Back | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
The Girl with the Ghost Machine

LAUREN DESTEFANO · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

When Emmaline Beaumont's father started building the ghost machine, she didn't expect it to bring her mother back from the dead. But by locking himself in the basement to toil away at his hopes, Monsieur Beaumont has become obsessed with the contraption and neglected the living, and Emmaline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quicksand Pond

Janet Taylor Lisle · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Newbery Honor winner Janet Taylor Lisle's gorgeous and profound new novel about a pivotal summer in two girls' lives explores the convictions we form, the judgments we make, and the values we hold.The pond is called Quicksand Pond. It's a shadowy, hidden place, full of chirping, shrieking,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

RITA WILLIAMS-GARCIA · Amistad
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wrong Train

JEREMY DE QUIDT · David Fickling Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Light the candles and shut the door, The Wrong Train is a deliciously creepy and scarily good collection of scary stories, complete with terrifying illustrations from Dave Shelton. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, R.L. Stine, and Emily Carroll.Imagine you've just managed to catch your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucky Broken Girl

Ruth Behar · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 243
Format: Hardcover

"A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds." - Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative - based on the author's childhood in the 1960s - a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Short

Holly Goldberg Sloan · Dial Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forever, or a Long, Long Time

Caela Carter · HarperCollins
Pages: 343
Format: Hardcover

From rising new talent Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes an achingly beautiful and endearing story about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they've found their forever home. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me, Leslie Connor's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pennybaker School Is Headed for Disaster

Jennifer Brown · Bloomsbury
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Thomas Fallgrout always thought of himself as a regular kid until the day he accidentally creates a little big of magic using his grandpa's old potions. Suddenly, he's pulled from public school and enrolled in Pennybaker Academy for the Uniquely Gifted, where kids are busy perfecting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cilla Lee-Jenkins: Future Author Extraordinaire

Susan Tan · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"Meeting Cilla felt like making a new best friend." -- Grace Lin, bestselling author of Newbery Honor book Where the Mountain Meets the Moon Priscilla "Cilla" Lee-Jenkins is on a tight deadline. Her baby sister is about to be born, and Cilla needs to become a bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trail

Meika Hashimoto · Scholastic Press
Pages: 229
Format: Hardcover

Toby has to finish the final thing on The List. It's a list of brave, daring, totally awesome things that he and his best friend, Lucas, planned to do together, and the only item left is to hike the Appalachian Trail. But now Lucas isn't there to do it with him. Toby's determined to hike...
Read More check catalog