Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Witches of New York: A Novel

Ami McKay · Harper Perennial
Pages: 560
Format: Paperback

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER"Wonderfully wicked and deliciously dark, The Witches of New York had me totally spellbound. Reminiscent of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Ami McKay has written a book brimming with atmosphere, intrigue, and a cast of mesmerising characters. I loved it."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fast Falls the Night

Julia Keller · Minotaur Books
Pages: 286
Format: Hardcover

Based on a real-life event, Pulitzer Prize-winner Julia Keller's latest Bell Elkins novel Fast Falls the Night takes place in a single 24-hour period, unfurling against the backdrop of a shattering personal revelation that will change Bell's life forever.The first drug overdose comes just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Impossible Views of the World

Lucy Ives · Penguin Press
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

A witty, urbane, and sometimes shocking debut novel, set in a hallowed New York museum, in which a co-worker's disappearance and a mysterious map change a life foreverStella Krakus, a curator at Manhattan's renowned Central Museum of Art, is having the roughest week in approximately ever....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Best Intentions: A Novel

Erika Raskin · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Marti Trailor -- social worker on hold, mother of three, wife of a successful obstetrician, daughter of a Congressman -- is ready to go back to work. She's thrilled when the perfect opportunity falls in her lap. The catch? The job is at her husband's hospital and he seems not to share her enthusiasm....
Read More check catalog
 
 
If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel

LEAH WEISS · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 305
Format: Paperback

"[A] striking debut..." -- BUSTLE "...masterful use of language....Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." -- BOOKLIST , STARRED ReviewHe's gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World of Tomorrow

BRENDAN MATHEWS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

Three brothers caught up in a whirlwind week of love, blackmail, and betrayal culminating in an assassination plot, set in prewar New YorkJune 1939. Francis Dempsey and his shell-shocked brother Michael are on an ocean liner from Ireland bound for their brother Martin's home in New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dogs at the Perimeter: A Novel

MADELEINE THIEN · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 253
Format: Paperback

The second novel by the Man Booker Prize shortlisted author Madeleine Thien is "beautiful, deeply moving, [and] addresses universal questions" (Independent) .Set in Cambodia during the regime of the-Khmer Rouge and in present day Montreal, Dogs at the Perimeter tells the story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secrets of the Tulip Sisters

Susan Mallery · Harlequin Books
Format: Hardcover

Kelly Murphy's life as a tulip farmer is pretty routine - up at dawn, off to work, lather, rinse, repeat. But everything changes one sun-washed summer with two dramatic homecomings: Griffith Burnett - Tulpen Crossing's prodigal son, who's set his sights on Kelly - and Olivia, her beautiful,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hello, Sunshine

LEILA HOWLAND · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A Prep School Girl with a Hollywood DreamBecca Harrington is a reject. After being rebuffed by every college on her list, she needs a fresh start, so she packs up everything and moves to LA, giving herself one year to land an acting gig or kill herself trying. Unfortunately, not everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pretend We Are Lovely: A Novel

Noley Reid · Tin House Books
Pages: 284
Format: Paperback

An absorbing southern saga of family, hunger, and the potentially destructive power of food Consuming and big-hearted, Noley Reid's Pretend We Are Lovely details a summer in the life of the Sobel family in 1980s Blacksburg, Virginia, seven years after the tragic and suspicious death of a son and sibling....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows: A Novel

BALLI KAUR JASWAL · William Morrow
Pages: 298
Format: Hardcover

A lively, sexy, and thought-provoking East-meets-West story about community, friendship, and women's lives at all ages - a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls.Every woman has a secret life . . .Nikki lives in cosmopolitan West London, where she tends bar at the local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Small Hours

JENNIFER KITSES · GRAND CENTRAL PUB
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel--told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day--in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hook's Tale: Being the Account of an Unjustly Villainized Pirate Written by Himself

JOHN PIELMEIER · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A rollicking debut novel from award-winning playwright and screenwriter John Pielmeier reimagines the childhood of the much maligned Captain Hook: his quest for buried treasure, his friendship with Peter Pan, and the story behind the swashbuckling world of Neverland.Long defamed as a vicious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Quiet Child: A Novel

John Burley · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

From the award-winning author of The Absence of Mercy, comes a gripping and darkly psychological novel about family, suspicion, and the price we are willing to pay to protect those we love the most.It's the summer of 1954 and the residents of Cottonwood, California are dying. At the center...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crimes Against a Book Club

Kathy Cooperman · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Best friends Annie and Sarah need cash - fast. Sarah, a beautiful, successful lawyer, wants nothing more than to have a baby. But balancing IVF treatments with a grueling eighty-hour workweek is no walk in the park. Meanwhile, Annie, a Harvard-grad chemist recently transplanted to Southern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vanishing Point

Linda Legters · Lethe Press
Pages: 236
Format: Paperback

Angela Dunnewald s sense of self, of direction, is fraying. She finds herself lost and alone despite a calendar full of society events, charity meetings, shopping dates, and dinners her aloof husband expects her to attend. Her best friend is a vivacious flirt, but Angela only strays when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fake Plastic Love

Kimberley Tait · Flatiron Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"Like The Great Gatsby and Bright Lights, Big City, Kimberley Tait's Fake Plastic Love examines one innocent's unsentimental education with great energy and panache." -- Stewart O'Nan, author of West of SunsetFour millennial bright young things charge into the real world, with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woman No. 17: A Novel

EDAN LEPUCKI · Hogarth
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Edan Lepucki's Woman No. 17 "reads like a Hollywood HIlls film noir." - Seattle Times High in the Hollywood Hills, writer Lady Daniels has decided to take a break from her husband. Left alone with her children, she's going to need a hand taking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Summer: A Novel

MICHELLE GABLE · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestselling Author of A Paris ApartmentThe ocean, the wild roses on the dunes and the stunning Cliff House, perched atop a bluff in Sconset, Nantucket. Inside the faded pages of the Cliff House guest book live the spellbinding stories of its female inhabitants: from Ruby,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Tiny, Useless Hearts

Toni Jordan · Text Publishing Company
Pages: 296
Format: Paperback

'A wonderful, witty treat of a novel: cutting and clever, and yet so very romantic, as though P.G. Wodehouse had satirized life in the suburbs.' - Liane Moriarty'Laugh-out-loud funny, yet with real emotion at its core, this is a sexy-smart rom-com about love and marriage.'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Distance Home

ORLY KONIG · FORGE
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Sixteen years ago, a tragic accident cost Emma Metz her two best friends -- one human and one equine. Now, following her father's death, Emma has reluctantly returned to the Maryland hometown she'd left under a cloud of guilt.Sorting through her father's affairs, Emma uncovers a history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Standard Deviation: A novel

Katherine Heiny · Knopf
Pages: 319
Format: Hardcover

A divinely funny novel from the celebrated author of Single, Carefree, Mellow about the challenges of a good marriage, the delight and heartache of raising children, and the irresistible temptation to wonder about the path not taken. When Graham Cavanaugh divorced his first wife it was to marry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grief Cottage

Gail Godwin · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The haunting tale of a desolate cottage, and the hair-thin junction between this life and the next, from bestselling National Book Award finalist Gail Godwin.After his mother's death, eleven-year-old Marcus is sent to live on a small South Carolina island with his great aunt, a reclusive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wicked Wonders

ELLEN KLAGES · Tachyon Publications
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

The award-winning author of The Green Glass Sea returns with smart and subversive new tales. A rebellious child identifies with wicked Maleficent instead of Sleeping Beauty. Best friends Anna and Corry share one last morning on Earth. A solitary woman inherits a penny arcade haunted by a beautiful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Mad Wheel: A Novel

JOSH MALERMAN · ECCO
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

From the author of the hit literary horror debut Bird Box ("Hitchcockian." - USA Today) comes a chilling novel about a group of musicians conscripted by the US government to track down the source of a strange and debilitating soundThe Danes - the band known as the "Darlings...
Read More check catalog