Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  
My Plain Jane

CYNTHIA HAND · HarperTeen
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Move over, Charlotte Bronte. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre - a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue. You may think you know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If Birds Fly Back

CARLIE SOROSIAK · HarperTeen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Linny has kept a journal of famous disappearances ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night. Sebastian is an aspiring astrophysicist with a working...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweet Black Waves

Kristina Perez · Imprint
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Diminished

Kaitlyn Sage Patterson · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

"Two fierce young people battle a fiery landscape and vicious foes in a race for freedom. I was glued to my seat!" - #1 New York Times bestselling author Tamora Pierce In the Alskad Empire, nearly all are born with a twin, two halves to form one whole ... yet some face the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Save the Date

MORGAN MATSON · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

All first editions will be signed by the author - available while supplies last! Father of the Bride meets Sixteen Candles in the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Matson.Charlie Grant's older sister is getting married this weekend at their family home, and Charlie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Sara Saedi · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Robot Dog Will Die

Arin Greenwood · Soho Teen
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Fusing the heart of Julie of the Wolves with the imagination of Little Brother and Ship Breaker, this speculative YA is a must-read for any dog lover.Seventeen-year-old Nano Miller was born and raised on Dog Island: home to Mechanical Tail, the company behind lifelike replacements for "man's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neverworld Wake

Marisha Pessl · Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Enter a realm where fears are physical and memories come alive in this absorbing psychological suspense thriller, from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film.Once upon a time, back at Darrow-Harker School, Beatrice Hartley and her five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now

Dana L. Davis · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"I've got seven days to come clean to my new dad. Seven days to tell the truth ... "For sixteen-year-old Tiffany Sly, life hasn't been safe or normal for a while. Losing her mom to cancer has her a little bit traumatized and now she has to leave her hometown of Chicago to live...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Emerald Circus

JANE YOLEN · Tachyon Publications
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Where is Wendy? Leading a labor strike against the Lost Boys, of course.A Scottish academic unearths ancient evil in a fishing village. Edgar Allan Poe's young bride is beguiled by a most unusual bird. Dorothy, lifted from Kansas, returns as a gymnastic sophisticate. Emily Dickinson dwells...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Rising

Rebecca Ross · HarperTeen
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Grave Mercy meets Red Queen in this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, about an outcast who finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the current king.Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between the Blade and the Heart

AMANDA HOCKING · Wednesday Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

When the fate of the world is at stakeLoyalties will be testedGame of Thrones meets Blade Runner in this commanding new YA fantasy inspired by Norse Mythology from New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking.As one of Odin's Valkyries, Malin's greatest responsibility is to slay immortals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Landscape with Invisible Hand

M T ANDERSON · Candlewick
Pages: 149
Format: Hardcover

National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future Earth in a sharply wrought satire of art and truth in the midst of colonization.When the vuvv first landed, it came as a surprise to aspiring artist Adam and the rest of planet Earth - but not necessarily an unwelcome one. Can it really...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Cosplay with My Heart

Cecil Castellucci · Scholastic Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

When Edan Kupferman dresses up like her favorite character, Gargantua, she feels tall and powerful. That's important right now, because her family is a mess, her best friend is gone for the summer, her crush is confusing, and Edan's feeling small and not sure which end is up. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stars at Oktober Bend

GLENDA MILLARD · Candlewick
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Beautiful, lyrical prose, told in two voices, lifts up a poignant story of two traumatized teens who find each other in a small riverside town.i am the girl manny loves. the girl who writes our story in the book of flying. i am alice.Alice is fifteen, with hair as red as fire and skin as pale...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midnights

Sarah Nicole Smetana · HarperTeen
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she's more interested in composing impressive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We'll Fly Away

Bryan Bliss · HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Pages: 1
Format: Book

[Young Adult Fiction (Ages 12-17) ] Alternating between a third-person account of his senior year and his letters from death row, a young man untangles the chain of devastating circumstances that led to his conviction. Powerful, thought-provoking, and heartbreaking, this novel about friendship,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Pearl

TIMOTHEE DE FOMBELLE · Candlewick
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In prose as magical and intricate as the tale it tells, Timothée de Fombelle delivers an unforgettable story of a first love that defines a lifetime.Joshua Pearl comes from a world that we no longer believe in - a world of fairy tale. He knows that his great love waits for him there,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Picture Us In The Light

Kelly Loy Gilbert · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Picture me madly in love with this moving, tender, unapologetically honest book."-Becky Albertalli, author of Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda "This urgent, achingly beautiful story shines a light on those living in the shadows. A beacon of hope and resistance."-Melissa...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Devils Within

S F Henson · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 395
Format: Hardcover

Killing isn't supposed to be easy. But it is. It's the after that's hard to deal with.Nate was eight the first time he stabbed someone; he was eleven when he earned his red laces--a prize for spilling blood for "the cause." And he was fourteen when he murdered his father (and...
Read More check catalog