Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Picture Books  
Peep and Egg: I'm Not Using the Potty

Laura Gehl · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Peep says it's time for Egg to start using the potty. But Egg does not want to use the potty -- and no amount of lemonade-drinking, running water, or toilet-paper tutus can change that! When things start to get a little uncomfortable, Egg realizes that when nature calls, sometimes you can't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is It

Daria Peoples-Riley · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Daria Peoples-Riley's debut picture book is a celebration of individuality, self-expression, and dance. Fans of Misty Copeland's Firebird and Matt de la Peña's Last Stop on Market Street will want to read it over and over again.When a young dancer is nervous about her upcoming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Game of Gnomes

Kirsten Mayer · Imprint
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The Winter Gnome Games are coming to the Gnome Garden!This is great news for Ginger. Every gnome in the Garden calls Ginger nicknames like "red" or "curly" because of her hair, but this Winter sports competition is the perfect chance to make a name for herself -- her own name!Gnomes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rabbit Moon

Jean Kim · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Bedtime wishes take flight on paper airplanes, traveling all the way to the moon. There Rabbit gathers the night's haul, grinds the wishes into stardust, and fills the sky with their starlight. It is a beautiful sight to behold, but lonely work. So one night, Rabbit takes a wish and makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Sister, Little Monster

Andria Warmflash Rosenbaum · Scholastic Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Lucy thinks her little sister, Mia, is a monster. She follows Lucy everywhere, wreaks havoc in her room, and steals her spotlight. When at last Lucy has had enough, she yells, "You little monster, GO AWAY!" But Lucy never imagines that Mia might disappear into a land of REAL...
Read More check catalog
 
 
While You Are Sleeping

Mariana Ruiz Johnson · Chronicle Books
Format: Hardcover

While you are sleeping, does the rest of the world sleep, too?Not everyone.In this dreamy book, which won the 2015 Silent Book Contest at the prestigious Bologna Children's Book Fair, Mariana Ruiz Johnson conjures up the ordinary yet extraordinary world outside the window of a sleeping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Love You More Than the Smell of Swamp Gas

KEVAN ATTEBERRY · HarperCollins
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Little monster wonders: Does Papa love the swamp more than he loves his little monster?Papa and little monster are on a skink chase in a dark, stinky swamp. Do you love me as much as the skink that you chase...or the smell of the swamp...or the beasts in this place? From the author-illustrator...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malaika's Winter Carnival

Nadia L Hohn · Groundwood Books
Pages: 36
Format: Hardcover

Malaika is happy to be reunited with Mummy, but it means moving to a different country, where everything is different. It's cold in her new city, no one understands when she talks and Carnival is nothing like the celebration Malaika knows from home! When Mummy marries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goldenlocks and the Three Pirates

April Jones Prince · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A fun and clever picture book retelling of Goldilocks -- with pirates!Once upon a seaworthy sloop lived three pirates: the big, pilfering Papa, the medium-sized, menacing Mama, and the small, bonny Baby, a pirate-in-training. They were excellent pirates, but not very good housekeepers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snowball Moon

Fran Cannon Slayton · little bee books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This beautiful, rhyming picture book is the perfect winter read-aloud on cold, snowy nights!Snowball moon, bright as noon. Mittens, boots, warm snowsuits. Grab the sled in the shed. Down the hill, winter thrill On a quiet snowy night, the lights go out, and the bright snowball moon outside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
His Royal Highness, King Baby: A Terrible True Story

SALLY LLOYD-JONES · Candlewick
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

When an older sibling with a flair for the dramatic shares her kingdom with a baby tyrant, can there be a happily ever after?Once upon a time there was a happy family: A mom, a dad, a gerbil, and the most beautifulest, cleverest, ever so kindest Princess. . . .On one horrible day, a new ruler...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nile Crossing

Katy Beebe · Eerdmans Books for Young Readers
Pages: 34
Format: Hardcover

A unique twist on the first day of school Khepri lives in ancient Egypt, happily fishing alongside his father in the waters of the Nile. But today, Khepri will have to replace his fishing pole with the reed pens of a scribe: it's his first day of school. As he and his father travel to Thebes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Edie Is Ever So Helpful

Sophy Henn · Philomel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Edie is a funny, well-intentioned force of nature who leaves a trail of damage wherever she goes. Olivia meets Fancy Nancy.Edie is EVER so helpful. In fact, helping is one of the things she's best at! Some might even say she's too good. Whether it's helping her family wake up bright...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sakura's Cherry Blossoms

Robert Paul Weston · Tundra Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A warm, gorgeous exploration of a little girl's experience immigrating to a new country and missing her home and her grandmother, who still lives far away.Sakura's dad gets a new job in America, so she and her parents make the move from their home in Japan. When she arrives in the States,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Umbrella

Amy June Bates · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Alison McGhee's Someday, beloved illustrator Amy June Bates makes her authorial debut alongside her eleven-year-old daughter with this timely and timeless picture book about acceptance.By the door there is an umbrella. It is big. It is so big that when it starts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

You see, high-up was safe since he liked a slow pace,While the ground down below seemed a frightening place.Too fast and too loud and too big and too strange.Nope. Kevin preferred not to move or to change.Kevin the koala loves every day to be the same, where it's snug and safe. But when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Go to School!

MIRE ZEPF · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Benno is really excited about his first day at school. But there's one problem: MOMMY! A laugh-out-loud twist on a familiar theme. What can a little bear do when he's all ready for his first day of school - but his mother isn't? "DON"T GO TO SCHOOL!" she wails....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Little Monkeys

QUENTIN BLAKE · HarperCollins
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Laugh-out-loud funny, totally chaotic, and utterly delightful - Tim, Sam, and Lulu are the mischievous and naughty three little monkeys who are told each day to be good while Hilda goes off to do her errands. And each day, Hilda returns home to find a bigger mess than the day before. These...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Fall

DAN SANTAT · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend comes the inspiring epilogue to the beloved classic nursery rhyme Humpty Dumpty.Everyone knows that when Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. But what happened after?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Lazy Cat

CHRISTINE ROUSSEY · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Meet Boomer, a roly-poly cat. He's always in a happy mood, and he's the best friend of one little girl. But boy is Boomer lazy! From morning to night, Boomer can be found lounging around the house, snoring and snoozing. The little girl, on the other hand, is much too busy for a nap....
Read More check catalog