Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Hope in The Holler

Lisa Lewis Tyre · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The poignant--and funny--story of a girl trying to be brave and find her place in the world after she's sent to live with scheming relatives.Right before Wavie's mother died, she gave Wavie a list of instructions to help her find her way in life, including this one: Be brave, Wavie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whichwood

TAHEREH MAFI · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Embark on a wondrous journey through the land of Whichwood in this stunning companion to Tahereh Mafi's acclaimed bestseller Furthermore. Our story begins on a frosty night . . . Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Gargoyle

Paul Durham · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book will tremble with delight for this haunting tale about a lonely gargoyle who isn't alone at all.Penhallow is the last of his kind. The stone gargoyle--he'd prefer you call him a grotesque--fearlessly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of Nightingale Wood

LUCY STRANGE · Chicken House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

1919. Mama is ill. Father has taken a job abroad. Nanny Jane is too busy to pay any attention to Henrietta and the things she sees -- or thinks she sees -- in the shadows of their new home, Hope House.All alone, with only stories for company, Henry discovers that Hope House is full of strange...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ellie, Engineer

Jackson Pearce · Bloomsbury UK
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Ellie is an engineer. With a tool belt strapped over her favorite skirt (who says you can't wear a dress and have two kinds of screwdrivers handy, just in case? ) , she invents and builds amazing creations in her backyard workshop. Together with her best friend Kit, Ellie can make...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Playing Atari with Saddam Hussein: Based on a True Story

JENNIFER ROY · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

At the start of 1991, eleven-year-old Ali Fadhil was consumed by his love for soccer, video games, and American television shows. Then, on January 17, Iraq's dictator Saddam Hussein went to war with thirty-four nations lead by the United States. Over the next forty-three days, Ali and his family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caleb and Kit

Beth Vrabel · Running Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Caleb is shorter, frailer, and more protected than most kids his age. That's because he has cystic fibrosis, a diagnosis meaning lungs that fill with mucus and a shortened lifespan. Caleb tries not to let his disorder define him, but it can be hard with an overprotective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Skeleton Tree

Kim Ventrella · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Stanly knows the bone growing in his yard is a little weird, but that's okay, because now he'll have the perfect photo to submit to the Young Discoverer's Competition. With such a unique find, he's sure to win the grand prize. But, oddly, the bone doesn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hello, Universe

Erin Entrada Kelly · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view - two boys and two girls - the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

Karina Yan Glaser · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street. It's practically another member of the family. So when their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides not to renew their lease, the five siblings have eleven days to do whatever it takes to stay in their beloved home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ember Stone: A Branches Book

Katrina Charman · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina....
Read More check catalog
 
 
MUTANT BUNNY ISLAND

OBERT SKYE · HarperCollins
Pages: 224

Obert Skye, author of the bestselling Leven Thumps series, delivers a delightful mixture of offbeat mystery and laugh-out-loud humor in this thoroughly inventive adventure complete with comic-style illustrations, the first in a trilogy. Ten-year-old Perry Owens has learned everything he needs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker

SHELLEY JOHANNES · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 154
Format: Hardcover

Beatrice does her best thinking upside down.Hanging from trees by her knees, doing handstands . . . for Beatrice Zinker, upside down works every time. She was definitely upside down when she and her best friend, Lenny, agreed to wear matching ninja suits on the first day of third grade....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ruby the Foster Dog

Jimmy Wayne · Broadstreet Publishing Group, LLC
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Be a star that shines for others. Abandoned in an animal shelter, Ruby, an adorable mixed breed puppy with an underbite, wonders if a family will ever adopt her. When a goofy looking, scruffy-faced man stops by the shelter, he adopts Ruby. Mr. James is not the family she was expecting - but could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goldeline

JIMMY CAJOLEAS · HarperCollins
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Thickety, this spellbinding story follows a young girl named Goldeline on an adventure through a fairy tale forest filled with dark and wondrous magic. In the wild, free woods of the Hinterlands, where magic is as real as stories are,...
Read More check catalog