Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Bug Boys

Laura Knetzger · Random House Graphic
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Summer of Owen Todd

Tony Abbott · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Owen and his best friend, Sean, are both eleven years old. They've lived on Cape Cod all their lives, and now that they're a little older, they'll finally be free to spend some time on their own. But Sean's mother has a different idea -- she hires a babysitter to look after...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Martha and the Slave Catchers

HARRIET HYMAN ALONSO · Triangle Square
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Thirteen-year-old Martha Bartlett insists on being a part of the Underground Railroad rescue to bring her brother Jake back home to their abolitionist community in Connecticut. It's 1854 and though African-Americans and mixed-race peoples in the north are supposed to be free, seven-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voyage of the Frostheart

Jamie Littler · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The whimsy of Nevermoor meets the mythical world-building of Neil Gaiman in this unlikely hero's quest to find his parents--and find the home he's always longed for.

In a snow-covered land where monsters rule the icy tundra, only song weavers hold the power to control these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Tell the Nazis

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch (author of Making Bombs for Hitler) crafts a story of ultimate compassion and sacrifice based on true events during WWII.The year is 1941. Krystia lives in a small Ukrainian village under the cruel -- sometimes violent -- occupation of the Soviets. So when the Nazis...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane

Julia Nobel · Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The first in an exciting new series, this suspenseful debut brings readers on a journey filled with secrets, mystery, and unforgettable characters.With a dad who disappeared years ago and a mother who's a bit too busy to parent, Emmy is shipped off to Wellsworth, a prestigious boarding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Afterwards

A.F. Harrold · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed team behind The Imaginary comes another powerful, poignant, and darkly fantastical story about friendship, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Ember and Ness are best friends, completely inseparable. Ember can't imagine what life would be without...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stitch in Time

Daphne Kalmar · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

An orphan grapples with her unpleasant aunt and the even more unpleasant idea of moving to Boston in this poignant middle-grade debut that handles loss and renewal.

"Heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time, Donut's story is gritty, hopeful and ultimately all about...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Grump: The

Liesl Shurtliff · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwarf who gets tangled up in Snow White's feud with the wicked queen.

Ever since he was a dwarfling, Borlen (nicknamed "Grump") has dreamed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lord of the Mountain

Ronald Kidd · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

Nate's family has a secret, and it's wrapped up in a song. The problem is, his preacher father hates music, and when he catches Nate hanging around downtown Bristol with musicians like Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family, he comes down hard on him. So Nate sets out in search of himself...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dust of Eden

MARIKO NAGAI · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

In 1942, 13-year-old Mina Masako Tagawa and her Japanese American family are sent from their home in Seattle to an internment camp in Idaho. All they can do is wonder when America will remember that they, too, are Americans. This memorable and powerful novel in verse, written by award-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of Zoone

Lee Edward Fodi · HarperCollins
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Welcome to Zoone: crossroads of the multiverse. In this inventive fantasy, fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Lisa McMann will step through an enchanted doorway and into a world filled with infinite portals to new - and sometimes perilous - lands.

When a bright blue winged tiger appears...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lilly and Fin: A Mermaid's Tale

Cornelia Funke · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

The beloved and bestselling author of Inkheart returns with a chapter book full of mischief, heart, and kid mermaids!

These mermaid friends are fishing for trouble!

Lilly and Fin are merpups - mermaid kids - who love to play and explore the caves outside the mermaid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year I Didn't Eat

Samuel Pollen · Yellow Jacket
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

This heartfelt, captivating novel chronicles a year in the life of 14-year-old Max as he struggles with anorexia.

Dear Ana,

Some days are normal. Some days, everything is OK, and I eat three square meals, pretty much, even if those squares are ridiculously small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guest: A Changeling Tale

Mary Downing Hahn · Clarion Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From the master of spookiness, Mary Downing Hahn. When malicious sprites called the Kinde Folke snatch Mollie's baby brother and replace him with a hideous changeling, Mollie travels through eerie, perilous lands to save him.

When her adorable baby brother is replaced by an ugly,...
Read More check catalog