Back Business & Investing | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Why Wall Street Matters

WILLIAM D COHAN · RANDOM HOUSE
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

For readers of Michael Lewis comes a counterintuitive defense of the banks. One of America's most respected financial journalists debunks all the misinformed arguments against Wall Street - while acknowledging the greed and excess that fuel those feelings - and argues persuasively that,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Supply Chain Strategy, Second Edition

Edward Frazelle · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The industry standard in supply chain management -- fully revised and updated to provide today's logistics solutions The proven pillars of success in logistics and supply chain management introduced in the first edition of Supply Chain Strategy now guide the supply chains of many of the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Self-Publish for Under $100: The Step-by-Step Handbook to Publishing Your Book Without Breaking the Bank

Cinquanta Cox-Smith · Mango
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

How to Self-Publish for Under $100 is THE bible for getting published. Publishing expert an author, Cinquanta Cox-Smith offers all her tips and tricks for self-publishing on a reasonable budget for content creators who don't have a publishing deal, but who have a nice following on their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Teaming: How Your Business Can Conquer the Competition by Challenging Everything

Bryce G Hoffman · Crown Business
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Red Teaming is a revolutionary new way to make critical and contrarian thinking part of the planning process of any organization, allowing companies to stress-test their strategies, flush out hidden threats and missed opportunities and avoid being sandbagged by competitors. Today, most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Building the Internet of Things: Implement New Business Models, Disrupt Competitors, Transform Your Industry

Maciej Kranz · John Wiley & Sons
Pages: 260
Format: Print book

Connect your organization to the Internet of Things with solid strategy and a proven implementation plan Building Internet of Things provides front-line business decision makers with a practical handbook for capitalizing on this latest transformation. Focusing on the business implications...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great American Economy: How Inefficiency Broke It and What We Can Do to Fix It

Stephen L Slavin · Prometheus Books
Pages: 350
Format: eBook

Many Americans feel that the economy is no longer working for them and that "the American Dream" has become a sham. This book explains the underlying reasons for this gloomy outlook and lays out a clear plan for making the American economy work for everyone, not just the top 1 percent....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers Directly

DAVID MEERMAN SCOTT · Wiley
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

The international bestseller - now in a new edition When it comes to marketing, anything goes in the Digital Age, right? Well, not quite. While marketing and public relations tactics do seem to change overnight, every smart businessperson knows that it takes a lot more than the 'next...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Know-It-Alls: The Rise of Silicon Valley as a Political Powerhouse and Social Wrecking Ball

NOAM COHEN · The New Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In The Know-It-Alls former New York Times technology columnist Noam Cohen chronicles the rise of Silicon Valley as a political and intellectual force in American life. Beginning nearly a century ago and showcasing the role of Stanford University as the incubator of this new class of super...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 Kings: Diddy, Dr. Dre, Jay-Z, and Hip-Hop's Multibillion-Dollar Rise

Zack O'Malley Greenburg · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Tracing the careers of hip-hop's three most dynamic stars, this deeply reported history brilliantly examines the entrepreneurial genius of the first musician tycoons: Diddy, Dr. Dre, and Jay-ZBeing successful musicians was simply never enough for the three kings of hip-hop. Diddy, Dr. Dre,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The CEO Next Door: The 4 Behaviors That Transform Ordinary People into World-Class Leaders

ELENA L BOTELHO · Currency
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Based on an indepth analysis of over 2,600 leaders drawn from a database of more than 17,000 CEOs and C-suite executives, as well 13,000 hours of interviews, and two decades of experience advising CEO's and executive boards, Elena L. Botelho and Kim R. Powell overturn the myths about what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crowdsourceress: Get Smart, Get Funded, and Kickstart Your Next Big Idea

Alex Daly · PublicAffairs
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

"Neil Young's Pono campaign was the third most successful hardware campaign of all time, and Alex deserves much of the credit, second only to Neil, of course. The Crowdsourceress will give you everything you need to make your campaign a success. " -Phil Baker, COO, Pono"Owning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Multipliers, Revised and Updated: How the Best Leaders Make Everyone Smarter

Liz Wiseman · HarperBusiness
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

A revised and updated edition of the acclaimed Wall Street Journal bestseller that explores why some leaders drain capability and intelligence from their teams while others amplify it to produce better results.We've all had experience with two dramatically different types of leaders....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Regenerative Business: Redesign Work, Cultivate Human Potential, Achieve Extraordinary Outcomes

Carol Sanford · Nicholas Brealey
Pages: 181
Format: Hardcover

What if leaders stripped away all preconceptions about how business operates, allowing the organization to go back to its core and build itself back up to become something new-something so responsive, so innovative and resilient, it becomes virtually non-displaceable in the market? The Regenerative...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Art of Closing: Winning the Ten Commitments That Drive Sales

Anthony Iannarino · Portfolio
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

If you want to succeed in sales, you need to know how to close. Anthony Iannarino, star sales blogger, consultant, speaker, and author of the national bestseller The Only Sales Guide You'll Ever Need, lays out the new rules of closing.Closing the deal is the most crucial step in the sales...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Putting Wealth to Work: Philanthropy for Today or Investing for Tomorrow?

Joel L Fleishman · PublicAffairs
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

During the next twenty years, as part of the largest transfer of wealth in history, more than $500 billion is expected to pour into the philanthropic sector. Some of it will come from retiring baby boomers, but even more will come from newly rich Silicon Valley billionaires. Since 2006,...
Read More check catalog