Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
A Properly Unhaunted Place

William Alexander · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

From National Book Award-winning author William Alexander comes a wryly humorous story about two kids who try to save their town by bringing back its ghosts.Rosa Ramona Díaz has just moved to the small, un-haunted town of Ingot - the only ghost-free town in the world. She doesn't want...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Ashes

Sara K Joiner · Holiday House
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this riveting coming-of-age survival story, a stubborn and intellectual teen must fight for her life when the mighty volcano Krakatau erupts and puts her hometown on the Javanese coast in mortal danger.In 1883, on the island of Java in the Dutch East Indies, thirteen-year-old Katrien...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sci-Fi Junior High

Scott Seegert · jimmy patterson
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover

Presented by James Patterson's new children's imprint, this gleefully illustrated space adventure is a laugh on every page. That's a lot of laughs!Kelvin Klosmo isn't just the new kid at school - he's the new kid in the galaxy! Welcome to Sci-Fi Junior High: an inter-galactic space station...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost Attack

DAVID LUBAR · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

When Alex and his cousin Sarah are visiting their grandparents, Alex gets terrible red, itchy hives. Yikes! He's allergic to a ghost! Even worse, the ghost won't leave him alone -- he wants Alex and Sarah's help. Can they solve the ghost's mystery and get rid of Alex's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unicorn in the Barn

Jacqueline K Ogburn · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For years people have claimed to see a mysterious white deer in the woods around Chinaberry Creek. It always gets away. One evening, Eric Harper thinks he spots it. But a deer doesn't have a coat that shimmers like a pearl. And a deer certainly isn't born with an ivory horn curling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It All Comes Down to This

Karen English · Clarion Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Elise Gravel · HarperCollins
Pages: 167
Format: Hardcover

Meet Olga, the amazing child scientist who LOVES animals (because they are super-cute) ! Brightly.com put this amusing don't-miss book on their "Ultimate Summer Reading List for 9- to 12-Year-Olds"Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is jam-packed with fun: vibrant illustrations,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Emperor's Ostrich

Julie Berry · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 276
Format: Hardcover

Magic and mayhem abound in this fantasy adventure from the author of The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place.Young dairymaid Begonia has lost her cow Alfalfa. So she has set off on a search across the countryside even though she has nothing but a magical map to guide her. Along the way she meets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolfie and Fly

Cary Fagan · Tundra Books
Pages: 84
Format: Hardcover

A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book at its simplest and best. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Medicine

Christine Hamill · Annick Press
Pages: 168
Format: Paperback

Philip Wright is twelve years old and life is pretty good. He has a comfortable relationship with his mother and gets reasonably good grades - in spite of girl problems, teacher problems, bully problems and - well, poetry problems.Philip's happy-go-lucky life is disrupted when his mother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Project Best Friend

Chrissie Perry · Aladdin
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Penelope Kingston tries to convince the new girl in town to become her best friend in this charming start to the brand-new Penelope Perfect chapter book series.Penelope Kingston wants to be perfect. And most of the time she is good, sensible, and calm. But then sometimes Penelope is bossy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon's Green

Scarlett Thomas · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The Neverending Story meets Jonathan Stroud's Bartimaeus trilogy in this first magical adventure in a new series from acclaimed novelist Scarlett Thomas.Effie Truelove believes in magic, as does her grandfather Griffin (although he refuses to do any magic, let alone teach Effie how to use it) . After...
Read More check catalog