Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery Books  
The Black Cat Sees His Shadow

Kay Finch · Berkley Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Mystery novelist Sabrina Tate and her cat, Hitchcock, set out to catch a conniving killer in the next Bad Luck Cat mystery from the author of The Black Cat Knocks on Wood and Black Cat Crossing...The town of Lavender, Texas, is buzzing with tourists and local businesses are pulling out all the stops...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Girl

ERICA SPINDLER · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 243
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Justice for Sara and The First Wife Erica Spindler comes The Other Girl, a chilling new thriller about a ritualistic murder of a college professor that sends a small town cop back into the trauma she thought she'd put behind her."Explosive."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Man's Bridge: A Jake Cantrell Mystery

Robert J. Mrazek · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Disgraced former army officer Jake Cantrell and his pal, Bug, a wolf-dog he saved while in Afghanistan and the only friend he has left, try to put their bitter pasts behind them as Jake finds employment at the bottom rung of the campus security ladder of a small upstate New York college....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red-Haired Woman: A novel

Orhan Pamuk · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the Nobel Prize winner and best-selling author of Snow and My Name Is Red, a fable of fathers and sons and the desires that come between them. On the outskirts of a town thirty miles from Istanbul, a master well digger and his young apprentice are hired to find water on a barren plain....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gone to Dust

MATTHEW GOLDMAN · Forge Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Set in Minnesota, Gone to Dust is the debut private eye murder mystery from Emmy Award-winning Seinfeld writer Matt Goldman."Sharp wit, complex characters, and masterful plotting makes Goldman a writer to watch. Irreverent and insightful, private detective Nils Shapiro is sure to become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moskva

JACK GRIMWOOD · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Red Square, 1985. The naked body of a young man is left outside the walls of the Kremlin, frozen solid -- like marble to the touch -- missing the little finger from his right hand. A week later, Alex Marston, the headstrong fifteen-year-old daughter of the British Ambassador, disappears....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Disguise to Die For: A Costume Shop Mystery

Diane Vallere · Berkley Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Someone is dressed to kill in the debut Costume Shop Mystery from the national bestselling author of the Material Witness mysteries. No sooner does former magician's assistant Margo Tamblyn return home to Proper City, Nevada, to run Disguise DeLimit, her family's costume shop, than she gets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery

FRED VAN LENTE · Quirk Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Fred Van Lente's brilliant debut is both an homage to the Golden Age of Mystery and a thoroughly contemporary show-business satire. As the story opens, nine comedians of various acclaim are summoned to the island retreat of legendary Hollywood funnyman Dustin Walker. The group includes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hollywood Homicide

KELLYE GARRETT · Midnight Ink
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

Dayna Anderson doesn't set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke black actress wants is to help her parents keep their house. After witnessing a deadly hit-and-run, she figures pursuing the fifteen-grand reward isn't the craziest thing a Hollywood actress has done for some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Proving Ground

Peter Blauner · Minotaur Books
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover

"A must read. I couldn't put the sucker down." -- Stephen KingNathaniel Dresden never really got along with his father, an infamous civil rights lawyer who defended criminals and spearheaded protest movements. As an act of rebellion, Natty joined the U.S. Army and served in Iraq,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blame

Jeff Abbott · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 377
Format: Hardcover

From "one of the best thriller writers in the business" (Associated Press) comes a novel praised by Harlan Coben as "mesmerizing, gripping...the perfect blend of complex characters, plot twists galore, and great psychological suspense." Sometimes the person you thought...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Say Nothing: A Novel

Brad Parks · Dutton
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

"Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end. What could be better than that?" - Sue Grafton "Outstanding - starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form." - Lee Child Judge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Driver: A Novel

Hart Hanson · Dutton
Pages: 327
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of the TV show Bones comes a "riveting, smart and funny" (Harlan Coben) debut thriller. "Everything a great thriller should be - always smart, often funny, and relentlessly exciting. I loved every page." - Scott Turow Michael Skellig is a limo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Right Side: A Novel

SPENCER QUINN · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"Brilliant. Deeply felt, but totally under control. I loved it." - Stephen King "A great suspense novel, and so much more. You won't forget the heroic LeAnne Hogan - and the same goes for her dog! Not to be missed. - Harlan Coben In this riveting new novel by the New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like a Fly on the Wall: A Novel

Simone Kelly · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

From talented debut author Simone Kelly comes this suspenseful novel that crackles with intrigue, sex, and plenty of surprises - perfect for fans of Eric Jerome Dickey and Carl Weber.Meet Jacques Berradi. Moroccan-born and Manhattan-raised, his genuine, sexy-smooth allure goes hand in hand...
Read More check catalog