Back | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Price of Duty: A Novel

DALE BROWN · William Morrow
Pages: 440
Format: Hardcover

The U.S. and its Western allies come under a diabolical Russian cyber warfare attack in this action-packed military techno-thriller from New York Times bestselling master Dale Brown.In a top-secret location deep in the Ural Mountains, Russian President Gennadiy Gryzlov has built his nation's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodnight from London: A Novel

Jennifer Robson · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson - author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France - comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American journalist who moves to London in 1940 to report on the Second World War, and to start...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miss You

Kate Eberlen · Harper
Pages: 433
Format: Hardcover

-If ever a couple was 'meant to be, ' it's Tess and Gus. This is such a witty, poignant, and uplifting story of two lives crisscrossing over the years, with near miss after near miss. . . . I couldn't put it down. ---Sophie Kinsella A wryly romantic debut novel with echoes of One Day that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Teeth

MICHAEL CRICHTON · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel - a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting.The year is 1876. Warring Indian tribes still populate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich People Problems: A Novel

KEVIN KWAN · Doubleday
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Kevin Kwan, bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend, is back with an uproarious new novel of a family riven by fortune, an ex-wife driven psychotic with jealousy, a battle royal fought through couture gown sabotage, and the heir to one of Asia's greatest fortunes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Frozen Hours: A Novel of the Korean War

JEFF SHAARA · Ballantine Books
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

The master of military historical fiction turns his discerning eye to the Korean War in this riveting new novel, which tells the dramatic story of the Americans and the Chinese who squared off in one of the deadliest campaigns in the annals of combat: the Battle of Chosin Reservoir, also...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Young Wives Club: A Novel

Julie Pennell · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you're lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Light We Lost

Jill Santopolo · G. P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last? "Extraordinary . . . An emotional roller coaster." - Delia Ephron Lucy is faced with a life-altering choice. But before she can make her decision, she must start her story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sorry to Disrupt the Peace: A Novel

Patty Yumi Cottrell · McSweeney's
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Helen Moran is thirty-two years old, single, childless, college educated, and partially employed as a guardian of troubled young people in New York. She is accepting a furniture delivery in her shared studio apartment when her uncle calls to break the news: Helen's adoptive brother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nightwalker: A Novel

Sebastian Fitzek · Pegasus Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A psychological thrill-ride of a novel that finds an insomniac wondering if his nighttime excursions have turned into something beyond his imagination.As a young man, Leon Nader suffered from insomnia. As a sleepwalker, he even turned to violence during his nocturnal excursions and had psychiatric...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Widow's House: A Novel

Carol Goodman · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 6
Format: Paperback

This chilling novel from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Lake of Dead Languages blends the gothic allure of Daphne DuMaurier's Rebecca and the crazed undertones of Charlotte Perkins Gilman's The Yellow Wallpaper with the twisty, contemporary edge of A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amiable with Big Teeth

Claude Mckay · Penguin Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A monumental literary event: the newly discovered final novel by seminal Harlem Renaissance writer Claude McKay, a rich and multilayered portrayal of life in 1930s Harlem and a historical protest for black freedom The unexpected discovery in 2009 of a completed manuscript of Claude McKay's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Shadow of Lakecrest

Elizabeth Blackwell · Lake Union Publishing
Format: Print book

The year is 1928. Kate Moore is looking for a way out of the poverty and violence of her childhood. When a chance encounter on a transatlantic ocean liner brings her face-to-face with the handsome heir to a Chicago fortune, she thinks she may have found her escape - as long as she can keep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

Jennifer Ryan · Crown
Pages: 371
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLERFor readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Possessions: A Novel

Sara Flannery Murphy · Harper
Pages: 354
Format: Hardcover

"I was totally immersed in the strange, beautiful world of Sara Flannery Murphy's The Possessions. A gripping, chilling read that's part love story, part mystery, and completely original, it's sensuous, scary, and utterly thrilling. I've never read anything quite like it." - Anton...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl from Rawblood: A Novel

Catriona Ward · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Winner of BEST HORROR NOVEL (August Derleth Award) at British Fantasy Awards 2016For generations the Villarcas have died mysteriously, and young. Now Iris and her father will finally understand why. . .At the turn of England's century, as the wind whistles in the lonely halls of Rawblood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Zero and the One: A Novel

Ryan Ruby · Twelve
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A gothic twist on the classic tale of innocents abroad, THE ZERO AND THE ONE is a meditation on the seductions of friendship and the power of dangerous ideas that registers the dark, psychological suspense of Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley and the intellectual and philosophical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Time Lost

Chris Ewan · Minotaur Books
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

Nick Miller and his team provide a unique and highly illegal service, relocating at-risk individuals across Europe with new identities and lives. Nick excels at what he does for a reason: he himself has spent years living in the shadows under an assumed name. But when Nick steps in to prevent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Masquerades: Novellas by Rachel Ingalls

Rachel Ingalls · Pharos Editions
Pages: 213
Format: Paperback

"The fiction of Rachel Ingalls has haunted me for years. The plots are dramatic, even exaggerated, but the books are quiet and short. The language is plain but curious. I've gathered here three works of hers. Two of these are frightening and one less so, although I sometimes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Clairvoyants: A Novel

Karen Brown · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

The Clairvoyants is Karen Brown's most hypnotic novel to date--gothic-inflected psychological suspense that unmasks the secret desires of a young woman with a mystical giftOn the family homestead by the sea where she grew up, Martha Mary saw ghosts. As a young woman, she hopes to distance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rabbit Cake

Annie Hartnett · Tin House Books
Pages: 331
Format: Print book

Twelve-year-old Elvis Babbitt has a head for the facts: she knows science proves yellow is the happiest color, she knows a healthy male giraffe weighs about 3,000 pounds, and she knows that the naked mole rat is the longest living rodent. She knows she should plan to grieve her mother,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kissed by the Rain

CLAUDIA WINTER · AmazonCrossing
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

This wildly romantic novel from the author of Apricot Kisses proves that the recipe for love sometimes needs just a dash of the unexpected - and the magic of the Scottish Highlands.Josefine Sonnenthal has it all under control. A successful lawyer with a sensible fiancé and big plans for marriage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Roanoke Girls: A Novel

Amy Engel · Crown
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die." After her mother's suicide, fifteen year-old Lane Roanoke came to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, on their vast estate in rural Kansas. Lane knew little of her mother's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Wild Heart

Meg Donohue · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

From USA Today bestselling author Meg Donohue comes a mystery, a love story, and a mother-daughter tale about two women on a precarious journey to uncover their true selves.Passionate and funny, radio personality Gail Gideon is a true original. Nine years ago when Gail's husband announced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trophy Child: A Novel

Paula Daly · Grove
Pages: 386
Format: Print book

Paula Daly is acclaimed for her distinctive voice, masterful plotting, and terrifying depictions of ordinary people whose everyday lives are turned upside down through deception and murder. In her unsettling new domestic thriller, The Trophy Child, Daly digs beneath the serene surface of the idyllic...
Read More check catalog