Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Picture Books  
Small Walt

Elizabeth Verdick · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"Charming and endearing." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." - School...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bear in My Bed

Joyce Wan · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The Bear in My Bed, featuring Joyce Wan's sweet text and signature bold, graphic art, is a hilarious take on bedtime routines, sure to make sleepy little ones smile!When a little boy goes into his room for bedtime, he finds out that his bed is already occupied -- by a bear (who's not his teddy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sasquatch and the Lumberjack

Crix Sheridan · Little Bigfoot
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

An unlikely friendship develops when a lumberjack meets a sasquatch. Follow along as they share Pacific Northwest adventures through the seasons and become close friends. After a tentative meeting one fall day, Sasquatch and Lumberjack develop a close friendship as they ski and sled, surf...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If You Had a Jetpack

Lisl H Detlefsen · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A fun and creative answer to the question "what would YOU do if you had a jetpack?" perfect for fans of Boy and Bot and How to Train a Train.Having a jetpack is fun--if you know what to do with one. If you had a jetpack, you could: * Teach your brother how to build one too....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pretty Kitty

KAREN BEAUMONT · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A counting picture book in rhyme about a lonely old man whose heart is slowly melted by an ever-growing number of kitties hoping to find a home.In this charming counting book, a lonely old man discovers one kitty on his front step. But he does not want a kitty cat -- scat! As the number...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes

Hena Khan · Chronicle Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes - and traditions - of the Muslim world. Sure to inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets is equally at home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Words and Your Heart

Kate Jane Neal · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

This book is about your heart. (the little bit inside of you that makes you, you!) The words we listen to can affect how we feel. Some words can do amazing things and make us happy. And some words can really hurt us (we all know what sort of words those are) . Our words have power, and we can choose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Most Unusual Day

SYDRA MALLERY · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Something rather extraordinary is happening in Caroline's life today . . . her family is adopting a new baby sister! A warm and loving story about school, family, siblings, and adoption, for anyone eagerly awaiting the arrival of a new sibling.Today is a very unusual day! Caroline wakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Through with the zoo

Jacob Grant · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 40

"Goat lives in a petting zoo--but doesn't like to be touched!"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Puppy Invasion

Alastair Heim · Clarion Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

What's a town to do when not one, not two, but hundreds of adorable, wriggling puppies invade? This is especially a problem in Strictville, where no one has ever seen puppies before. And where there are rules against such things. In fact, cuteness of any kind is considered downright...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Niblet & Ralph

Zachariah OHora · Dial Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Two pet cats switch places in this comically sweet story of mistaken identity, from beloved author-illustrator Zachariah OHora.Niblet and Ralph may look a lot alike, but they are very different. Niblet loves noshing on crunchy potato chips. Ralph loves putting on headphones and jamming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Accident!

ANDREA TSURUMI · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

When a clumsy armadillo named Lola knocks over a glass pitcher, she sets off a silly chain of events, encountering chaos wherever she goes. But accidents happen - just ask the stoat snarled in spaghetti, the airborne sheep, and the bull who has broken a whole shop's worth of china. In the tradition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Possum and the Summer Storm

Anne Hunter · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Possum returns in a lushly illustrated story about new homes and old friends--perfect for fans of Possum's Harvest Moon, Kevin Henkes and Beth Krommes. Possum looked out one summer afternoon. "Time to come in!" he called to his baby possums. "It looks like we're in for some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Digger and the Flower

Joseph Kuefler · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson's If You Plant a Seed. Each day, the big trucks go to work....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sandcastle That Lola Built

Megan Maynor · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A modern, summery spin on the classic The House That Jack Built, in which Lola's day at the beach leads to new friends and a giant sandcastle.Lola is building her dream sandcastle--one with a tall, tall tower and sea glass that sends signals to mermaids. But the beach is crowded, and soon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hugely-Wugely Spider

Ethan T Berlin · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

We've all heard of the Itsy-Bitsy Spider right? But have you heard of the the Hugely-Wugely Spider? He's just like Itsy-Bitsy except he's a little -- no -- a lot bigger. The Hugely-Wugely Spider went up the water spout, well not really, because he wasn't invited by the other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pink Hat

Andrew Joyner · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Celebrate the 2017 Women's March with this charming and empowering picture book about a pink hat and the budding feminist who finds it. Here is a clever story that follows the journey of a pink hat that is swiped out of a knitting basket by a pesky kitten, blown into a tree by a strong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Floaty

JOHN HIMMELMAN · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Blah! Mr. Raisin is a bit of a grump. He lives all alone in a little house, and he likes it that way just fine. One day, a mysterious basket appears on Mr. Raisin's doorstep. When he opens it up, it seems there's nothing inside . . . until he notices a floating dog bobbing along his ceiling.What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Love Dinosaurs

Lucy Volpin · Nosy Crow
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Whether they're big, small, fast, slow, striped, spotted, or anything in between, dinosaurs are just so lovable! With rhyming text and bright watercolor illustrations, this joyful read is perfect for little ones who love dinosaurs.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Littlest Train

Chris Gall · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this endearing story of a tiny toy train, the creator of the hit series Dinotrux now breathes life into more than a half-dozen trains that climb, haul, chug, zip, and zoom.In a small room, down a short flight of stairs, there lives a little toy train...about to have a BIG adventure!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Mommies Like

Judy Carey Nevin · little bee books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Following in the footsteps of What Daddies Like, now young readers can find out what mommies like best in this story about a mommy bear and her cub's special day together.Mommies like big hugs. Mommies like kisses. Mommies like "Good morning to you!" Mommy Bear and her little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue vs. Yellow

TOM SULLIVAN · Balzer Bray
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

From Tom Sullivan, author-illustrator of I Used to Be a Fish, comes a high-concept picture book about a battle between primary colors, for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit, Red: A Crayon's Story, and Mix It Up!Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the Clash of the Colors!BLUE...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roof Octopus

Lucy Branam · Sleeping Bear Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When Nora hears a soft "tap, tap, tap" at her bedroom window she never expects it to be the tentacle of a very large octopus, but that's exactly what it is--an octopus on her apartment building. The octopus turns out to be a very neighborly sort of octopus, helping the residents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jasmine Sneeze

NADINE KAADAN · Lantana Pub
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Haroun, the cat, likes nothing better than to spend his days sleeping in the sunlit courtyards of Damascus. Yet one thing always ruins his sleep: jasmine! The sweet-scented flowers send him into fits of sneezes! One day, Haroun hatches a plan to fix the problem, but little does he know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twinderella, A Fractioned Fairy Tale

Corey Rosen Schwartz · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Have you heard the story of Cinderella? Well, you don't know the half of it. Cinderella had a twin sister, Tinderella. They each did half the housework, half the mending, and half the mean step-sister tending. But when they meet only one prince, what will they do? The whole story has twice...
Read More check catalog