Back | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Picture Books  
Snow Scene

Richard Jackson · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A close-up of tree trunks leads to the question "What are these?"A page turn reveals: trees!Look to the right -- what are those?Shadows of crows!Follow the clues on each spread until the snow starts to melt and spring is revealed.A playful guessing game set in a snowy landscape,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bee & Me

Alison Jay · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A beautiful wordless picture book brings a personal note to the plight of the honeybee and offers a message of hope.A little girl befriends a bee that takes her on a journey of discovery, revealing an action that every child can take to aid in conservation. In a wordless story told through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Princess Truly in I Am Truly

Kelly Greenawalt · Orchard Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Princess Truly is strong and confident, beautiful and brave, bright and brilliant. She can do anything she sets her mind to...I can fly to the moonAnd dance on the stars.I can tame wild lions...And race fast cars.Brimming with warmth and color, Princess Truly's rhythmic rhyming adventures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 Ate 9

Tara Lazar · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

6 has a problem. Everyone knows that 7 is always after him. Word on the street is that 7 ate 9. If that's true, 6's days are numbered. Lucky for him, Private I is on the case. But the facts just don't add up. It's odd.Will Private I put two and two together and solve the problem . . . or is 6 next...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Don't Know What to Call My Cat

Simon Philip · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When a cat unexpectedly arrives at her house, a little girl takes him in and tries to find the perfect name. Kitty? Rambo? Mr. Maestro? None of these is quite right. Catowning is harder than she imagined, and then the cat disappears! Good thing her next pet arrives so unexpectedly - and he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What George Forgot

Kathy Wolff · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

George is great at remembering things! When it's time to get ready for school, he remembers to wake up his family, put on his brand-new superhero watch, and tell his daily knock-knock joke.He even remembers to eat breakfast, brush his teeth, and find his backpack! So why does George feel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Laundry Day

Jessixa Bagley · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"I'm bored," said Tic."Me too," said Tac.What do two bored badgers do when they've done everything, including driving their mother around the bend?Laundry, of course.What could possibly go wrong?In this spirited picture book, Tic and Tac, two adorable badgers, get a little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Second Grade Holdout

Audrey Vernick · Clarion Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A funny and slightly frazzled boy flat-out refuses to move up to second grade in this hilarious tale of friendship, growing up, and moving on.
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Bigger Bunny

Florence Minor · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This picture book treasure features a cast of adorable bunnies. The artwork and story are reminiscent of picture book classics by Margaret Wise Brown and Richard Scarry.When Tickles the bunny's family goes on an adventure without her, Tickles reads her book, How to Be a Bigger Bunny, and then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You're All Kinds of Wonderful

NANCY TILLMAN · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

We're not all the same. Thank goodness we're not.Life would be boring, and I mean ... a lot.And so, when we're born, we're supplied at the start with our own bells and whistles to set us apart.Think of your bells as the things you do bestthings tucked away in your own treasure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jabari Jumps

GAIA CORNWALL · CANDLEWICK Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Working up the courage to take a big, important leap is hard, but Jabari is almost absolutely ready to make a giant splash.Jabari is definitely ready to jump off the diving board. He's finished his swimming lessons and passed his swim test, and he's a great jumper, so he's not scared at all....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sam & Eva

Debbie Ridpath Ohi · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Harold and the Purple Crayon meets Tom and Jerry in this sweet and funny picture book about a boy and girl who must balance their creativity and figure out how to cooperate after their drawings come to life.When Sam starts drawing a super cool velociraptor, Eva decides to join in. But Sam isn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bear and Chicken

Jannie Ho · Running Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Humor, a surprise ending, and an unlikely friendship make Bear and Chicken fall into the ranks with Mo Willems and Dev Petty, and the soup recipe at the end will inspire young chefs to get into the kitchen and cook! When Bear finds a chicken frozen in the winter snow, he brings it home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Windows

JULIA DENOS · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Walking his dog at dusk, one boy catches glimpses of the lives around him in this lovely ode to autumn evenings, exploring your neighborhood, and coming home.Before your city goes to sleep, you might head out for a walk, your dog at your side as you go out the door and into the almost-night....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Night, Baddies

Deborah Underwood · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Get to know the softer side of your favorite fairy tale baddies as they return home from a full day of scheming to enjoy a yummy dinner together and help one another get ready for bed.Wolves, today was not so good. You didn't catch Red Riding Hood. You huffed and puffed without success....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay: A Girl, a Dog, a Bucket List

Kate Klise · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Eli the dog has been with Astrid since her parents brought her home from the hospital as a baby. Now Astrid is getting older, and so is Eli. Before he slows down too much, Astrid wants to make fun memories with him. So she makes a bucket list for Eli, which includes experiences such as eating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Loud Winter's Nap

KATY HUDSON · Capstone Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

For Tortoise, winter is good for one thing: a nice long nap. Can friends open his eyes to a season full of surprises? Every year, Tortoise hibernates through winter. He assumes he isn't missing much. However, his friends are determined to prove otherwise! Will Tortoise sleep through another...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There, there

Tim Beiser · Tundra Books (NY)
Pages: 24

For fans of Penguin Problems and A Birthday for Bear, the story of a whiny rabbit pushing a patient bear to the end of his tether and learning a lesson in looking on the bright side. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Love Lemonade

Mark Sommerset · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A duped - and grossed-out - Quirky Turkey is aiming for payback, but does he have what it takes to pull the wool over Baa Baa's eyes?After getting tricked by Little Baa Baa into eating "smarty tablets," Quirky Turkey wants revenge. What if he uses Baa Baa's own tactics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Superbat

Matt Carr · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Pat is an ordinary bat who wants nothing more than to be special. But when he proclaims himself a superbat, the other bats laugh and say that anything he can do, like fly and navigate through the dark, they can do too. Disheartened that his friends have the same superpowers as him, Pat is ready...
Read More check catalog