Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery Books  
The Hush

JOHN HART · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Set in the world of his most beloved novel The Last Child ("A magnificent creation" -- The Washington Post) , John Hart delivers a stunning vision of a secret world, rarely seen.It's been ten years since the events that changed Johnny Merrimon's life and rocked his hometown...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Policeman's Daughter

Trudy Nan Boyce · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From author Trudy Nan Boyce, whose police procedural debut was hailed as "authentic" (NYTBR) and "exceptional" (Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel) , returns with a stunning prequel to the Detective Salt series, the story behind the case that earned Salt her promotion to homicide.At...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Glass Forest: A Novel

Cynthia Swanson · Touchstone
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookseller comes a gripping literary suspense novel set in the 1960s about a deeply troubled family and three women who will reveal its dark truths.In the autumn of 1960, Angie Glass is living an idyllic life in her Wisconsin hometown. At twenty-one,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleep No More: Six Murderous Tales

P D JAMES · Knopf
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

No one gets inside the head of the murderer - or makes it a more thrilling read - than the late, great P. D. James. Fast on the heels of her latest best seller: a new, fiendishly entertaining gathering of previously uncollected stories, from the author of Death Comes to Pemberley and The Private...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death on Tap

ELLIE ALEXANDER · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

When Sloan Krause walks in on her husband, Mac, screwing the barmaid, she gives him the boot. Sloan has spent her life in Leavenworth, Washington becoming an expert in brewing craft beer, and she doesn't have time to be held back by her soon-to-be ex-husband. She decides to strike out on her own,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man of Legends

Kenneth Johnson · 47North
Pages: 428
Format: Paperback

Award-winning science-fiction mastermind Kenneth Johnson blends epic adventure, romance, and evocative drama into an intense supernatural thriller rooted in one of the great untold legends of human history.New York City, New Year's weekend, 2001. Jillian Guthrie, a troubled young journalist,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anatomy of a scandal : a novel

Sarah Vaughan · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"A strong choice for book clubs. Former political correspondent Vaughan makes an impressive debut with this savvy, propulsive courtroom drama." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Vaughan offers gripping insight into a political scandal's hidden machinations and the tension...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife Between Us

GREER HENDRICKS · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A clever thriller with masterful twists." - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman "A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." -Anita Shreve, New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead in the Water

Denise Swanson · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 352
Format: Mass Market Paperback

A twister, a kidnapping, and a murder -- oh my! Scumble River may never be the same.For school psychologist Skye Denison, there's certainly no place like home. When a violent tornado devastates her small hometown of Scumble River, she can't see how the community will ever recover-especially...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mayhem & Mass

Olivia Matthews · Kensington
Pages: 378
Format: Mass Market Paperback

A Los Angeles transplant, Sister Louise "Lou" LaSalle feels right at home in Briar Coast, New York. After all, her beloved nephew, Chris, works at the college founded by her congregation. But while Sister Lou has always played by the rules, she's about to have her faith in herself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The French Girl

Lexie Elliott · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Widow and The Woman in Cabin 10: One woman becomes trapped in the tangled bonds of friendship in an exhilarating debut novel of psychological suspense.We all have our secrets...They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lie

C L Taylor · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and Daughter. Jane Hughes has a great boyfriend, a job in an animal shelter, and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She's happier than she's ever been...but her life is a lie. Jane...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Child Finder: A Novel

RENE DENFELD · Harper
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel from the acclaimed author of The Enchanted about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl."Where are you, Madison Culver? Flying with the angels, a silver speck on a wing? Are you dreaming,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secrets of Wishtide

Kate Saunders · Bloomsbury
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in Hampstead with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator. Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hunting the Five Point Killer

C M WENDELBOE · Midnight Ink
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

"A terrific debut . . . Wendelboe is a skilled writer who ratchets up the suspense." -- Margaret Coel, New York Times bestselling author of Winter's Child On the tenth anniversary of a series of unsolved murders, the Five Point Killer is back for blood -- and retired cop Arn Anderson...
Read More check catalog