Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  New Fiction  
The Man Who Shot Out My Eye Is Dead: Stories
The Man Who Shot Out My Eye Is Dead: Stories

Chanelle Benz · Ecco
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

A stunningly original debut collection about lives across history marked by violence and longing.A brother and sister turn outlaw in a wild and brutal landscape. The daughter of a diplomat disappears and resurfaces across the world as a deadly woman of many names. A young Philadelphia boy struggles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fortunate Ones: A Novel
The Fortunate Ones: A Novel

Ellen Umansky · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

One very special work of art - a Chaim Soutine painting - will connect the lives and fates of two different women, generations apart, in this enthralling and transporting debut novel that moves from World War II Vienna to contemporary Los Angeles.It is 1939 in Vienna, and as the specter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running: A Novel
Running: A Novel

Cara Hoffman · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From the critically acclaimed author of Be Safe I Love You comes a dark and breathtaking novel of love, friendship, and survival set in the red light district of Athens in the 1980s that Garth Greenwall calls "a ferocious, brilliant book."Running brings together an ensemble of outsiders...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey Harry, Hey Matilda: A Novel
Hey Harry, Hey Matilda: A Novel

Rachel Hulin · Doubleday
Pages: 276
Format: Print book

Hey Harry, Hey Matilda is the story - told entirely in hilarious emails - of fraternal twins Harry and Matilda Goodman as they fumble into adulthood, telling lies and keeping secrets, and finally confronting their complicated twinship. Matilda Goodman is an underemployed wedding photographer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When She's Gone: A Thriller
When She's Gone: A Thriller

Jane Palmer · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Ara Zuyev is a secret to nearly everyone, and those who know anything about her have barely scratched the surface. A bodyguard for a powerful billionaire, she is the last line of defense for the family's inner circle. But when her charge, 16-year-old Samantha Harper, is kidnapped and the FBI are called...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The German Girl: A Novel
The German Girl: A Novel

Armando Lucas Correa · Atria Books
Pages: 343
Format: Print book

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Hearts Will Burn Us Down: A Novel
Our Hearts Will Burn Us Down: A Novel

Anne Valente · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

The lives of four teenagers are capsized by a shocking school shooting and its aftermath in this powerful debut novel, a coming-of-age story with the haunting power of Station Eleven and the bittersweet poignancy of Everything I Never Told You.As members of the yearbook committee, Nick,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Among the Living
Among the Living

Jonathan Rabb · Other Press
Pages: 303
Format: Print book

"Jonathan Rabb is one of my favorite writers, a highly gifted, heart-wise storyteller if ever there was one. What a powerful, moving book." - David McCullough, Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning authorA moving novel about a Holocaust survivor's unconventional journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Makes a Family
What Makes a Family

Colleen Faulkner · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Nestled in the Chesapeake Bay, Brodie Island is charming, remote, and slow to change. For three hundred years, Abby Brodie's farming family has prospered there. Now, years after leaving to make her way on her own terms, Abby is coming home to see her ailing grandmother, with her teenage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Man a Menace: A Novel
Every Man a Menace: A Novel

Patrick Hoffman · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

Patrick Hoffman burst onto the crime fiction scene with The White Van, a bank heist thriller set in the back streets of San Francisco and a finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award. Now he returns with his second novel, Every Man a Menace, the inside story of a ruthless ecstasy-smuggling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Portrait of Emily Price
A Portrait of Emily Price

Katherine Reay · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 355
Format: Print book

Art restorer Emily Price has never encountered anything she can't fix - until she meets Ben, an Italian chef, who seems just right. But when Emily follows Ben home to Italy, she learns that his family is another matter . . . Emily Price - fix-it girl extraordinaire and would-be artist - dreams...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blind Astronomer's Daughter
The Blind Astronomer's Daughter

John Pipkin · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 455
Format: Print book

In late-eighteenth-century Ireland, accidental stargazer Caroline Ainsworth learns that her life is not what it seems when her father, Arthur, throws himself from his rooftop observatory. Caroline had often assisted her father with his observations, in pursuit of an unknown planet; when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Amazing Things About You
Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Hallie has a secret...doesn't everybody? Hallie doesn't have long to live. And to make things even more complicated, she's in love with a guy who's seriously out of bounds. She's never going to let him know, of course; she's just going to enjoy every remaining moment of her crush. She's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Gambler's Anatomy: A Novel
A Gambler's Anatomy: A Novel

Jonathan Lethem · Doubleday
Pages: 289
Format: Print book

The author of Motherless Brooklyn and The Fortress of Solitude returns with a devilishly entertaining novel about an international backgammon hustler who thinks he's psychic. Too bad about the tumor in his face. Handsome, impeccably tuxedoed Bruno Alexander travels the world winning large...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wangs vs. the World
The Wangs vs. the World

Jade Chang · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 354
Format: Print book

THE WANGS VS. THE WORLD is an outrageously funny tale about a wealthy Chinese-American family that "loses it all, then takes a healing, uproarious road trip across the United States" (Entertainment Weekly) . Their spectacular fall from riches to rags brings the Wangs together...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cruel Beautiful World: A Novel
Cruel Beautiful World: A Novel

Caroline Leavitt · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 357
Format: Print book

A gorgeous, seductive novel that is also terrifying and pulse-pounding. Wiley Cash, author of The Dark Road to Mercy Backdropped by the Vietnam War and the Manson murders, Cruel Beautiful World is a fast-moving page-turner about the naivete of youth and the malignity of power. Leavitt exploreswith...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mortifications: A Novel
The Mortifications: A Novel

Derek Palacio · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Derek Palacio's stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice and a new chapter in the history of 21st century Cuban-American literature.In 1980, a rural Cuban family is torn apart during the Mariel Boatlift. Uxbal Encarnación - father, husband, political insurgent - refuses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart of Henry Quantum
The Heart of Henry Quantum

Pepper Harding · Gallery Books
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

In the bestselling tradition of A Man Called Ove and the beloved film Love Actually, a quirky, socially awkward man goes on a quest to find his wife a last-minute Christmas gift and encounters several distractions - including bumping into his ex-girlfriend who was the one who got away.Henry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Capture What We Cannot Keep
To Capture What We Cannot Keep

Beatrice Colin · Flatiron Books
Pages: 289
Format: Print book

Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.In February 1887, Caitriona Wallace and Émile Nouguier meet in a hot air balloon, floating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Do Not Say We Have Nothing: A Novel
Do Not Say We Have Nothing: A Novel

Madeleine Thien · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize: "A vivid, magisterial novel that reaches back to China's civil war and up to the present day" -- The Guardian"In a single year, my father left us twice. The first time, to end his marriage, and the second, when he took his own life....
Read More check catalog