Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Fiction  
In Five Years: A Novel

Rebecca Serle · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day - a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Watchman

Louise Erdrich · Harper
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich's grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Two Lives of Lydia Bird: A Novel

Josie Silver · Ballantine Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Two lives. Two loves. One impossible choice. From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reese's Book Club Pick One Day in December. . .

"I read The Two Lives of Lydia Bird in a single sitting. What a beautiful, emotional gift Josie Silver has given...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Land Beyond the Sea

Sharon Kay Penman · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 688
Format: Hardcover

From critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Sharon Kay Penman comes the story of the reign of King Baldwin IV and the Kingdom of Jerusalem's defense against invaders during the Crusades.

The Kingdom of Jerusalem, also known as Outremer, is the land far beyond...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Good Neighborhood

Therese Anne Fowler · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Therese Anne Fowler has taken the ingredients of racism, justice, and conservative religion and has concocted a feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good." -- Jodi Picoult, #1 New York...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Waiting for Tom Hanks

Kerry Winfrey · Berkley
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A rom-com-obsessed romantic waiting for her perfect leading man learns that life doesn't always go according to a script in this delightfully charming and funny novel.

Annie Cassidy dreams of being the next Nora Ephron. She spends her days writing screenplays, rewatching Sleepless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Akin

Emma Donoghue · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A retired New York professor's life is thrown into chaos when he takes a young great-nephew to the French Riviera, in hopes of uncovering his own mother's wartime secrets in the next masterpiece from New York Times bestselling author Emma Donoghue.
Noah Selvaggio is a retired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snakes: A Novel

Sadie Jones · Harper
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"I wonder if it hurts them to shed their skins," she said. She didn't feel afraid standing in the darkness, imagining snakes, even with the smell of death in the air."

Recently married, psychologist Bea and Dan, a mixed-race artist, rent out their tiny flat to escape...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Book Party

Karen Dukess · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

*A July 2019 Indie Next List Great Read*
*One of Parade's Most Anticipated Books of Summer 2019*
*An O Magazine Best Beach Read of 2019*
*A New York Post Best Beach Read of 2019*

"The Last Book Party is a delight. Reading this story...

Read More check catalog
 
 
What the Wind Knows

Amy Harmon · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In an unforgettable love story, a woman's impossible journey through the ages could change everything ...

Anne Gallagher grew up enchanted by her grandfather's stories of Ireland. Heartbroken at his death, she travels to his childhood home to spread his ashes. There, overcome...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae

Stephanie Butland · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel is one that no reader will soon forget.

Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Lovely Wife

Samantha Downing · Berkley
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this wildly compulsive debut thriller about a couple whose fifteen-year marriage has finally gotten too interesting...

Our love story is simple. I met a gorgeous woman. We fell in love. We had kids. We moved to the suburbs. We told...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Holly Banks Full of Angst

Julie Valerie · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 377
Format: Paperback

A laugh-out-loud debut novel for anyone who's tried to live the perfect life - and learned the hard way there's no such thing.Holly Banks could not have made a worse first impression on the seemingly perfect moms in her new affluent community, the Village of Primm. Turns out wearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vineyards of Champagne

Juliet Blackwell · Berkley
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

Beneath the cover of France's most exquisite vineyards, a city of women defy an army during World War I, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Carousel of Provence....

Deep within the labyrinth of caves that lies below the lush, rolling vineyards of the Champagne...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gone Too Long: A Novel

Lori Roy · Dutton
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Two-time Edgar Award-winning author Lori Roy entangles readers in a heart-pounding tale of two women battling for survival against a century's worth of hate.

On the day a black truck rattles past her house and a Klan flyer lands in her front yard, ten-year-old Beth disappears...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Single Thread: A Novel

Tracy Chevalier · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An immersive, moving story of a woman coming into her own at the dawn of the Second World War, from internationally bestselling author Tracy Chevalier

1932. After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fiancé, Violet Speedwell has become a "surplus woman,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodnight Stranger: A Novel

Miciah Bay Gault · Park Row
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Somewhere the ghosts of Shirley Jackson and the Henry James of The Turn of the Screw are smiling, because a wildly talented young writer has joined their lineage."
- George Saunders, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Lincoln in the Bardo

Entertainment Weekly's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nothing to See Here

Kevin Wilson · Ecco
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller * A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

Named a Best Book of the Year by the New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, People, Entertainment Weekly, USA Today, TIME, The A.V. Club, Buzzfeed, and PopSugar

"I can't believe how good...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Charmer

Karen Hawkins · Gallery Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Karen Hawkins crafts an unforgettable story about a sleepy Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a truly magical friendship.

Sarah Dove is no ordinary bookworm. To her, books have always been more than just objects: they live,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Warehouse

Rob Hart · Crown
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Cloud isn't just a place to work. It's a place to live. And when you're here, you'll never want to leave.

"A thrilling story of corporate espionage at the highest level . . . and a powerful cautionary tale about technology, runaway capitalism, and the nightmare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The First Lady and the Rebel: A Novel

Susan Higginbotham · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

From the celebrated author Susan Higginbotham comes the incredible story of Lincoln's First LadyA Union's First LadyAs the Civil War cracks the country in two, Mary Lincoln stands beside her husband praying for a swift Northern victory. But as the body count rises, Mary can't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe

Heather Webber · Forge Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Heather Webber's Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm.

Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Doxology: A Novel

Nell Zink · Ecco
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A Recommended Book of 2019 from Vulture and Esquire

Two generations of an American family come of age - one before 9/11, one after - in this moving and original novel from the "intellectually restless, uniquely funny" (New York Times Book Review) mind of Nell...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Opioid, Indiana

Brian Allen Carr · Soho Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

During a week-long suspension from school, a teenage transplant to impoverished rural Indiana searches for a job, the whereabouts of his vanished drug-addicted guardian, and meaning in the America of the Trump years.

Seventeen-year-old Riggle is living in rural Indiana with his uncle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady Clementine: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence during World War I and World War II: Clementine Churchill.

Read More check catalog