Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Necklace: A Novel

Claire McMillan · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Two generations of Quincy women - a bewitching Jazz Age beauty and a young lawyer - bound by a spectacular and mysterious Indian necklace.Always the black sheep of the tight-knit Quincy clan, Nell is cautious when she's summoned to the elegantly shabby family manor after her great aunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wildling Sisters

Eve Chase · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor. Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets. When fifteen-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Beloved Ghosts

Alison Macleod · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

An acutely observed, evocative collection of short stories blending fiction, biography, and memoir--from a Booker-longlisted author.Evocative, sensual, and tender, these stories confront our reality culture and interrogate our relationship with iconic figures, coming to life at the boundary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Rich?: A Novel

Matthew Klam · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age - the long-awaited first novel from the the acclaimed author of Sam the CatEvery summer, a once-sort-of-famous forty-two-year-old cartoonist named Rich Fischer leaves his wife and two kids behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel

Gail Honeyman · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"Move over, Ove (in Fredrik Backman's A Man Called Ove) - there's a new curmudgeon to love." --BOOKLIST (starred review) "Eleanor Oliphant is a truly original literary creation: funny, touching, and unpredictable. Her journey out of dark shadows is absolutely gripping."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Rochester

SARAH SHOEMAKER · GRAND CENTRAL PUB
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

A gorgeous, deft literary retelling of Charlotte Bronte's beloved Jane Eyre--through the eyes of the dashing, mysterious Mr. Rochester himself.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Widow: A Novel

Liz Fenton · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 300
Format: Paperback

Bestselling authors Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke make their suspense debut in this twisty, emotional thriller.Elementary school teacher Jacqueline "Jacks" Morales's marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Time Around

Tawna Fenske · Montlake Romance
Pages: 316
Format: Paperback

Allie Ross is not living the life she once dreamed. Her law career ended before it ever started, her parents landed in jail for running a Ponzi scheme, and she just inherited her grandmother's B&B - which is nice, even if it is full of extra-toed cats. As for her love life ... she'd...
Read More check catalog
 
 
By Any Name

Cynthia Voigt · Diversion Publishing
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

From the award-winning author of Dicey's Song and Homecoming comes a new novel of mothers, daughters, and the life lessons they teach one another.While serving in the USO during WWII, Mumma meets Pops. She's got an engagement ring on each finger from her many suitors, but it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You'll Never Know, Dear: A Novel of Suspense

HALLIE EPHRON · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An addictive novel of psychological suspense from the award-winning author of Night Night, Sleep Tight, about three generations of women haunted by a little girl's disappearance, and the porcelain doll that may hold the key to the truth . . .Seven-year-old Lissie Woodham and her four-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feral

James Demonaco · Blumhouse Books/Anchor
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From James DeMonaco, the writer/director of The Purge film franchise, comes the provocative and terrifying last stand of a lone outpost of women in the wake of a deadly pandemic. Allie Hilts was still in high school when a fire at a top-secret research facility released an air-borne pathogen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perennials: A Novel

Mandy Berman · Random House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The quintessential summer read: a sharp, poignant coming-of-age novel about the magic of camp and the enduring power of female friendship, for readers of Stephanie Danler, Anton DiSclafani, Jennifer Close, and Curtis Sittenfeld At what point does childhood end and adulthood begin? Mandy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life After: A Novel

Katie Ganshert · WaterBrook
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

It could have been me. Snow whirls around an elevated train platform in Chicago. A distracted woman boards the train, takes her seat, and moments later a fiery explosion rips through the frigid air, tearing the car apart in a horrific attack on the city's transit system. One life is spared....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unprotected: A Novel

Kelly Sokol · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

A compelling debut novel exploring postpartum depression - for readers of suspenseful women's fiction and fans of Lionel Shriver's We Need to Talk About Kevin.They say motherhood changes you.As a driven advertising executive, Lara James has always put her career before any plans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Other Wednesday

Susan Kietzman · Kensington
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Three women, each facing an empty nest, come together to cheer and challenge one another in this insightful, poignant new novel from acclaimed author Susan Kietzman.For years, Ellie, Alice, and Joan enjoyed a casual friendship while volunteering at their children's Connecticut high school....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Black Veil: A Novel

Jennifer Finney Boylan · Crown
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She's Not ThereOn a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Bridge Across the Ocean

Susan Meissner · Berkley
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Wartime intrigue spans the lives of three women - past and present - in the latest novel from the acclaimed author of Secrets of a Charmed Life. February, 1946. World War Two is over, but the recovery from the most intimate of its horrors has only just begun for Annaliese Lange, a German...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There Your Heart Lies: A Novel

Mary Gordon · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning novelist Mary Gordon, here is a book whose twentieth-century wisdom can help us understand the difficulties we face in the twenty-first: There Your Heart Lies is a deeply moving novel about an American woman's experiences during the Spanish Civil War, the lessons...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Who Was Taken

Charlie Donlea · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Charlie Donlea, one of the most original new voices in suspense, returns with a haunting novel, laden with twists and high tension, about two abducted girls - one who returns, one who doesn't - and the forensics expert searching for answers.Nicole Cutty and Megan McDonald are both high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Salt Houses

Hala Alyan · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Reading Salt Houses is like having your coffee grounds read: cosmic, foreboding and titillating all at once. In this magnificent debut, Alyan's powerful and poetic voice guides us into the dark recesses of history and leads us right up to the present tensions between East & West,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Criminal Defense

William L. Myers Jr. · Thomas & Mercer
Pages: 380
Format: Paperback

Losing the trial of his life could mean losing everything.When a young reporter is found dead and a prominent Philadelphia businessman is accused of her murder, Mick McFarland finds himself involved in the case of his life. The defendant, David Hanson, was Mick's close friend in law school,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miss Burma

CHARMAINE CRAIG · Grove Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A beautiful and poignant story of one family during the most violent and turbulent years of world history, Miss Burma is a powerful novel of love and war, colonialism and ethnicity, and the ties of blood. Miss Burma tells the story of modern-day Burma through the eyes of Benny and Khin,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Lies We Tell

Megan Hart · Montlake Romance
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Everyone knew Alicia Harrison's marriage to Ilya Stern wouldn't last. They'd grown up on a remote stretch of Quarry Street, where there were two houses, two sets of siblings, and eventually, a tangled mess of betrayal, longing, and loss. Tragedy catapulted Allie and Ilya together, but divorce...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where Jasmine Blooms: A Novel

Holly S Warah · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 392
Format: Hardcover

To the Mansours, an Arab American family living in Seattle, love knows no borders. But despite our best efforts, sometimes love - and family - are foreign to us . . .American-born Margaret Mansour wants nothing more than to rekindle the struggling twenty-year marriage to her Palestinian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Listen to the Lambs: A Novel

Daniel Black · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

In Listen to the Lambs by Daniel Black, nothing can convince Lazarus Love III to return to the lifestyle of affluence and social status he once knew. Longing for a freedom of the soul that the world of capitalism cannot provide, Lazarus leaves all that he knows--including his wife and children--to...
Read More check catalog