Back Top Choices | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
Study in sable : an elemental masters novel.

Mercedes Lackey · DAW Books
Pages: 313
Format: Print book

Psychic Nan Killian and Medium Sarah Lyon-White - along with their clever birds, the raven Neville and the parrot Grey - have been agents of Lord Alderscroft, the Elemental Fire Master known as the Wizard of London, since leaving school. Now, Lord Alderscroft assigns them another commission:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Olives, Lemons & Za'atar: The Best Middle Eastern Home Cooking

Rawia Bishara · Natl Book Network
Pages: 223
Format: Hardcover

Rawia, in Arabic, means storyteller. And that is what I am. I tell the stories of my life's journey, culture, and family through my cooking. A delicious meal is the greatest companion to the memories we cherish most. I was born into a food-loving Palestinian-Arab family in Nazareth,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Venice and Other Essays

Donna Leon · Atlantic Monthly Press; First Edition first Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Donna Leon has won a huge number of passionate fans and a tremendous amount of critical acclaim for her international bestselling mystery series featuring Venetian Commissario Guido Brunetti. These accolades have built up not just for her intricate plots and gripping narratives, but for her insight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Forks Over Knives Plan: How to Transition to the Life-Saving, Whole-Food, Plant-Based Diet

Marah Stets · Touchstone
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

The latest in the bestselling Forks Over Knives franchise - a 28-day guide to transitioning to a delicious whole-foods, plant-based diet.The trailblazing film Forks Over Knives helped spark a medical and nutritional revolution. Backed by scientific research, the film's doctors and expert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadow Woman: A Novel

Linda Howard · Ballantine Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom Linda Howard comes a thrilling and sensual new novel of romance, suspense, intrigue . . . and memories that can kill. SHADOW WOMAN Lizette Henry wakes up one morning and makes a terrifying discovery: She doesn't recognize the face she sees in the mirror....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smoke & Spice: Cooking With Smoke, the Real Way to Barbecue

Cheryl Alters Jamison · Harvard Common Press; 3 Rev Upd edition
Format: Paperback

Cheryl and Bill Jamison's path-breaking Smoke and Spice was the first, and remains by far the best-selling, book on real barbecue--slow-cooking over smoke--for home cooks. This new and expanded edition appears on the twentieth anniversary of the classic book's first edition. It has two key features....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Silverball

Barenaked Ladies · Vanguard
Format: Audio CD

This follow-up to 2013's Grinning Streak finds Barenaked Ladies again delivering a batch of whip-smart pop-rock gems with indelible melodies.
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives

Martin Ganda · Little
Pages: 392
Format: Print book

"The true story of an all-American girl and a boy from"" Zimbabwe and the letter that changed both of their lives forever. " It started as an assignment. Everyone in Caitlin's class wrote to an unknown student somewhere in a distant place. Martin was lucky to even receive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
1100 Words You Need to Know

Murray Bromberg · Barron's Educational Series; 6 edition
Format: Paperback

A Barron's best-seller for more than four decades, the brand-new sixth edition of 1100 Words You Need to Know has been expanded and updated with more-- Word lists and definitions Analogy exercises Words-in-context exercises All new words for students to learn are placed in the context...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel Brown · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revival: A Novel

Stephen King · Scribner
Pages: 405
Format: Hardcover

A dark and electrifying novel about addiction, fanaticism, and what might exist on the other side of life.In a small New England town, over half a century ago, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister. Charles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dream with Little Angels

Michael Hiebert · Kensington House Pub Ltd; First Edition edition
Format: Paperback

Michael Hiebert's remarkable debut novel tells the riveting story of a small southern town haunted by tragedy, one brave woman's struggle to put a troubling mystery to rest--and its impact on the sensitive boy who comes of age in the midst of it all. . . Abe Teal wasn't even...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pirate

Clive Cussler · Putnam
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The outstanding new Sam and Remi Fargo adventure from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author. An 800-year-old treasure . . . an ancient cypher wheel . . . a brutal murder . . . and a man who will stop at nothing to claim what he considers rightfully his. Husband-and-wife treasure-hunting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Case of the Love Commandos: From the Files of Vish Puri, India's Most Private Investigator

Tarquin Hall · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

IN THIS CONTEMPORARY ROMEO AND JULIET STORY SET WITHIN INDIA’S CASTESYSTEM, PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR VISH PURI BECOMES EMBROILED IN A HIGH-STAKES MYSTERY INVOLVING ONE OF INDIA’S MOST CONTROVERSIAL COMMODITIES: LOVE. Critics hailed The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken, the last...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Deformation: The Corruption of Capitalism in America

David A. Stockman · PublicAffairs; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller The Great Deformation is a searing look at Washingtons craven response to the recent myriad of financial crises and fiscal cliffs. It counters conventional wisdom with an eighty-year revisionist history of how the American stateespecially the Federal Reservehas...
Read More check catalog