Back Politics | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Jim St Germain · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Perilous Path: Talking Race, Inequality, and the Law

Sherrilyn A Ifill · The New Press
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

A no-holds-barred, red-hot discussion of race in America today from some of the leading names in the field, including the bestselling author of Just Mercy This blisteringly candid discussion of the American dilemma in the age of Trump brings together the head of the NAACP Legal Defense...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Detroit: A People's History of Self-Determination

Herb Boyd · Amistad
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

The author of Baldwin's Harlem looks at the evolving culture, politics, economics, and spiritual life of Detroit - a blend of memoir, love letter, history, and clear-eyed reportage that explores the city's past, present, and future and its significance to the African American legacy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Confronting Capitalism: Real Solutions for a Troubled Economic System

Philip Kotler · AMACOM--American Management Association, 2015.
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

With the fall of the Berlin Wall, one economic model emerged triumphant. Capitalism - spanning a spectrum from laissez faire to authoritarian - shapes the market economies of all the wealthiest and fastest-growing nations. But trouble is cracking its shiny veneer. In the U.S., Europe, and Japan,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner

Daniel Ellsberg · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From the legendary whistle-blower who revealed the Pentagon Papers, an eyewitness exposé of the dangers of America's Top Secret, seventy-year-long nuclear policy that--chillingly--continues to this day.Here, for the first time, former high level defense analyst Daniel Ellsberg reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Al Franken, Giant of the Senate

Al Franken · Twelve
Pages: 406
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times Bestseller"Flips the classic born-in-a-shack rise to political office tale on its head. I skipped meals to read this book - also unusual - because every page was funny. It made me deliriously happy." - Louise Erdrich, The New York Times p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Were Eight Years in Power: A Journey Through the Obama Era

TA-NEHISI COATES · One World
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

In these "urgently relevant essays,"* the National Book Award-winning author of Between the World and Me "reflects on race, Barack Obama's presidency and its jarring aftermath"* - including the election of Donald Trump."We were eight years in power" was the lament...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Darwin Economy: Liberty, Competition, and the Common Good

Robert H. Frank · Princeton University Press; First Edition edition

Who was the greater economist--Adam Smith or Charles Darwin? The question seems absurd. Darwin, after all, was a naturalist, not an economist. But Robert Frank, New York Times economics columnist and best-selling author of The Economic Naturalist, predicts that within the next century Darwin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Radical Technologies: The Design of Everyday Life

Adam Greenfield · Verso
Pages: 359
Format: Paperback

A field manual to the technologies that are transforming our livesEverywhere we turn, a startling new device promises to transfigure our lives. But at what cost? In this urgent and revelatory excavation of our Information Age, leading technology thinker Adam Greenfield forces us to reconsider...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine who Outwitted America's Enemies

JASON FAGONE · Dey Street Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Joining the ranks of Hidden Figures and In the Garden of Beasts, the incredible true story of the greatest codebreaking duo that ever lived, an American woman and her husband who invented the modern science of cryptology together and used it to confront the evils of their time, solving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Minutes to Doomsday: An Agent, a Traitor, and the Worst Espionage Breach in U.S. History

Joe Navarro · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

An intense cat-and-mouse game played between two brilliant men in the last days of the Cold War, this shocking insider's story shows how a massive giveaway of secret war plans and nuclear secrets threatened America with annihilation.In 1988 Joe Navarro, one of the youngest agents ever...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando

PAUL KIX · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Agent Zigzag comes this breathtaking biography, as fast-paced and emotionally intuitive as the very best spy thrillers, which illuminates an unsung hero of the French Resistance during World War II - Robert de La Rochefoucald, an aristocrat turned anti-Nazi saboteur...
Read More check catalog
 
 
History teaches us to resist : how progressive movements have succeeded in challenging times

Mary Frances Berry · Beacon Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Historian and civil rights activist proves how progressive movements can flourish even in conservative times. Despair and mourning after the election of a hostile President is part of the push-pull of American politics. But resistance to presidential administrations has led to positive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic

Mike Duncan · PublicAffairs
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The creator of the massively popular, award-winning podcast series The History of Rome brings to life the story of the tumultuous years that set the stage for the fall of the Roman Republic.The Roman Republic was one of the most remarkable achievements in the history of civilization. After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America

Richard Rothstein · Liveright
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A Publisher's Weekly Top 10 Best Books of 2017 Long-listed for the National Book Award "Rothstein has presented what I consider to be the most forceful argument ever published on how federal, state, and local governments gave rise to and reinforced neighborhood segregation." -- William...
Read More check catalog