Back | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The End We Start From

Megan Hunter · Grove Press
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

"The End We Start From is strange and powerful, and very apt for these uncertain times. I was moved, terrified, uplifted - sometimes all three at once. It takes skill to manage that, and Hunter has a poet's understanding of how to make each word count." -- Tracy Chevalier Pre-empted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What We Lose: A Novel

ZINZI CLEMMONS · Viking
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

"The debut novel of the year." - Vogue"A richly volatile study of grief, wonderment and love." - Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal"A startling, poignant debut." - The Atlantic "Raw and ravishing, this novel pulses with vulnerability and shimmering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Last Lie

Mary Kubica · Park Row Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author of THE GOOD GIRL, Mary Kubica is back with another exhilarating thriller as a widow's pursuit of the truth leads her to the darkest corners of the psyche. Clara Solberg's world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Marriage Pact: A Novel

Michelle Richmond · Bantam
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

In this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense, New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond crafts an intense and shocking tale that asks: How far would you go to protect your marriage? Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A House Among the Trees: A Novel

Julia Glass · Pantheon
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In Julia Glass's fifth book since her acclaimed novel Three Junes won the National Book Award, she gives us the story of an unusual bond between a world-famous writer and his assistant - a richly plotted novel of friendship and love, artistic ambition, the perils of celebrity, and the power...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Slipsliding by the Bay

Barbara McDonald · She Writes Press
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Perched on the edge of San Francisco, Lakeside College is experiencing an identity crisis. John Gudewill is recruited as president to save the college from possible closure -- but he is flummoxed at every turn. The faculty, led by secretive English professor Eliot Blanc, is determined to unionize....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amanda Wakes Up

ALISYN CAMEROTA · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The Devil Wears Prada meets Primary Colors in this breezy summer read, as seen in The New York Times, People, and O MagazineWhen Amanda Gallo, fresh from the backwater of local TV, lands the job of her dreams at FAIR News - the coveted morning anchor slot - she's finally made it: a six-figure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Jane Young: A Novel

Gabrielle Zevin · Algonquin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the international bestseller The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes another novel that will have everyone talking. Aviva Grossman, an ambitious congressional intern in Florida, makes the mistake of having an affair with her (married) boss. When the affair comes to light,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Birdcage Walk

Helen Dunmore · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

It is 1792 and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence. Lizzie Fawkes has grown up in Radical circles where each step of the French Revolution is followed with eager idealism. But she has recently married John Diner Tredevant, a property developer who is heavily invested in Bristol's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trout: A Novel

Peter Cunningham · Arcade Publishing
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

At the heart of every life there lies a secret.Alex Smyth, of Irish birth but living for many years with his wife in rural Canada, receives a trout fly in the mail, with no message and no return address. It stirs a fear that he is being stalked after the publication of his most recent book,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Killer Harvest: A Thriller

PAUL CLEAVE · Atria Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A new thriller from the Edgar-nominated author of Trust No One and Joe Victim about a blind teenager who receives a corneal donation and begins to see and feel memories from their previous owner - a homicide detective who was also his father.Joshua is convinced there is a family curse....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seven Days of Us: A Novel

FRANCESCA HORNAK · Berkley
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays...It's Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew's elder daughter - who is usually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cottingley Secret: A Novel

Hazel Gaynor · William Morrow
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Came Home turns the clock back one hundred years to a time when two young girls from Cottingley, Yorkshire, convinced the world that they had done the impossible and photographed fairies in their garden. Now, in her newest novel, international...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Windfall: A Novel

DIKSHA BASU · Crown
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A heartfelt comedy of manners, Diksha Basu's debut novel unfolds the story of a family discovering what it means to "make it" in modern India. For the past thirty years, Mr. and Mrs. Jha's lives have been defined by cramped spaces, cut corners, gossipy neighbors, and the small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fingerprints of Previous Owners

REBECCA ENTEL · The Unnamed Press
Pages: 212
Format: Paperback

A Starred Review from Kirkus One of the Chicago Review of Books Best Books to Survive Trump At a Caribbean resort built atop a former slave plantation, Myrna works as a maid by day; by night she trespasses on the resort's overgrown inland property, secretly excavating the plantation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lost Boy: The True Story of Captain Hook

CHRISTINA HENRY · Berkley
Pages: 292
Format: Paperback

From the national bestselling author of Alice comes a familiar story with a dark hook - a tale about Peter Pan and the friend who became his nemesis, a nemesis who may not be the blackhearted villain Peter says he is ... There is one version of my story that everyone knows. And then there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bone Mother

DAVID DEMCHUK · ChiZine Publications
Pages: 300
Format: Paperback

Three neighboring villages on the Ukrainian/Romanian border are the final refuge for the last of the mythical creatures of Eastern Europe. Now, on the eve of the war that may eradicate their kind - and with the ruthless Night Police descending upon their sanctuary - they tell their stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Floors Up

Eshkol Nevo · Other Press
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Set in an upper-middle-class Tel Aviv apartment building, this best-selling and warmly acclaimed Israeli novel examines the interconnected lives of its residents, whose turmoils, secrets, unreliable confessions, and problematic decisions reveal a society in the midst of an identity crisis.On...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel

Karin Tanabe · Washington Square Press
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Space Between Words

Miche?le Phoenix · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

"There were seconds, when I woke, when the world felt unshrouded. Then memory returned."When Jessica regains consciousness in a French hospital on the day after the Paris attacks, all she can think of is fleeing the site of the horror she survived. But Patrick, the steadfast friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel

Rachel Khong · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 196
Format: Hardcover

"Told in a diary format over the year that Ruth spends at home, Goodbye, Vitamin is a quietly brilliant disquisition on family relationships and adulthood, told in prose that is so startling in its spare beauty that I found myself thinking about Khong's turns of phrase for days after...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Necklace: A Novel

Claire McMillan · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Two generations of Quincy women - a bewitching Jazz Age beauty and a young lawyer - bound by a spectacular and mysterious Indian necklace.Always the black sheep of the tight-knit Quincy clan, Nell is cautious when she's summoned to the elegantly shabby family manor after her great aunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Goddesses: A Novel

Swan Huntley · Doubleday
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

"A haunting story of betrayal and forgiveness" (Kirkus) about a woman who moves her family to Hawaii, only to find herself wrapped up in a dangerous friendship, from the celebrated author of We Could Be Beautiful. When Nancy and her family arrive in Kona, Hawaii, they are desperate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Sun Shines Out: A Novel

Kevin Catalano · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A raw, unflinching literary debut for fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin examining the aftershocks of survival, and the price of salvation. In the blue-collar town of Chittenango, New York, two young boys are abducted from a local festival and taken to a cabin in the woods. One is kept;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cicada Summer

MAUREEN LEURCK · Kensington
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

In this moving, witty novel, author Maureen Leurck explores the intricacies and joys of renovation and rediscovery - as one woman's improvement project promises to transform much more than a home . . . People keep a house alive, not the other way around. Alex Proctor has seen the truth...
Read More check catalog