Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Queen of Hearts

Kimmery Martin · Berkley
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A debut novel set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart's capacity for forgiveness...Zadie Anson and Emma Colley have been best friends since their early twenties, when they first began navigating serious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Stop Time

MATT HAIG · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"The first rule is that you don't fall in love,' he said ... 'There are other rules too, but that is the main one. No falling in love. No staying in love. No daydreaming of love. If you stick to this you will just about be okay.'"A love story across the ages - and for the ages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rosie Colored Glasses: A Novel

Brianna Wolfson · MIRA
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

SHE SEES THE WORLD THROUGH ROSIE COLORED GLASSES ... Rosie Collins makes everything dazzle. She's magnetic. Rex Thorpe is serious and unsentimental. Yet when the two meet, Rex is swept up in Rosie's manic tornado of love. But just as opposites attract, they also cause friction. Rosie is illuminating,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An American Marriage: A Novel

Tayari Jones · Algonquin Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
White Chrysanthemum

Mary Lynn Bracht · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the spirit of Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943. Hana has lived her entire life under Japanese occupation. As a haenyeo, a female diver of the sea,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Indigo Girl

Natasha Boyd · Blackstone Publishing
Pages: 342
Format: Hardcover

An incredible story of dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice. The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family's three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Philosopher's Flight: A Novel

TOM MILLER · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling debut from ER doctor turned novelist Tom Miller, The Philosopher's Flight is an epic historical fantasy set in a World-War-I-era America where magic and science have blended into a single extraordinary art. "Like his characters, Tom Miller casts a spell." (Matthew...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Chapter

Winnie M. Li · Polis Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Vivian is a cosmopolitan Taiwanese-American tourist who often escapes her busy life in London through adventure and travel. Johnny is a 15-year-old Irish teenager, living a neglected life on the margins of society. He has grown up in a family where crime is customary, violence is a necessity,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Space Between Words

Miche?le Phoenix · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

"There were seconds, when I woke, when the world felt unshrouded. Then memory returned."When Jessica regains consciousness in a French hospital on the day after the Paris attacks, all she can think of is fleeing the site of the horror she survived. But Patrick, the steadfast friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Impossible Views of the World

Lucy Ives · Penguin Press
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

A witty, urbane, and sometimes shocking debut novel, set in a hallowed New York museum, in which a co-worker's disappearance and a mysterious map change a life foreverStella Krakus, a curator at Manhattan's renowned Central Museum of Art, is having the roughest week in approximately ever....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Walworth Beauty

Miche?le Roberts · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 389
Format: Hardcover

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue, and Kate Atkinson.2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her London flat for the swelling city's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grip of It: A Novel

Jac Jemc · FSG Originals
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

One of Nylon's "50 Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017"One of Chicago Reader's "Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017"A chilling literary horror novel about a young couple haunted by their newly purchased homeJac Jemc's The Grip of It tells the eerie story of a young couple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Revolution of Marina M.

JANET FITCH · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 805
Format: Hardcover

From the mega-bestselling author of White Oleander and Paint It Black, a sweeping historical saga of the Russian Revolution, as seen through the eyes of one young womanOne of Entertainment Weekly's Most Buzzworthy Books of Fall 2017St. Petersburg, New Year's Eve, 1916. Marina Makarova is a young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Austen Escape

K REAY · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Falling into the past will change their futures forever.Mary Davies finds safety in her ordered and productive life. Working as an engineer, she genuinely enjoys her job and her colleagues - particularly a certain adorable and intelligent consultant. But something is missing. When Mary's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonders Will Never Cease: A Novel

Robert Irwin · Arcade Publishing
Pages: 392
Format: Hardcover

An Exhilarating, Magical Blend of History and Fantasy Set during the Original Game of Thrones - For Fans of T. H. White, George R. R. Martin, and Philippa Gregory. Beginning with the Palm Sunday battle of Towton, the bloodiest ever fought on English soil, Wonders Will Never Cease relates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crooked Path

Irma Joubert · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

From the bestselling author of The Girl From the Train, comes another compelling coming of age story of delayed love, loss, and reconciliation in WWII-era South Africa.Lettie has always felt different from and overshadowed by the women around her- this friend is richer, that friend is more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time's Betrayal

DAVID ADAMS CLEVELAND · Fomite Press
Pages: 1170
Format: Hardcover

Time s Betrayal is an epic multigenerational family saga covering the years from the battle of Antietam to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Touching on elements in John le Carré's A Perfect Spy and John Knowles's A Separate Peace, the novel chronicles a son s search for a larger-than-life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Me Bad Me

ALI LAND · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERHOW FAR DOES THE APPLE REALLY FALL FROM THE TREE?Good Me Bad Me is dark, compelling, voice-driven psychological suspense by debut author Ali Land: "Could not be more unputdownable if it was slathered with superglue." -- Sunday ExpressMilly's mother is a serial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Prophet

Dawn Patitucci · Turner
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by Velázquez's baroque masterpiece, Las Meninas, The Queen's Prophet is an imagined account of the dwarfess Maribarbola of Spain (featured prominently in Velázquez's painting) and her struggle for survival and self-determination at a time when dwarfs were kept by aristocracy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boat Runner: A Novel

DEVIN MURPHY · Harper Perennial
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives...
Read More check catalog