Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Juana and Lucas

Juana Medina · Candlewick Press
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.Juana loves many things - drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogot√°, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baseball Genius

Tim Green · Aladdin Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

An average kid with an above average talent for predicting baseball pitches tries to help his favorite player out of a slump in this entertaining novel from bestselling authors Tim Green and Derek Jeter.

Jalen DeLuca loves baseball. Unfortunately his dad can't afford to keep him on the travel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Summer of Lost and Found

Rebecca Behrens · Aladdin
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

Nell is a city girl forced to spend her summer in Roanoke, North Carolina, but when she meets historical reenactor Ambrose, they explore for clues as to what really happened to the lost colonists, turning her once boring vacation into an adventure.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gauntlet

Karuna Riazi · Simon & Schuster Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A trio of friends from New York City find themselves trapped inside a mechanical board game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves and generations of other children in this action-packed debut that's a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair.When twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeking Cassandra

Lutricia Clifton · Holiday House
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

When work takes Cassie s mom abroad, Cassie is stuck living with her dad in his Winnebago in Palo Duro Canyon State Park for the summer. She loves her dad, but he s different since the divorce, and, for that matter, so is she. She s gotten used to a different lifestyle that s not exactly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Dark

Rodman Philbrick · Blue Sky Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

What would you do if every spark of electricity suddenly vanished, as if somebody had flipped a switch on the entire planet? Cars won't start, the heat shuts off, there's no water in your faucet, and your radio, TV, and flashlight go dark. Everyone in Charlie's small town is baffled.
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midnight War of Mateo Martinez

Robin Yardi · Carolrhoda Books
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Life is confusing for Mateo Martinez. He and Johnny Ramirez don't hang out anymore, even though they used to be best friends. He and his new friend Ashwin try to act like brave, old-time knights, but it only gets them in trouble. And last night, two skunks stole Mateo's old trike....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Above

Roland Smith · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Pat O'Toole and his brother, Coop, are on the run from an enemy that specializes in hiding in plain sight. Along with their new companion, Kate, they've narrowly escaped a cultlike community situated beneath the streets of New York City. Kate has lived underground since birth, and the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scar Island

Dan Gemeinhart · Scholastic Press
Pages: 249
Format: Print book

Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys--an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp, and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves.

Because Jonathan has done something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fishbone's Song

Gary Paulsen · Simon & Schuster Books
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

An orphan reflects on the lessons he was taught by the wise old man who raised him in this lyrical novel that reads like poetry from three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Gary Paulsen.Deep in the woods, in a rustic cabin, lives an old man and the boy he's raised as his own. This sage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can't See the Elephants

Susan Kreller · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

One brave girl takes an extreme step to protect two abused children

When thirteen-year-old Mascha is sent to her grandparents' for the summer, she spends her days bored and lonely at a nearby playground. There she meets Julia and Max, two young siblings who are incredibly...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Curse of the Boggin

D J MacHale · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

"I'm not sure anyone does suspense quite like D. J. MacHale." - James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series Leave the lights on for this spooky thriller from D. J. MacHale, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Pendragon! Enter the Library,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jed and the Junkyard War

Steven Bohls · Disney Hyperion
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Jed is a regular kid with a normal, loving family . . . that is, if it's normal for a loving family to drop their child off in the middle of nowhere and expect him home in time for Sunday dinner. Luckily, Jed excels at being a regular kid who-armed with wit and determination-can make...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ballad of a Broken Nose

Arne Svingen · Margaret Mcelderry Bks
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

From award-winning Norwegian author Arne Svingen comes "an unusually exciting and funny story" (Dagbladet) about a relentlessly positive teenager who uses his love of opera to cope with his less-than-perfect home life.Bart is an eternal optimist. At thirteen years old, he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts

Esta Spalding · Little
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Kim Fitzgerald-Trout took to driving with ease--as most children would if their parents would ever let them try. She had to. After all, she and her siblings live in a car. Meet the Fitzgerald-Trouts, a band of four loosely related children living together in a lush tropical island. They...
Read More check catalog