Back Ages 9-12 | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Sword Of Summer

Rick Riordan - Thorndike Press; Lrg edition
Format: Large print book

The first book in the incredible new series from the author of Percy Jackson, the Kane Chronicles and Heroes of Olympus. My name is Magnus Chase. I'm orphaned and living rough on the streets of Boston. And things are about to get much worse. My day started out normally enough. I was sleeping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race

Chris Grabenstein - Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein is back with the third fantastically fun, puzzle-packed MR. LEMONCELLO adventure! On your marks. Get set. Lemon, cello, GO! Everyone's favorite game maker, Mr. Lemoncello, is testing out his new FABULOUS FACT-FINDING FRENZY...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Other Words for Home

Jasmine Warga - Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardcover

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Kids on Earth

Max Brallier - Viking Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times and USA Today bestselling series, with one million copies in print!"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy Kid Ever since the monster...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wondrous Rex

Patricia MacLachlan - Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardcover

Newbery Medal-winning author Patricia MacLachlan has written a magical and funny tale about the joy found in using words, sharing stories, and loving a wondrous dog: Rex.Grace's aunt is a writer. She works with words every day and teaches Grace interesting words like "melancholy"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isaiah Dunn is My Hero

Kelly J. Baptist - Crown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson. Isaiah is now the big man of the house....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Natural Environment of the Southwest

Blaine Wiseman - Av2 by Weigl
Format: Book

U.S. Regions: Natural Environment The Southwest explores this region, its major landmarks, biomes, ecosystems, and animals. This book gives the reader an exciting glimpse into the main characteristics of this United States region. An activity and quiz complete this title.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Junk Boy

Tony Abbott - Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's YA novel-in-verse is an unflinching and heartbreaking look at a boy's junk-filled life, and the ways he finds redemption and hope, perfect for fans of The Crossover and Long Way Down.Junk. That's what the kids at school call Bobby Lang, mostly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Final Frankenstein

Thomas Kingsley Troupe
Format: Hardcover(Library Binding)

A moon shines indoors, bats fly through the stacks, and a wolf howls in the distance. That's unexpected-even for the Nightingale Library. A parade of zombie monks is marching through, and they're eating books. The only hope? Mary Shelley and Ben Franklin. Between Mary's monster of books...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 21

Mizuho Kusanagi - VIZ Media LLC
Format: Paperback

A red-haired princess loses her family and her kingdom ... Now she must rise and fight for her throne!Princess Yona lives an ideal life as the only princess of her kingdom. Doted on by her father, the king, and protected by her faithful guard Hak, she cherishes the time spent with the man she loves,...
Read More check catalog