Back History | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Ivory Vikings: The Mystery of the Most Famous Chessmen in the World and the Woman Who Made Them

Nancy Marie Brown - St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

In the early 1800's, on a Hebridean beach in Scotland, the sea exposed an ancient treasure cache: 93 chessmen carved from walrus ivory. Norse netsuke, each face individual, each full of quirks, the Lewis Chessmen are probably the most famous chess pieces in the world. Harry played Wizard's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story

Nikole Hannah-Jones - One World
Format: Hardcover

In late August 1619, a ship arrived in the British colony of Virginia bearing a cargo of twenty to thirty enslaved people from Africa. Their arrival led to the barbaric and unprecedented system of American chattel slavery that would last for the next 250 years. This is sometimes referred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Constitution: An Introduction

Michael Stokes Paulsen - Basic Books
Format: Hardcover

From war powers to health care, freedom of speech to gun ownership, religious liberty to abortion, practically every aspect of American life is shaped by the Constitution. This vital document, along with its history of political and judicial interpretation, governs our individual lives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X

Les Payne - Liveright
Format: Hardcover

An epic biography of Malcolm X finally emerges, drawing on hundreds of hours of the author's interviews, rewriting much of the known narrative. Beginning in 1990 on a quest that would consume him for the rest of his life, the Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalist Les Payne...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inge's War: A German Woman's Story of Family, Secrets, and Survival Under Hitler

Svenja O'Donnell - Viking
Format: Hardcover

The mesmerizing account of a granddaughter's search for a World War II family history hidden for sixty yearsGrowing up in Paris as the daughter of a German mother and an Irish father, Svenja O'Donnell knew little of her family's German past. All she knew was that her great-grandparents,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

David McCullough - Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story - the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based on ideals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Resistance: My Four Years in the French Underground: A Memoir

Justus Rosenberg - William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable World War II memoir set in Nazi-occupied France and filled with romance and adventure: a former Eastern European Jew remembers his flight from the Holocaust and his extraordinary four years in the French underground. Justus Rosenberg, now 98, has taught literature at Bard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Code: Silicon Valley and the Remaking of America

Margaret O'Mara - Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

The true, behind-the-scenes history of the people who built Silicon Valley and shaped Big Tech in America Long before Margaret O'Mara became one of our most consequential historians of the American-led digital revolution, she worked in the White House of Bill Clinton and Al Gore in the earliest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost City of the Monkey God: A True Story

Douglas Preston - Grand Central Publishing
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller! A five-hundred-year-old legend. An ancient curse. A stunning medical mystery. And a pioneering journey into the unknown heart of the world's densest jungle.Since the days of conquistador Hernn Corts, rumors have circulated about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith - Random House
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British...
Read More check catalog