Back Top Choices | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
Clock Dance: A novel

Anne Tyler · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BEST SELLER | A charming new novel of self-discovery and second chances from the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread.Willa Drake can count on one hand the defining moments of her life. In 1967, she is a schoolgirl coping with her mother's sudden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Space Encyclopedia: A Tour of Our Solar System and Beyond

David A. Aguilar · National Geographic Children's Books
Format: Hardcover

Presenting the latest exciting findings on space exploration and research and cutting-edge, spectacular views of the universe that technology is bringing back to Earth, all in one ultimate reference book. Authored by David A. Aguilar of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, the National...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brave Enough

Cheryl Strayed · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 135
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of Wild, a collection of quotes--drawn from the wide range of her writings--that capture her wisdom, courage, and outspoken humor, presented in a gift-sized package that's as irresistible to give as it is to receive.Around the world, thousands of people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreamers and Deceivers: True Stories of the Heroes and Villains Who Made America

Glenn Beck · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

The new nonfiction from #1 bestselling author and popular radio and television host Glenn Beck.THEIR NAMES ARE FAMILIAR.THEIR STORIES ARE NOT.Everyone has heard of a "Ponzi scheme," but do you know what Charles Ponzi actually did to make his name synonymous with fraud? Credit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Not Ourselves: A Novel

Matthew Thomas · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 620
Format: Print book

New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2014 * Washington Post Top 50 Fiction List for 2014 * Entertainment Weekly Ten Best Fiction Books of 2014 * Esquire 5 Most Important Books of 2014 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2014 * One of Janet Maslin's Ten Favorite Books of the Year in The New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mexico: The Cookbook

Margarita Carrillo Arronte · Phaidon Press
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Best SellerA Publishers Weekly Top Ten Cookbook (Fall 2014) "All my life I have wanted to travel through Mexico to learn authentic recipes from each region and now I don't have to - Margarita has done it for me!" - Eva LongoriaThe first truly comprehensive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders

Vincent Bugliosi · W. W. Norton & Company; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

The #1 True Crime Bestseller of All Time—7 Million Copies Sold In the summer of 1969, in Los Angeles, a series of brutal, seemingly random murders captured headlines across America. A famous actress (and her unborn child), an heiress to a coffee fortune, a supermarket owner and his wife...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

George R. R. Martin · Bantam
Pages: 326
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * THE NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN HISTORY OF WESTEROS AND THE LANDS BEYOND * WITH HUNDREDS OF PAGES OF ALL-NEW MATERIAL FROM GEORGE R. R. MARTINIf the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork - the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Onshore Storm: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure

DEWEY LAMBDIN · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From reigning master of martime fiction Dewey Lambdin comes the latest in the Alan Lewrie naval series, An Onshore Storm, where Lewrie will take on his roughest adventure: maritime life beyond the navyFor over twenty years, Dewey Lambdin's devoted fans have followed the adventures of Alan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Outsiders

S E Hinton · Speak
Pages: 180
Format: Paperback

The 45th anniversary of a landmark work of teen fiction Ponyboy can count on his brothers and his friends, but not on much else besides trouble with the Socs, a vicious gang of rich kids who get away with everything, including beating up greasers like Ponyboy. At least he knows what to expect--until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crown's Game

Evelyn Skye · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 399
Format: Hardcover

"Gorgeous and richly imagined." - Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance." - Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the AshesPerfect for fans of Shadow and Bone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Summer Long: A Novel

Dorothea Benton Frank · William Morrow
Pages: 375
Format: Print book

Dorothea Benton Frank novels are filled with smart and witty fiction that every reader wants on their bookshelf: soulful, edgy stories about realistic characters familiar to us all that explore the most deeply felt moments of life with wry humor and heart.All Summer Long follows one charming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Identicals: A Novel

ELIN HILDERBRAND · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 423
Format: Hardcover

Identical twin sisters who couldn't look more alike...or live more differently.Harper Frost is laid-back, easygoing. She doesn't care what anyone thinks of her. She likes a beer and a shot and wouldn't be caught dead wearing anything fashionable. She's inherited her father's rundown house...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Ice: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel

Laurell K. Hamilton · Berkley Books
Pages: 576
Format: Print book

Anita Blake has the highest kill count of any vampire executioner in the country. She's a U.S. Marshal who can raise zombies with the best of them. But ever since she and master vampire Jean-Claude went public with their engagement, all she is to anyone and everyone is Jean-Claude's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brown Girl Dreaming

Jacqueline Woodson · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller and National Book Award Winner Jacqueline Woodson, the acclaimed author of Another Brooklyn, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse. Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems,...
Read More check catalog