Back Politics | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
Bill Clinton: The American Presidents Series: The 42nd President, 1993-2001

Michael Tomasky · Times Books
Pages: 184
Format: Hardcover

The president of larger-than-life ambitions and appetites whose term defined America at the close of the twentieth centuryBill Clinton: a president of contradictions. He was a Rhodes Scholar and a Yale Law School graduate, but he was also a fatherless child from rural Arkansas. He was one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine who Outwitted America's Enemies

JASON FAGONE · Dey Street Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Joining the ranks of Hidden Figures and In the Garden of Beasts, the incredible true story of the greatest codebreaking duo that ever lived, an American woman and her husband who invented the modern science of cryptology together and used it to confront the evils of their time, solving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ask A North Korean: Defectors Talk About Their Lives Inside the WorldÆs Most Secretive Nation

DANIEL TUDOR · Tuttle Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Understanding North Korean Through the Eyes of Defectors.The weekly column Ask a North Korean, published by NK News, invites readers from around the world to pose questions to North Korean defectors. By way of these fascinating interviews, the North Koreans themselves provide authentic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy Who Loved Too Much: A True Story of Pathological Friendliness

Jennifer Latson · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The poignant story of a boy's coming-of-age complicated by Williams syndrome, a genetic disorder that makes people biologically incapable of distrust.What would it be like to see everyone as a friend? Twelve-year-old Eli D'Angelo has a genetic disorder that obliterates social inhibitions,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Home That Was Our Country: A Memoir of Syria

Alia Malek · Nation Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

At the Arab Spring's hopeful start, Alia Malek returned to Damascus to reclaim her grandmother's apartment, which had been lost to her family since Hafez al-Assad came to power in 1970. Its loss was central to her parent's decision to make their lives in America. In chronicling the people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pill City: How Two Honor Roll Students Foiled the Feds and Built a Drug Empire

Kevin Deutsch · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 266
Format: Print book

In 2015, Baltimore plunged into the worst American riots in recent history. In the chaos, two high school honor-roll students, "Brick" and "Wax, used their smarts, computer skills, ambition and gang connections to change the world of illegal drugs forever. With their gang...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Raqqa Diaries: Escape from Islamic State

Samer · Interlink Pub Group
Pages: 106
Format: Hardcover

An incredibly brave account of life inside one of the most isolated and fear ridden cities in the world. The Raqqa Diaries began as a series of short broadcasts on BBC Radio 4's Today Program. Now one of the most isolated and fear ridden cities on earth, no-one is allowed to speak to western...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Radicals: In the War for American Ideals

JEREMY MCCARTER · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Hamilton: The Revolution, a stunning group portrait of five American radicals fighting for their ideals as the country goes mad around them Where do we find our ideals? What does it mean to live for them - and to risk dying for them?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Jim St Germain · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Windfall: How the New Energy Abundance Upends Global Politics and Strengthens America's Power

MEGHAN L O'SULLIVAN · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Windfall is the boldest profile of the world's energy resources since Daniel Yergin's The Quest. Harvard professor and former Washington policymaker Meghan L. O'Sullivan reveals how fears of energy scarcity have given way to the reality of energy abundance. This abundance is transforming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exploding Data: Reclaiming Our Cyber Security in the Digital Age

MICHAEL CHERTOFF · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The most dangerous threat we -- individually and as a society and country -- face today is no longer military, but rather the increasingly pervasive exposure of our personal information; nothing undermines our freedom more than losing control of information about ourselves. And yet, as daily...
Read More check catalog
 
 
High Noon: The Hollywood Blacklist and the Making of an American Classic

Glenn Frankel · Bloomsbury
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Searchers, the revelatory story behind the classic movie High Noon and the toxic political climate in which it was created. It's one of the most revered movies of Hollywood's golden era. Starring screen legend Gary Cooper and Grace Kelly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen

Sean Sherman · Univ Of Minnesota Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Here is real food - our indigenous American fruits and vegetables, the wild and foraged ingredients, game and fish. Locally sourced, seasonal, "clean" ingredients and nose-to-tail cooking are nothing new to Sean Sherman, the Oglala Lakota chef and founder of The Sioux Chef. In his breakout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mudgirls Manifesto: Handbuilt Homes, Handcrafted Lives

MUDGIRLS NATURAL BUILDING COLLECTIVE. · New Society Publishers
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

In the face of widespread burnout and a world gone crazy, how do we find things to say "yes" to, rather than a resounding "no"? On North America's West Coast, there's a group of rebel women who ten years ago chose to break free from a rigged economic and social...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Egyptians: A Radical History of Egypt's Unfinished Revolution

Jack Shenker · The New Press
Pages: 544
Format: Print book

In The Egyptians, journalist Jack Shenker uncovers the roots of the uprising that succeeded in toppling Hosni Mubarak, one of the Middle East's most entrenched dictators, and explores a country now divided between two irreconcilable political orders. Challenging conventional analyses...
Read More check catalog