Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  
Just Fly Away

Andrew McCarthy · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A debut novel about one girl's discovery of family secrets, first love, the limits of forgiveness, and finding one's way in the world, written with wisdom and sympathy by the bestselling memoirist, actor, and director.

When fifteen-year-old Lucy Willows discovers that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done

Andrea Gonzales · HarperCollins
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for aspiring coders everywhere, Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, teamed up to create a viral video game, and ended up becoming world famous. The book also includes bonus content to help you start coding!

Fans of funny...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stranger Game

Cylin Busby · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty novel that is Gone Girl for teens. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart.

When Nico Morris's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Below: Broken Sky Chronicles, Book 1

Jason Chabot · Turner
Pages: 308
Format: Hardcover

No one but the dead dare venture Below . . . The first volume in this thrilling trilogy opens on the barren plains of Below, where Hokk and his fox sidekick, Nym, live in exile amid the remnants of our modern age. Overhead, on the floating islands of Above, Elia is trapped in a life of endless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A psalm for lost girls

Katie Bayerl · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

I'll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA debut about saints, sisters, and learning to let go.

Tess da Costa is a saint - a hand-to-god, miracle-producing saint. At least that's what the people in her hometown of New Avon, Massachusetts,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great American Whatever

Tim Federle · Simon & Schuster BFYR
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

"Teenaged Quinn, an aspiring screenwriter, copes with his sister's death while his best friend forces him back out into the world to face his reality"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take the Key and Lock Her Up

Ally Carter · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter returns with the third entry in this runaway series. For the past three years, Grace Blakely has been desperate to find out the truth about her mother's murder. She thought it would bring her peace. She thought it would lead her to answers....
Read More check catalog
 
 
And I Darken

Kiersten White · Delacorte Press
Pages: 486
Format: Print book

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wired Man and Other Freaks of Nature

Sashi Kaufman · Carolrhoda Lab
Format: Print book

Ben wears hearing aids, but being inseparable from the super-popular Tyler allows him to think of himself as normal. But when Tyler blows Ben off their senior year, Ben needs to rethink who he isand who Tyler is.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flamecaster

Cinda Williams Chima · HarperTeen
Pages: 535
Format: Print book

Set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Seven Realms series, a generation later, this is a breathtaking story of dark magic, chilling threats, and two unforgettable characters walking a knife-sharp line between life and death. This dazzling beginning to a new series is indispensable...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Million Worlds with You

Claudia Gray · Harpercollins
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite's hands in the final installment of the Firebird trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parent's invention, to cross through alternate dimensions, Marguerite has been at the center...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boomerang Effect

Gordon Jack · Harper Teen
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A hilariously subversive YA debut that explores the meaning of friendship and loyalty, and also why you should avoid being trapped in a small space with an angry chicken. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith's Winger and Frank Portman's King Dork.

It all started with a harmless prank....

Read More check catalog
 
 
History Is All You Left Me

Adam Silvera · Soho Teen
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

"This book will make you cry, think, and then cry some more."
- Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

From the New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not comes an explosive examination...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Draw the Line

Laurent Linn · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

After a hate crime occurs in his small Texas town, Adrian Piper must discover his own power, decide how to use it, and know where to draw the line in this stunning debut novel exquisitely illustrated by the author.Adrian Piper is used to blending into the background at his Texas high school....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wrecked

Maria Padian · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Everyone has heard a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shell-shocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bookishly Ever After

Isabel Bandeira · Spencer Hill Pr, 2016.
Pages: 350
Format: Print book

In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins' life would be a book. Preferably one filled with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn't even qualify for a quiet contemporary. Everything changes when Phoebe learns that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Useless Bay

Mary Jane Beaufrand · Amulet Books
Pages: 234
Format: Print book

On Whidbey Island, the Gray quintuplets are the stuff of legend. Pixie and her brothers have always been bigger and blonder than their neighbors, as if they were birthed from the island itself. Together, they serve as an unofficial search-and-rescue team for the island, saving tourists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hidden Twin

Adi Rule · Griffin
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

For eighteen years a girl with no name, a Redwing, has been hidden away in a small attic room within a city of hissing pipes and curving temples perched on the side of the great volcano, Mol, while her sister, Jey-identical except for her eyes-has lived her life in public as an only child....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Week of Mondays

Jessica Brody · Farrar
Pages: 454
Format: eBook

When I made the wish, I just wanted a do-over. Another chance to make things right. I never, in a million years, thought it might actually come true...

Sixteen-year-old Ellison Sparks is having a serious case of the Mondays. She gets a ticket for running a red light,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Burn Baby Burn

Meg Medina · Candlewick Press
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl faces danger within her own home in Meg Medina's riveting coming-of-age novel.

Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial...
Read More check catalog