Back | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery Books  
Sleep No More: Six Murderous Tales

P D JAMES · Knopf
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

No one gets inside the head of the murderer - or makes it a more thrilling read - than the late, great P. D. James. Fast on the heels of her latest best seller: a new, fiendishly entertaining gathering of previously uncollected stories, from the author of Death Comes to Pemberley and The Private...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond the Wild River: A Novel

Sarah Maine · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family's estate the night of a double...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Diabolical Miss Hyde: An Electric Empire Novel

Viola Carr · Harper Voyager
Format: Print book

Forensic science, magic, mystery, and romance mix in this edgy steampunk fantasy—a retelling of the horror classic, in which Dr. Eliza Jekyll, daughter of the infamous Dr. Henry Jekyll—pursues a dangerous murderer in an alternate Victorian London.In an electrified Victorian London,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Side of Murder

ANNA LEE HUBER · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

The Great War is over, but in this captivating new mystery from award-winning author Anna Lee Huber, one young widow discovers the real intrigue has only just begun . . . England, 1919. Verity Kent's grief over the loss of her husband pierces anew when she receives a cryptic letter, suggesting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cutaway: A Novel

Christina Kovac · 37 INK
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.When brilliant TV news producer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder on Black Swan Lane

ANDREA PENROSE · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In Regency London, an unconventional scientist and a fearless female artist form an unlikely alliance to expose unspeakable evil . . .The Earl of Wrexford possesses a brilliant scientific mind, but boredom and pride lead him to reckless behavior. He does not suffer fools gladly. So when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 12.30 from Croydon

Freeman Crofts · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 358
Format: Print book

We begin with a body. Andrew Crowther, a wealthy retired manufacturer, is found dead in his seat on the 12.30 flight from Croydon to Paris. Rather less orthodox is the ensuing flashback in which we live with the killer at every stage, from the first thoughts of murder to the strains and stresses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Séance Infernale: A novel

JONATHAN SKARITON · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An extraordinary debut novel - dark, fast-paced, thrilling - set in contemporary and nineteenth-century Europe, the United States, and Scotland, involving the true inventor of moving pictures; his lost film made in Edinburgh in 1888; and a shocking series of crimes terrorizing the city...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Child

FIONA BARTON · Berkley
Pages: 364
Format: Hardcover

One of the most highly anticipated thrillers of the year - as seen in People, Entertainment Weekly, Time, USA Today, Bustle, Good Housekeeping.com, HelloGiggles, The Boston Globe, PureWow, The Dallas Morning News, and more! "The Child is a perfect blend of beach read and book club...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Book of the Grail: A Novel

Charlie Lovett · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman's Tale comes a new novel about an obsessive bibliophile's quest through time to discover a missing manuscript, the unknown history of an English Cathedral, and the secret of the Holy Grail Arthur Prescott is happiest when surrounded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Atlas of Forgotten Places: A Novel

JENNY D WILLIAMS · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

With empathy and political intrigue, this is a gripping story of two women from different worlds who become inextricably bound in a quest to save their loved ones.The Atlas of Forgotten Places is that rare novel that delivers an exquisite portrait of family and love within a breathlessly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Salvage

Stephen Maher · Dundurn
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Phillip Scarnum must employ his cunning and seamanship to stay alive and out of prison in this fast-paced, gritty thriller. Phillip Scarnum is sailing along Nova Scotia's South Shore when he finds an abandoned lobster boat smashed on the rocks. He risks his life to haul it in, hoping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DIS MEM BER and Other Stories of Mystery and Suspense

JOYCE CAROL OATES · Mysterious Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Including "The Crawl Space," winner of the Bram Stoker Award from the Horror Writers Association for Superior Achievement in Short Fiction and a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Short StoryJoyce Carol Oates is renowned for her rare ability to "illuminate the mind's most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lies We Tell

Theresa Schwegel · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In THE LIES WE TELL by Theresa Schwegel, Chicago police detective Gina Simonetti is keeping a secret from the department: she has multiple sclerosis. Raising her young niece on her own, Gina hides her disease; she can't afford to lose her job. Anyway, she is healthier than most of the cops...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blackbird Season: A Novel

Kate Moretti · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"Exceptional ... a deliciously sinister glimpse into the duplicity of small-town lives and the ease with which people turn on each other when tragedy comes calling. Moretti's tale of jealousy and obsession is nothing less than dark magic. Witchery indeed." - Kirkus Reviews, starred...
Read More check catalog