Back History | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS

David France · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 624
Format: Print book

The definitive history of the successful battle to halt the AIDS epidemic - from the creator of, and inspired by, the seminal documentary How to Survive a Plague.

A riveting, powerful telling of the story of the grassroots movement of activists, many of them in a life-or-death...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The rest I will kill : William Tillman and the unforgettable story of how a free black man refused to become a slave

Brian McGinty · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

A surprising work of narrative history and detection that illuminates one of the most daring -- and long-forgotten -- heroes of the Civil War.

Independence Day, 1861. The schooner S. J. Waring sets sail from New York on a routine voyage to South America. Seventeen days later, it limps...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invention of Russia: From Gorbachev's Freedom to Putin's War

Arkady Ostrovsky · Viking
Pages: 374
Format: Print book

WINNER OF THE 2016 ORWELL PRIZE

FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Fast-paced and excellently written ... much needed, dispassionate and eminently readable." - New York Times

"Filled with sparkling prose and deep analysis." -The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Castaway's War: One Man's Battle against Imperial Japan

Stephen Harding · Da Capo Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In the early hours of July 5, 1943, the destroyer USS Strong was hit by a Japanese torpedo. The powerful weapon broke the destroyer's back, flooded her engine room, killed dozens of sailors, and sparked raging fires. While accompanying ships were able to rescue most of Strong's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

John Berendt · Alexandria Library
Pages: 400
Format: Book

Shots rang out in Savannah's grandest mansion in the misty,early morning hours of May 2, 1981. Was it murder or self-defense? For nearly a decade, the shooting and its aftermath reverberated throughout this hauntingly beautiful city of moss-hung oaks and shaded squares. John Berendt's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination That Changed America

Wil Haygood · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Thurgood Marshall brought down the separate-but-equal doctrine, integrated schools, and not only fought for human rights and human dignity but also made them impossible to deny in the courts and in the streets. In this stunning new biography, award-winning author Wil Haygood surpasses the emotional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink

Juliana Barbassa · Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Detroit: An American Autopsy and Maximum City comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa.

Juliana Barbassa moved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Complete Idiot's Guide to American History, 5th Edition

Alan Axelrod · Alpha Books
Pages: 408
Format: Paperback

The compact history of a giant country. American history is one of those subjects that students frequently labor over and can seem like a random collection of names, dates, and events. Understood as a collective biography and free of the cheerleading found in many text books, the fully...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Oath: The Obama White House and The Supreme Court

Jeffrey Toobin · Doubleday; 1ST edition
Format: Hardcover

From the prizewinning author of The Nine, a gripping insider's account of the momentous ideological war between the John Roberts Supreme Court and the Obama administration.From the moment John Roberts, the chief justice of the United States, blundered through the Oath of Office at Barack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
River of Dark Dreams: Slavery and Empire in the Cotton Kingdom

Walter Johnson · Belknap Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

When Jefferson acquired the Louisiana Territory, he envisioned an “empire for liberty” populated by self-sufficient white farmers. Cleared of Native Americans and the remnants of European empires by Andrew Jackson, the Mississippi Valley was transformed instead into a booming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tower of Basel: The Shadowy History of the Secret Bank that Runs the World

Adam LeBor · PublicAffairs
Format: Book

Tower of Basel is the first investigative history of the world’s most secretive global financial institution. Based on extensive archival research in Switzerland, Britain, and the United States, and in-depth interviews with key decision-makers—including Paul Volcker, the former...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolutionary Summer: The Birth of American Independence

Joseph J. Ellis · Knopf; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Pulitzer-winning American historian Joseph Ellis tells an old story in a new way, with a freshness at once colorful and compelling. The summer months of 1776 witnessed the most consequential events in the story of our country's founding. While the thirteen colonies came together and agreed...
Read More check catalog