of the collection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Was Told to Come Alone: My Journey Behind the Lines of Jihad

Souad Mekhennet · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 354
Format: Hardcover

"I was told to come alone. I was not to carry any identification, and would have to leave my cell phone, audio recorder, watch, and purse at my hotel. . . ."For her whole life, Souad Mekhennet, a reporter for The Washington Post who was born and educated in Germany, has had to balance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Myth of the Strong Leader: Political Leadership in the Modern Age

Archie Brown · Basic Books
Pages: 466
Format: Hardcover

All too frequently, leadership is reduced to a simple dichotomy: the strong versus the weak. Yet, there are myriad ways to exercise effective political leadership - as well as different ways to fail. We blame our leaders for economic downfalls and praise them for vital social reforms, but rarely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Pursuit of Peace in Israel and Palestine

Gershon Baskin · Vanderbilt University Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Gershon Baskin's memoir of thirty-eight years of intensive pursuit of peace begins with a childhood on Long Island and a bar mitzvah trip to Israel with his family. Baskin joined Young Judaea back in the States, then later lived on a kibbutz in Israel, where he announced to his parents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unlikely partners : Chinese reformers, Western economists, and the making of global China

Julian B Gewirtz · Harvard University Press
Pages: 389
Format: Print book

"Unlikely Partners" recounts the story of how Chinese politicians and intellectuals looked beyond their country s borders for economic guidance at a key crossroads in the nation s tumultuous twentieth century. Julian Gewirtz offers a dramatic tale of competition for influence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Breach of Trust: How Washington Turns Outsiders Into Insiders

Sen. Tom A. Coburn M.D. · Thomas Nelson; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Tom A. Coburn, a congressional maverick who kept his promise to serve three terms and then leave Washington, offers a candid look at the inner workings of Congress-why the system changes politicians instead of vice versa. Breach of Trust shows readers, through shocking behind-the-scenes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Outsourcing Technology: A Practical Guide for Librarians

Robin Hastings · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Format: Print book

Here, acclaimed technology author and speaker Robin Hastings brings both her own experience as a library’s IT manager with outsourcing technical functions—including email and network backups as well as basic hardware maintenance—and that of others in her network of library...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Colony in a Nation

Chris Hayes · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

New York Times best-selling author and Emmy Award-winning news anchor Chris Hayes argues that there are really two Americas: a Colony and a Nation.America likes to tell itself that it inhabits a postracial world, yet nearly every empirical measure -- wealth, unemployment, incarceration,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Jim St Germain · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First Ladies and American Women: In Politics and at Home

Jill Abraham Hummer · University Press of Kansas
Pages: 269
Format: Hardcover

Unelected, but expected to act as befits her "office," the first lady has what Pat Nixon called "the hardest unpaid job in the world." Michelle Obama championed military families with the program Joining Forces. Four decades earlier Pat Nixon traveled to Africa as the nation's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head

Clive Veroni · House of Anansi Press
Format: Book

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwells Outliers and Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veronis Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing. In the early twentieth century political operatives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teeth: The Story of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America

Mary Otto · New Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"Show me your teeth," the great naturalist Georges Cuvier is credited with saying, "and I will tell you who you are." In this shattering new work, veteran health journalist Mary Otto looks inside America's mouth, revealing unsettling truths about our unequal society.Teeth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The War on Cops: How the New Attack on Law and Order Makes Everyone Less Safe

Heather Mac Donald · Encounter Books
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

Violent crime has been rising sharply in many American cities after two decades of decline. Homicides jumped nearly 17 percent in 2015 in the largest 50 cities, the biggest one-year increase since 1993. The reason is what Heather Mac Donald first identified nationally as the "Ferguson...
Read More check catalog