Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Black Panther The Young Prince

RONALD L SMITH · Marvel Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Black Panther. Ruler of Wakanda. Avenger.This is his destiny. But right now, he's simply T'Challa-the young prince.Life is comfortable for twelve-year-old T'Challa in his home of Wakanda, an isolated, technologically advanced African nation. When he's not learning how to rule a kingdom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Go First

ERIN ENTRADA KELLY · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale.Twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Annie's Life in Lists

Kristin Mary Mahoney · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

If you love kids like: 1. Anatastia Krupnik2. Ramona Quimby3. The Penderwicksthen you will love Annie! For Annie, lists are how she keeps her whole life in order. And there is a lot to keep track of!Annie's a shy fifth grader with an incredible memory and a love of making lists. It helps...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Gedrick and Me

PATRICK CARMAN · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Patrick Carman delivers a modern reimagining of the classic Mary Poppins tale in this story about family, grief, and healing - with a dash of magic! Stanley Darrow isn't sure what to expect when the mysterious Mr. Gedrick appears on his doorstep. He is certain,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Explorers: The Door in the Alley

Adrienne Kress · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Featuring a mysterious society, a secretive past, and a pig in a teeny hat, The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a new series for fans of The Name of This Book Is a Secret and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Knock once if you can find it - but only members are allowed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mad Wolf's Daughter

Diane Magras · Kathy Dawson Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A Scottish medieval adventure about the youngest in a war-band who must free her family from a castle prison after knights attack her home--with all the excitement of Ranger's Apprentice and perfect for fans of heroines like Alanna from The Song of the Lioness series.One dark night, Drest's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Front Desk

Kelly Yang · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Mia Tang has a lot of secrets.Number 1: She lives in a motel, not a big house. Every day, while her immigrant parents clean the rooms, ten-year-old Mia manages the front desk of the Calivista Motel and tends to its guests.Number 2: Her parents hide immigrants. And if the mean motel owner,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Royal Rabbits of London

Santa Montefiore · Aladdin
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH meets Warriors in this charming novel that proves that even the smallest rabbit can be the biggest hero from publishing power couple Santa and Simon Sebag Montefiore.Life is an adventure. Anything in the world is possible - by will and by luck, with a moist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Supervillain

MICHAEL FRY · jimmy patterson
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Victor Spoil comes from a long line of famous supervillains and he's fully expected to join their ranks one day. But to his family's utter disappointment, Victor doesn't have a single bad-guy bone in his body. He won't run with scissors, he always finishes his peas, and he can't stand to be messy....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science of Breakable Things

Tae Keller · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An emotionally-charged new classic about the science of hope, love, and miracles! Natalie's uplifting story of using the scientific method to "save" her mother from depression is sure to take root in readers' hearts!How do you grow a miracle? For the record, this is not the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cure for Cold Feet

Beth Levine Ain · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Junior high school girls, meet your new BFF! Izzy Kline faces all the drama of middle school with total honesty and deep heart.Hiding out in the girls' bathroom . . .FaceTiming one friend while group chatting two others . . .Forced to ballroom dance with a boy for a social studies unit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unlucky Lottery Winners of Classroom 13

Honest Lee · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 119
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Captain Underpants or Sideways Stories from Wayside School, this new chapter book series is perfect for reluctant readers. When unlucky teacher Ms. Linda LaCrosse wins the lottery, she shares her winnings with her class--giving each student over a BILLION DOLLARS!You might think...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Impossible Clue

Sarah Rubin · Chicken House
Pages: 293
Format: Print book

Math whiz Alice Jones has already cracked a mystery or two. She's smart and she's fearless, so who else would her classmates turn to? But when a famous local scientist vanishes from a locked room, Alice and her detective skills graduate to the big leagues.Dr. Learner had been working on a top-secret...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Diary

Veera Hiranandani · Dial Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided countryIt's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy, the Bird, and the Coffin Maker

Matilda Woods · Philomel Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks.Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish fly out of the sea and the houses...
Read More check catalog