Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Alternative Remedies for Loss

Joanna Cantor · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A slyly funny coming-of-age novel about a young woman fumbling her way into the mysteries of loss and the travails of adulthood as she tries to make sense of a vanished mother's legacy. When 22-year-old Olivia learned that her mother had only months to live, she pulled up roots, leaving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Social Creature: A Novel

Tara Isabella Burton · Doubleday
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A sharp, biting, and irresistible debut about parties and ambition in New York City--introducing a talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, with all the glitz and grit of Bright Lights, Big City.If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere. Louise Wilson is an expert at just barely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry's Trees

Jon Cohen · Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Audio
Pages: 1
Format: Hardcover

Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane, lifelong lover of trees, works as an analyst in a treeless US Forest Service office. When his wife dies in a freak accident, devastated, he makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains, intent on losing himself....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Summer List: A Novel

Amy Mason Doan · Graydon House
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

A tender yet tantalizing novel about two friends, the summer night they fell apart, and the scavenger hunt that reunites them decades later - until the clues expose a breathtaking secret that just might shatter them once and for all.Laura and Casey were once inseparable: as they floated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel

Stephanie Butland · Macmillan Audio
Format: Book

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending audiobook from author Stephanie ButlandLoveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Remind Me Again What Happened

Joanna Luloff · Algonquin Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"There is a smudge where my memory is supposed to be." Claire wakes in a hospital room in the Florida Keys. She has no idea how she got there or why. The loss of so many memories is paralyzing. Some things she can piece together by looking at old photos saved by her husband, Charlie,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bedlam Stacks

Natasha Pulley · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 337
Format: Paperback

An Indie Next PickNow in paperback, Natasha Pulley's "witty, entrancing novel . . . burnishes her reputation as a gifted storyteller" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) .In 1859, ex-East India Company smuggler Merrick Tremayne is trapped at home in Cornwall with an injury...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbury Carol: A Novel

JOSH MALERMAN · Del Rey Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Bird Box returns with a haunting tale of love, redemption, and murder. Carol Evers is a woman with a dark secret. She has died many times . . . but her many deaths are not final: They are comas, a waking slumber indistinguishable from death, each...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miss Subways: A Novel

DAVID DUCHOVNY · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author David Duchovny reimagines the Irish mythological figure of Emer in Miss Subways, a darkly comic fantasy love story set in New York City.Emer is just a woman living in New York City who takes the subway, buys ice cream from the bodega on the corner, has writerly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Straying: A Novel

Molly McCloskey · Scribner
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From "an extravagantly gifted writer who deserves to be widely read" (Rachel Cusk, The Telegraph) , this intimate, quietly stunning novel tells the story of a young American expat who settles in Ireland in the late 1980s, marries, and lives through the consequences of an affair.Alice,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hotel Silence

Auður A O?lafsdo?ttir · Grove Press, Black Cat
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize, Hotel Silence is a delightful and heartwarming new novel from Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir, a writer who "upends expectations" (New York Times) . Told with grace, insight, and humor, this is the story of one man's surprising mid-life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Country Dark

CHRIS OFFUTT · Grove Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Chris Offutt is an outstanding literary talent, whose work has been called "lean and brilliant" (New York Times Book Review) and compared by reviewers to Tobias Wolff, Ernest Hemingway, and Raymond Carver. He's been awarded the Whiting Writers Award for Fiction/Nonfiction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Promise: A Novel

MINROSE GWIN · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the aftermath of a devastating tornado that rips through the town of Tupelo, Mississippi, at the height of the Great Depression, two women worlds apart--one black, one white; one a great-grandmother, the other a teenager--fight for their families' survival in this lyrical and powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Mother: A Novel

Carol Goodman · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the internationally bestselling The Lake of Dead Languages comes a gripping novel about madness, motherhood, love, and trust.When Daphne Marist and her infant daughter, Chloe, pull up the gravel drive to the home of Daphne's new employer, it feels like they've entered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woman at 1,000 Degrees: A Novel

Hallgri?mur Helgason · Algonquin Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"I live here alone in a garage, together with a laptop computer and a hand grenade. It's pretty cozy." And . . . she's off. Eighty-year-old Herra Bjornsson, one of the most original narrators in literary history, takes readers along with her on a dazzling ride of a novel that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gateway to the Moon: A Novel

Mary Morris · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning novelist Mary Morris comes the remarkable story of a remote New Mexican town coming to grips with a dark history it never imagined. In 1492, the Jewish and Muslim populations of Spain were expelled, and Columbus set sail for America. Luis de Torres, a Spanish Jew, accompanies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Brassard's Farm

DANIEL HECHT · Blackstone Publishing
Pages: 406
Format: Hardcover

On Brassard's Farm is a tale of misadventure, magic, and love. Her urban life in ruins and desperate for change, Ann Turner pitches her tent on a remote piece of Vermont woodland and begins working on a small dairy farm. Both experiences challenge her to the utmost -- and lead to unexpected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anatomy of a Miracle: A Novel*

JONATHAN MILES · Hogarth
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A profound new novel about a paralyzed young man's unexplainable recovery - a stunning exploration of faith, science, mystery, and the meaning of life Rendered paraplegic after a traumatic event four years ago, Cameron Harris has been living his new existence alongside his sister, Tanya,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Name Is Venus Black: A Novel

Heather Lloyd · The Dial Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In this stirring, life-affirming debut novel, a young woman must reconcile her past with its far-reaching consequences on her quest for redemption. I think about this a lot lately, trying to figure out how I got here. I trace my life back in time, looking for all those places in the past...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Note Played

LISA GENOVA · Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From neuroscientist and New York Times bestselling author of Still Alice comes a powerful and heartbreaking exploration of regret, forgiveness, freedom, and what it means to be alive.An accomplished concert pianist, Richard received standing ovations from audiences all over the world in awe of his rare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Word

Sarah Henstra · HighBridge Audio
Format: Audiobook

A smart, dark, and take-no-prisoners look at rape culture and the extremes to which ideology can go, The Red Word is a campus novel like no other. As her sophomore year begins, Karen enters into the back-to-school revelry?particularly at a fraternity called GBC. When she wakes up one morning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Census

JESSE BALL · Ecco
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A powerful and moving new novel from an award-winning, acclaimed author: in the wake of a devastating revelation, a father and son journey north across a tapestry of townsWhen a widower receives notice from a doctor that he doesn't have long left to live, he is struck by the question of who will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart Between Us: Two Sisters, One Heart Transplant, and a Bucket List

Lindsay Harrel · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Megan Jacobs always wished for a different heart. Her entire childhood was spent in and out of hospitals, sitting on the sidelines while her twin sister Crystal played all the sports, got all the guys, and had all the fun. But even a heart transplant three years ago wasn't enough to propel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tangerine: A Novel

Christine Mangan · Ecco
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"As if Donna Tartt, Gillian Flynn, and Patricia Highsmith had collaborated in a screenplay to be filmed by Hitchcock - suspenseful and atmospheric." - Joyce Carol Oates, author of The Book of American MartyrsThe last person Alice Shipley expected to see since arriving in Tangier...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Oracle Year: A Novel

CHARLES SOULE · Harper Perennial
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future - perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome...
Read More check catalog