Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Children's Books  
The Castle in the Mist
The Castle in the Mist

Amy Ephron · Philomel Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement - and the dangers - of wishing.Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things Too Huge to Fix by Saying Sorry
Things Too Huge to Fix by Saying Sorry

Susan Vaught · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A mysterious note takes Dani Beans into the secrets of Ole Miss and its dark past in this compelling new middle grade novel from the author of Footer Davis Probably Is Crazy."Sooner or later, we're all gonna be okay." That's what Dani's Grandma Beans used to say. But that was before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Found
Found

S A Bodeen · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Sarah, Marco, their families, friend Leo, and his grandfather continue to strive to outwit treasure-seeker Fox and escape the mysterious island and its strange inhabitants.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marvin and the Moths
Marvin and the Moths

Matthew Holm · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Middle school is off to a rocky start for Marvin Watson. Doomed to misfit status, his only friends are a girl with major orthodontics, the smelliest boy in school, and the trio of sarcastic man-sized moths that live in his attic. No one said middle school would be easy! Also, no one said...
Read More check catalog
 
 
AbrakaPOW
AbrakaPOW

Isaiah Campbell · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Based on a true World War II story, Isaiah Campbell tells a charming mystery about a mishap at a magic show at a POW camp - featuring magic how-to diagrams throughout.Try as she might, cheeky middle schooler Maxine Larousse (you may call her Max "La Roo" or The Amazing Max, if you'd...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape
Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape

Ron Mcgee · Harpercollins
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape is the first fast-paced, sensational novel in a trilogy about a New York City teenager who could give James Bond and Jason Bourne a run for their money. Fans of Alex Rider and the Spy School series will be completely enthralled.Ryan Quinn hopes his traveling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Camp Dork
Camp Dork

Beth Vrabel · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to Beth Vrabel's heartwarming and humorous debut, Pack of Dorks. Sheldon convinces Lucy, Sam, April, and Amanda to join him at a weeklong sleep-away summer camp - Camp Paleo: Live Like a Caveman. Like cavemen, they're going to have to make...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Stay Alive: Mary Ann Graves and the Tragic Journey of the Donner Party
To Stay Alive: Mary Ann Graves and the Tragic Journey of the Donner Party

Skila Brown · Candlewick Press
Pages: 275
Format: Print book

Told in riveting, keenly observed poetry, a moving first-person narrative as experienced by a young survivor of the tragic Donner Party of 1846.The journey west by wagon train promises to be long and arduous for nineteen-year-old Mary Ann Graves and her parents and eight siblings. Yet she is hopeful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gathering
The Gathering

Dan Poblocki · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 215
Format: Print book

Some houses are more than just haunted . . . they're hungry. Dash, Dylan, Poppy, Marcus, and Azumi don't know this at first. They each think they've been summoned to Shadow House for innocent reasons. But there's nothing innocent about Shadow House. Something within its walls is wickedly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Property Office
The Lost Property Office

James R Hannibal · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 390
Format: Print book

James R. Hannibal presents a thrilling adventure through history, complete with mysteries, secret items, codes, and a touch of magic in this stunning middle grade debut.Thirteen-year-old Jack Buckles is great at finding things. Not just a missing glove or the other sock, but things normal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Bear in All the World
The Best Bear in All the World

Jeanne Willis · Dutton
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

For the 90th anniversary of Winnie-the-Pooh, a sequel featuring new stories from the Hundred Acre Wood.The Trustees of the Pooh Properties have commissioned four authors to write in the timeless style of A.A. Milne to create a quartet of charming new adventures for Winnie-the-Pooh, Christopher...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones

Wendelin Van Draanen Parsons · Alfred A Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Award-winning author Wendelin Van Draanen gives us a brilliantly fresh and funny story about a boy learning to become the brave hero of his own life. Perfect for fans of Counting by 7s and The Fourteenth Goldfish. My secret life is filled with psychic vampires, wheelchair zombies, chain-rattlin'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas
Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas

Jonathan Stokes · Philomel Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

The Goonies meets Indiana Jones and James Patterson's Treasure Hunters in this funny, action-filled adventure series! Twelve-year-old Addison Cooke just wishes something exciting would happen to him. His aunt and uncle, both world-famous researchers, travel to the ends of the earth searching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Makoons
Makoons

Louise Erdrich · Harpercollins, 2016.
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

In the sequel to Chickadee, acclaimed author Louise Erdrich continues her award-winning Birchbark House series with the story of an Ojibwe family in nineteenth-century America.Named for the Ojibwe word for little bear, Makoons and his twin, Chickadee, have traveled with their family to the Great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Friendship Experiment
The Friendship Experiment

Erin Teagan · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Future scientist Madeline Little is dreading the start of middle school. Nothing has been right since her grandfather died and her best friend changed schools. Maddie would rather help her father in his research lab or write Standard Operating Procedures in her lab notebook than hang out with...
Read More check catalog