Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Teen Books  
Frogkisser!
Frogkisser!

Garth Nix · Scholastic Press
Pages: 372
Format: Hardcover

Poor Princess Anya. Forced to live with her evil stepmother's new husband, her evil stepstepfather. Plagued with an unfortunate ability to break curses with a magic-assisted kiss. And forced to go on the run when her stepstepfather decides to make the kingdom entirely his own.Aided by a loyal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Okay
We Are Okay

Nina Lacour · Dutton
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship."You go through life thinking there's so much you need. . . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother." Marin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lifers
Lifers

M A Griffin · Chicken House
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Fear haunts the streets of Preston's city: a girl has disappeared. Preston is drawn to investigate, exploring the city in the hunt for his missing friend. And deep in the bowels of a secret scientific institute, he discovers a sinister machine used to banish teenage criminals for their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stranger Game
The Stranger Game

Cylin Busby · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty novel that is Gone Girl for teens. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart.When Nico Morris's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bombs That Brought Us Together
The Bombs That Brought Us Together

Brian Conaghan · Bloomsbury
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Valiant
The Valiant

Lesley Livingston · Razorbill
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Princess. Captive. Gladiator. Always a Warrior. Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary fighter Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed by the armies of Julius Caesar. On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empress of a Thousand Skies
Empress of a Thousand Skies

Rhoda Belleza · Razorbill
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

For fans of Pierce Brown and Firefly comes an epic sci-fi fantasy that Kiersten White, author of And I Darken, calls "dazzling--an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans!"Empress Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta'an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucy and Linh
Lucy and Linh

Alice Pung · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

Gilmore Girls meets Fresh Off the Boat in this witty novel about navigating life in private school while remaining true to yourself. Lucy is a bit of a pushover, but she's ambitious and smart, and she has just received the opportunity of a lifetime: a scholarship to a prestigious school,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Be Not Afraid
Be Not Afraid

Cecilia Galante · Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mothers suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly—because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Memory Wall
The Memory Wall

Lev Ac Rosen · Alfred A Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

There's a fine line between real life and video games in this engrossing novel that's part Kathryn Erskine's Mockingbird, part Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls. Severkin is an elf who slinks through the shadows of Wellhall's spiraling stone towers, plundering ancient ruins and slaying mystical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Behold the Bones
Behold the Bones

Natalie C Parker · Harpercollins, 2016.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale - perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver.In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called "American myth at its very best," Natalie C. Parker takes readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Resurrecting Sunshine
Resurrecting Sunshine

Lisa A Koosis · Albert Whitman Teen
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

At seventeen, Adam Rhodes is famous, living on his own, and in a downward spiral since he lost the girl he loved. Marybeth -- stage name Sunshine -- was his best friend from the days they were foster kids; then she was his girlfriend and his band mate. But since her accidental death, he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined
Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined

Danielle Younge-Ullman · Viking Children'S Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Sara Zarr and A. S. King, a girl must survive an extreme wilderness experience to prove to her mother that she has the strength to pursue her dreams.Then Ingrid traveled all over Europe with her opera star mother, Margot-Sophia. Life was beautiful and bright, and every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Adventure Ends
This Adventure Ends

Emma Mills · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

Sloane isn't expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida -- especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that's exactly what happens. Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights up any room,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the rage
All the rage

Courtney Summers · Griffin
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Named a "Best Book of 2015" by Bustle, Book Riot, Chicago Public Library, Quill and Quire, and the B&N Teen Blog The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
History Is All You Left Me
History Is All You Left Me

Adam Silvera · Soho Teen
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

"This book will make you cry, think, and then cry some more." - Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything From the New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not comes an explosive examination of grief, mental illness, and the devastating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freeks
Freeks

Amanda Hocking · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

Step into a wondrously strange new world with this dazzling new standalone novel by Amanda Hocking, New York Times bestselling author of The Kanin Chronicles! Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place to place with Gideon Davorin's Traveling Carnival, she longs for an ordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Reader
The Reader

Traci Chee · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 442
Format: Print book

Instant New York Times BestsellerA stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and BoneSefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Forbidden Wish
The Forbidden Wish

Jessica Khoury · Razorbill, 2016.
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"Lush, romantic, and exquisitely written...a rare, glittering jewel of a novel." --Sarah J. Maas, Author of the NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling THRONE OF GLASS series"This is Aladdin like you've never imagined." --Renée Ahdieh, author of THE WRATH AND THE DAWN She is the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Light
What Light

Jay Asher · Razorbill
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why, comes a holiday romance that will break your heart, but soon have you believing in love again. . . . "A beautiful story of love and forgiveness." - Stephen Chbosky, New York Times bestselling author...
Read More check catalog