Back Top Choices | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
The Hit

David Baldacci · Grand Central Publishing; 1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Skilled assassin Will Robie is asked by the U.S. government to track down fellow assassin Jessica Reel, who has gone rogue, but during his pursuit of Reel, Robie realizes that her betrayal may be concealing a larger threat that could impact the whole world.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fade Out Volume 1

Ed Brubaker · Image Comics
Format: Comics

"A fun, fast read that is fully engaging. The multiple story lines and deeply flawed characters will keep the reader invested. Some of the content is for a mature audience, but this should not deter a worthy library purchase. For fans of Brubaker and Phillips, film noir, and Golden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Travels with Charley in Search of America

John Steinbeck · Penguin Books
Format: Paperback

An intimate journey across America, as told by one of its most beloved writers To hear the speech of the real America, to smell the grass and the trees, to see the colors and the light—these were John Steinbeck's goals as he set out, at the age of fifty-eight, to rediscover...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Angel - Season One

WALKING DEAD: SEASON 2 · 20th Century Fox
Format: DVD

HIS TIME HAS COME . . . Now you can own the entire first season of ANGEL. All 22 classic episodes are available for the first time in this exclusive 6-disc collectorÂ's edition. From Â"City of,Â" Â"In the DarkÂ" and Â"I Will Remember...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

Charles Krauthammer · Crown Forum
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From America's preeminent columnist, named by the Financial Times the most influential commentator in the nation, the long-awaited collection of Charles Krauthammer's essential, timeless writings. A brilliant stylist known for an uncompromising honesty that challenges conventional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Beef with Meat: The Healthiest Argument for Eating a Plant-Strong Diet--Plus 140 New Engine 2 Recipes

Rip Esselstyn · Grand Central Life & Style; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

For the millions who are following a plant-based diet, as well as those meat-eaters who are considering it, MY BEEF WITH MEAT is the definitive guide to convincing all that it's truly the best way to eat! New York Times Bestelling author of The Engine 2 Diet and nutrition lecturer Rip Esselstyn,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brush Back

Sara Paretsky · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 459
Format: Hardcover

Chicago's V. I. Warshawski confronts crooked politicians and buried family secrets in the gritty new novel from New York Times-bestselling author Sara Paretsky. No one would accuse V. I. Warshawski of backing down from a fight, but there are a few she'd be happy to avoid. High on that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl at War: A Novel

Sara Novic · Random House
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST , AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE * ALEX AWARD WINNER * LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST * LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTIONFor readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future

Ashlee Vance · Ecco Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller - Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The Wall Street Journal, NPR, Audible and Amazon
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nightingale

Kristin Hannah · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 440
Format: Book

#1 New York Times bestsellerNamed a top five book of the year by AmazonNamed a best book of the year by: Buzzfeed, iTunes, Library Journal, Paste, self. com, The Wall Street Journal, The WeekIn love we find out who we want to be. In war we find out who we are. FRANCE, 1939In the quiet village...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng · Penguin Press HC, 2014.
Pages: 297
Format: Print book

New York Times Bestseller · A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice · Winner of the Alex Award· Winner of the APALA Award for Fiction NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: NPR · San Francisco Chronicle · Entertainment Weekly · The Huffington Post · Buzzfeed ·...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Talk for Real Teachers: Advice for Teachers from Rookies to Veterans: "No Retreat, No Surrender!"

Rafe Esquith · Viking
Format: Hardcover

Wisdom to reenergize teachers of all ages and at all stages, from the New York Times bestselling author of Teach Like Your Hairs on FireIf Rafe Esquiths Teach Like Your Hairs on Fire was food for a teachers mind, Real Talk for Real Teachers feeds the teachers soul. In this inspiring book,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal

Ben Macintyre · Random House Inc
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Master storyteller Ben Macintyre's most ambitious work to date brings to life the twentieth century's greatest spy story.Kim Philby was the greatest spy in history, a brilliant and charming man who rose to head Britain's counterintelligence against the Soviet Union during the height...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel

Nina George · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Monsieur Perdu can prescribe the perfect book for a broken heart. But can he fix his own? Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book...
Read More check catalog