Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  
Warcross

MARIE LU · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 353
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu - when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths. For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn't just a game - it's a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Hate Everyone But You

GABY DUNN · WEDNESDAY BOOKS
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Dear Best Friend,I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you.Sincerely,Ava Helmer(that brunette who won't leave you alone) We're still in the same room, you weirdo.Stop crying.GSo begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moxie: A Novel

Jennifer Mathieu · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"Moxie is sweet, funny, and fierce. Read this and then join the fight." -- Amy PoehlerAn unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texan high school in the new novel from Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Truth About Alice.MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK! Vivian Carter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flawed

Cecelia Ahern · Feiwel & Friends
Format: Print book

"In a future society where 'flawed' people who have committed crimes are branded with an F, a young girl takes a stand"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen

David Clawson · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn't dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Get Caught

Kurt Dinan · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos ClubWhen Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, he has to ask: why him? After all, he's Mr. 2.5 GPA, Mr. No Social Life. He's Just Max. And his favorite heist movies have taught him this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wood

Chelsea Bobulski · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An enchanted wood poisoned at the roots. A girl bound by an inherited duty. And the lost traveler from another time who might help her uncover the truth. From debut author Chelsea Bobulski comes The Wood, a YA novel filled with dark mystery and atmospheric fantasy. Winter didn't ask to be the guardian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Go-Between

VERONICA CHAMBERS · Delacorte Press
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jane the Virgin will find much to love about The Go-Between, a coming-of-age novel from bestselling author Veronica Chambers, who with humor and humanity explores issues of identity and belonging in a world that is ever-changing. She is the envy of every teenage girl in Mexico City....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Solo

Kwame Alexander · Blink
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander, with Mary Rand Hess, comes Solo, a YA novel written in poetic verse. Solo tells the story of seventeen-year-old Blade Morrison, who knows the life of a rock star isn't really about the glitz and glamour. All the new cars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Disappear

SHARON HUSS ROAT · HarperTeen
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Between the Notes comes a story that shines a light on our love of social media and how sometimes being the person you think you want to be isn't as great as being the person you truly are. Perfect for fans of Vivi Greene's Sing and Susane Colasanti's Now and Forever.Vicky...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strange the Dreamer

Laini Taylor · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 536
Format: Hardcover

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mask of Shadows

LINSEY MILLER · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fantasy fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When I Am Through with You

Stephanie Kuehn · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A gripping story of survival and the razor's-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. "This isn't meant to be a confession. Not in any spiritual sense of the word. Yes, I'm in jail at the moment. I imagine I'll be here for a long time, considering. But I'm not writing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Noteworthy

RILEY REDGATE · Amulet Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

It's the start of Jordan Sun's junior year at the Kensington-Blaine Boarding School for the Performing Arts. Unfortunately, she's an Alto 2, which - in the musical theatre world - is sort of like being a vulture in the wild: She has a spot in the ecosystem, but nobody's falling over themselves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl out of Water

Laura Silverman · Sourcebooks
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maresi

Maria Turtschaninoff · Amulet Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Only women and girls are allowed in the Red Abbey, a haven from abuse and oppression. Maresi, a thirteen-year-old novice there, arrived in the hunger winter and now lives a happy life in the Abbey, protected by the Mother and reveling in the vast library in the House of Knowledge, her favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hawkweed prophecy

Irena Brignull · Weinstein Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Poppy Hooper and Ember Hawkweed couldn't lead more different lives. Poppy is a troubled teen: moving from school to school, causing chaos wherever she goes, never making friends or lasting connections. Ember is a young witch, struggling to find a place within her coven and prove her worth....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wesley James Ruined My Life

Jennifer Honeybourn · Swoon Reads
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Coworker, childhood friend, and worst enemy: the changing dynamics of friendship (and maybe...relationship?) are front and center in this charming debut novel with equal amounts of wit and heart. Quinn is having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a nursing home,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fashion Committee

Susan Juby · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"The Fashion Committee is another winner by one of my all time favorite authors."--Meg Cabot, New York Times bestselling author of the The Princess Diaries and Mediator series Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps, and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Monstrous Child

Francesca Simon · Faber & Faber
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

A stunning, operatic, epic drama, like no other. Meet Hel, an ordinary teenager - and goddess of the Underworld. Why is life so unfair? Hel tries to make the best of it, creating gleaming halls in her dark kingdom and welcoming the dead who she is forced to host for eternity. Until eternity...
Read More check catalog