Back Outdoors & Nature | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Asteroid Hunters

Carrie Nugent · Simon & Schuster/ TED
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, scientists could have the knowledge to prevent a natural disaster epic in scale - an asteroid hitting the earth and in this exciting, adventuresome book, Carrie Nugent explains how.What are asteroids, and where do they come from? And, most urgently: Are they going to hit the Earth?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Speak Chicken: Why Your Chickens Do What They Do & Say What They Say

MELISSA CAUGHEY · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Best-selling author Melissa Caughey knows that backyard chickens are like any favorite pet - fun to spend time with and fascinating to observe. Her hours among the flock have resulted in this quirky, irresistible guide packed with firsthand insights into how chickens communicate and interact,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quakeland: On the Road to America's Next Devastating Earthquake

KATHRYN MILES · Dutton
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A journey around the United States in search of the truth about the threat of earthquakes leads to spine-tingling discoveries, unnerving experts, and ultimately the kind of preparations that will actually help guide us through disasters. It's a road trip full of surprises. Earthquakes....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tides: The Science and Spirit of the Ocean

Jonathan White · Trinity University Press
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

In Tides: The Science and Spirit of the Ocean, writer, sailor, and surfer Jonathan White takes readers across the globe to discover the science and spirit of ocean tides. In the Arctic, White shimmies under the ice with an Inuit elder to hunt for mussels in the dark cavities left behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Forest in the Clouds: My Year Among the Mountain Gorillas in the Remote Enclave of Dr. Dian Fossey

JOHN FOWLER · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, a riveting insider's account of the fascinating world of Dr. Dian Fossey's mountain gorilla camp, telling the often-shocking story of the unraveling of Fossey's Rwandan facility alongside adventures tracking mountain gorillas over hostile terrain, confronting aggressive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rising: Dispatches from the New American Shore

ELIZABETH RUSH · Milkweed Editions
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Harvey. Maria. Irma. Sandy. Katrina. We live in a time of unprecedented hurricanes and catastrophic weather events, a time when it is increasingly clear that climate change is neither imagined nor distant -- and that rising seas are transforming the coastline of the United States in irrevocable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Horse-Lover's Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition: A–Z Guide to All Things Equine: Barrel Racing, Breeds, Cinch, Cowboy Curtain, Dressage, Driving, Foaling, ... Riding, English & Western, and So Much More

Jessie Haas · Storey Publishing
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Here is a completely revised, full-color second edition of the established go-to source for equestrian information. This comprehensive A-to-Z guide covers "everything horse" and bridges gaps in the equestrian universe between English and Western styles. More than 1,700 entries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Are We Screwed?: How a New Generation is Fighting to Survive Climate Change

Geoff Dembicki · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A declaration of independence, and a call for systemic change, from the generation that will be most impacted by climate change.If anyone doubted the potential political power of the Millennial generation, Bernie Sanders' campaign put it in the spotlight. Are We Screwed? makes clear that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spirit of the Horse: A Celebration in Fact and Fable

WILLIAM SHATNER · ST MARTIN'S Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

From his first time riding as a child, William Shatner has felt a deep love for horses. Whether seated in the saddle, communicating with them, or simply appreciating their beauty, his bond with these majestic animals is deep. For decades he has sought to share his joy -- with children,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Alps: A Human History from Hannibal to Heidi and Beyond

Stephen O'Shea · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling blend of contemporary travelogue and historical narrative about the Alps from "a graceful and passionate writer" (Washington Post) .For centuries the Alps have seen the march of armies, the flow of pilgrims and Crusaders, the feats of mountaineers, and the dreams...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My European Family: The First 54,000 Years

Karin Bojs · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Karin Bojs grew up in a small, broken family, and at her mother's funeral she felt this more keenly than ever. As part of the healing process, she decided to use DNA research to learn more about herself, her family, and the interconnectedness of society. She went deep in search of her genealogy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DIY Projects for Cats and Dogs: 20 Easy-to-Build Creations for Your Best Friend

ARMELLE RAU · CompanionHouse Books
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Pamper your pet while you save money by doing it yourself! This book shows you how to build inexpensive, functional accessories to make your home a pet paradise. DIY Projects for Cats and Dogs presents 20 simple projects that you can make in just a weekend, without any advanced skills or special...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

BRITT COLLINS · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
BirdNote: Chirps, Quirks, and Stories of 100 Birds from the Popular Public Radio Show

Ellen Blackstone · Sasquatch Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

One hundred entertaining and informative essays from the popular public radio feature program, BirdNote, accompanied by original illustrations throughout--an illuminating volume for bird and nature lovers across North America.Here are the best stories about our avian friends from the public...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Have Dog, Will Travel: A Poet's Journey

STEPHEN KUUSISTO · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In a lyrical love letter to guide dogs everywhere, a blind poet shares his delightful story of how a guide dog changed his life and helped him discover a newfound appreciation for travel and independence.At the age of thirty-eight, Stephen Kuusisto - who has managed his whole life without...
Read More check catalog