Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Teen Books  
Exo
Exo

Fonda Lee · Scholastic Press
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

It's been a century of peace since Earth became a colony of an alien race with far reaches into the galaxy. Some die-hard extremists still oppose their rule on Earth, but Donovan Reyes isn't one of them. His dad holds the prestigious position of Prime Liaison in the collaborationist government,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way I Used to Be
The Way I Used to Be

Amber Smith · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn't change who she was. But the night her brother's best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Allegedly
Allegedly

Tiffany D Jackson · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

"I have to admit, it's been a while since I've been this rattled by a story. Tiffany D. Jackson chips at the world, then cracks it, then shatters it into shards of discomfort and complexity for the reader to grapple with it. Allegedly, undoubtedly, will linger long after it's over."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mirror in the Sky
Mirror in the Sky

Aditi Khorana · Razorbill
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

An evocative debut, perfect for fans of The Leftovers and We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year."Beautifully written, surprising and poignant." - Lynn Weingarten,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cursed Queen
The Cursed Queen

Sarah Fine · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 417
Format: Print book

Blood and victory. There is no other way. The "fresh and fascinating magical world" (School Library Journal) of The Imposter Queen expands in this companion novel that answers the question: who is the real queen of the Kupari?Ansa has always been a fighter. As a child, she fought...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wintersong
Wintersong

S Jae-Jones · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Dark, romantic and unforgettable, a fantastical coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and The Darkest Part of the Forest.Deep in his terrifying realm underground, the cold and forbidding Goblin King casts a dark shadow over nineteen-year-old Liesl. Her grandmother has always warned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Diary of a Tokyo Teen: A Japanese-American Girl Travels to the Land of Trendy Fashion, High-Tech Toilets and Maid Cafes
Diary of a Tokyo Teen: A Japanese-American Girl Travels to the Land of Trendy Fashion, High-Tech Toilets and Maid Cafes

Christine Mari Inzer · Tuttle Publishing
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

A book for comic lovers and Japanophiles of all ages, Diary of a Tokyo Teen presents a unique look at modern-day Japan through a young woman's eyes.Born in Tokyo to a Japanese mother and an American father in 1997, Christine Mari Inzer spent her early years in Japan and relocated to the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Optimists Die First
Optimists Die First

Susin Nielsen-Fernlund · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider's Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern's Say What You Will. Beware: Life ahead. Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alive
Alive

Chandler Baker · Hyperion
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella receives the transplant she needs to survive. Determined to embrace everything she came so close to losing, Stella...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wait for Me
Wait for Me

Caroline Leech · Harper Teen
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The perfect blend of sweet romance and historical flavor, Wait for Me, from debut author Caroline Leech, brings a fresh new voice to a much-loved genre. It's 1945, and Lorna Anderson's life on her father's farm in Scotland consists of endless chores and rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caraval
Caraval

Stephanie Garber · Flatiron Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

A spellbinding tale of sisterhood, love, and betrayal. Sabaa Tahir, "New York Times" bestselling author of "An Ember in the Ashes"Welcome, welcome to "Caraval" Stephanie Garber s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weight of Zero
The Weight of Zero

Karen Fortunati · Delacorte Press
Pages: 385
Format: Print book

Seventeen-year-old Catherine Pulaski knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine's bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once; that was her first suicide attempt. Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. The med du jour might work right now, but Zero...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fall of Butterflies
The Fall of Butterflies

Andrea Portes · HarperTeen
Pages: 386
Format: Print book

We Were Liars meets Looking for Alaska in a uniquely funny and heartbreaking teen novel about a passionate-yet-doomed friendship set against a backdrop of wealth and glamour.Willa Parker, 646th and least-popular resident of What Cheer, Iowa, is headed east to start a new life. Did she choose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Shadow Bright and Burning
A Shadow Bright and Burning

Jessica Cluess · Random House
Pages: 407
Format: Print book

"Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean."--Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen I am Henrietta Howel.The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.The prophesied one.Or am I?Henrietta Howel can burst...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Breaking Sky
Breaking Sky

Cori McCarthy · Sourcebooks Media Fusion
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

In this high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller, America's best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy. "BREAKING SKY is an action-packed thrill ride that smashes through all kinds of barriers at a Mach 5 pace." -- Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Don't Know My Name
You Don't Know My Name

Kristen Orlando · Swoon Reads
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Fighter, Faker, Student, Spy.Seventeen-year-old Reagan Elizabeth Hillis is used to changing identities overnight, lying to every friend she's ever had, and pushing away anyone who gets too close. Trained in mortal combat and weaponry her entire life, Reagan is expected to follow in her parents'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ever the Hunted: A Clash of Kingdoms Novel
Ever the Hunted: A Clash of Kingdoms Novel

Erin Summerill · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 392
Format: Print book

Fans of Sara J. Maas' THRONE OF GLASS, Kristin Cashore's GRACELING, and Susan Dennard's TRUTHWITCH won't want to miss this enchanting and mesmerizing novel, the first in a series. Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way to Game the Walk of Shame
The Way to Game the Walk of Shame

Jenn P Nguyen · Swoon Reads
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Taylor Simmons is screwed.Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Absolute Brightness
Absolute Brightness

James Lecesne · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From Academy Award-winning writer, actor, and activist in the LGBTQ community comes a groundbreaking story about love, prejudice, and being yourself.Phoebe's life in Neptune, New Jersey, is somewhat unremarkable. She helps her mom out with her hair salon, she goes to school, and she envies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Holding Up the Universe
Holding Up the Universe

Jennifer Niven · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 391
Format: Print book

A New York Times BestsellerFrom the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone - and love someone - for who they truly are.Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed "America's Fattest...
Read More check catalog