Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
Assassin's Fate: Book III of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy

Robin Hobb - Del Rey
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The stunning conclusion to Robin Hobb's Fitz and the Fool trilogy, which began with Fool's Assassin and Fool's Quest"Every new Robin Hobb novel is a cause for celebration. Along with millions of her other fans, I delight in every visit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Head On

John Scalzi - Tor Books
Format: Hardcover

"As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of a Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Canell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty -- most of them in someone else's body." -- USA TodayJohn Scalzi returns with Head...
Read More check catalog
 
 
From Unseen Fire

Cass Morris - DAW
Format: Hardcover

From Unseen Fire is the first novel in the Aven Cycle, a historical fantasy set in an alternate Rome, by debut author Cass Morris. The Dictator is dead; long live the Republic. But whose Republic will it be? Senators, generals, and elemental mages vie for the power to shape...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Curse of Jacob Tracy: A Novel

Holly Messinger - Thomas Dunne Books
Format: Print book

St. Louis in 1880 is full of ghosts -- mangled soldiers, tortured slaves, the innocent victims of war -- and Jacob Tracy can see them all. Ever since Antietam, when he lay delirious among the dead and dying, Trace has been haunted by the country's restless spirits. The curse cost him his family,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rage of Dragons

Evan Winter - Orbit
Format: Hardcover

Game of Thrones meets Gladiator in this debut epic fantasy about a world caught in an eternal war, and the young man who will become his people's only hope for survival.The Omehi people have been fighting an unwinnable fight for almost two hundred years. Their society has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Illegal: A Novel

Lawrence Hill - W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Print book

Internationally best-selling author Lawrence Hill returns with an extraordinary, resonant novel about a man on the run.Lawrence Hill spellbound readers with Someone Knows My Name (made into the television mini-series, The Book of Negroes) , hailed as "transporting" (Entertainment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Luster of Lost Things

Sophie Chen Keller - G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Paperback

In this story for readers of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and A Man Called Ove, when all seems lost, he finds what matters most.Walter Lavender Jr. is a master of finding. A wearer of high-tops. A maker of croissants. A son keeping vigil, twelve years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witches of St. Petersburg: A Novel

Imogen Edwards-Jones - Harper Paperbacks
Format: Paperback

Inspired by real characters, this transporting historical fiction debut spins the fascinating story of two princesses in the Romanov court who practiced black magic, befriended the Tsarina, and invited Rasputin into their lives - forever changing the course of Russian history.As daughters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tiny Nightmares: Very Short Stories of Horror

Lincoln Michel - Black Balloon Publishing
Format: Paperback

In this playful, spine-tingling collection, leading literary and horror writers spin unforgettably chilling tales in only a few pages. Tiny Nightmares brings to life broken-hearted vampires, Uber-taking serial killers, mind-reading witches, and monsters of all imaging, as well as stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bone Music

Afdeling bestuursrechtspraak van de Raad van State. - Thomas & Mercer
Format: Hardcover

There's more than one way to stoke the flames of revenge ... Charlotte Rowe spent the first seven years of her life in the hands of the only parents she knew - a pair of serial killers who murdered her mother and tried to shape Charlotte in their own twisted image. If only the nightmare...
Read More check catalog