Back Outdoors & Nature | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Cesar Millan's Lessons From the Pack: Ten Inspiring Ways Dogs Enrich Our Lives

Cesar Millan · National Geographic
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In this inspiring book, best-selling author and "Dog Whisperer" Cesar Millan uses decades of experience to reveal the many ways that dogs and people can enrich each other's lives, sharing eight essential life lessons imparted by a group of very special dogs he's trained over the years....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Complete Dog Book: Official Breed Standards and Profiles for over 200 Breeds

AMERICAN KENNEL CLUB. · LUMINA MEDIA
Pages: 920
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Horse Vet - Chronicles of a Mobile Veterinarian

Courtney S. Diehl · BookCrafters
Format: Book

Gunshot injuries. Breeding disasters. Controlling trainers, nutty horse owners, warm hearted clients and "laugh-out-loud-funny stories that you just can't make up"- Dr. Courtney deals with it all in this lively series of tales about the life of a mobile vet in the Colorado...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trainable cat : a practical guide to making life happier for you and your cat

John Bradshaw · Basic Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Dog owners know that dogs can be trained, but the idea of training rarely crosses cat owners' minds. But as bestselling anthrozoologist John Bradshaw and cat expert Sarah Ellis show, not only can cats be trained, but they absolutely should be to ensure a happy and healthy relationship between...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Talking to Animals: How You Can Understand Animals and They Can Understand You

Jon Katz · Atria Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

There are so many benefits to learning how to communicate with animals. Love, trust, a spiritual connection that goes to the heart of the human-animal bond. Every time I listen to them, I learn about myself.We seem to need animals in our disconnected lives more and more, yet we understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage and Survival in WWII

Robert Weintraub · Little
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

The extraordinary tale of survival and friendship between a man and a dog in war Flight technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer, met in the most unlikely of places: a World War II internment camp in the Pacific. Judy was a fiercely loyal dog, with a keen sense for who was friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Craig & Fred: A Marine, A Stray Dog, and How They Rescued Each Other

CRAIG GROSSI · William Morrow
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The uplifting and unforgettable true story of a US Marine, the stray dog he met on an Afghan battlefield, and how they saved each other and now travel America together, "spreading the message of stubborn positivity."In 2010, Sergeant Craig Grossi was doing intelligence work for Marine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear County Agent Guy: Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer

Jerry Nelson · Workman, 2016.
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

"Jerry Nelson's column comes from the true heart of the Midwest. He has the true voice, the slow twang. He knows wheat from barley. He knows hardware, he knows vegetation, he knows people." - Garrison Keillor In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rightful Heritage: Franklin D. Roosevelt and the Land of America

Douglas Brinkley · Harper
Pages: 752
Format: Print book

The acclaimed, award-winning historian - "America's new past master" (Chicago Tribune) - examines the environmental legacy of FDR and the New Deal.Douglas Brinkley's The Wilderness Warrior celebrated Theodore Roosevelt's spirit of outdoor exploration and bold vision to protect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cure for Catastrophe: How We Can Stop Manufacturing Natural Disasters

Robert Muir-Wood · Basic Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Year after year, floods wreck people's homes and livelihoods, earthquakes tear communities apart, and tornadoes uproot whole towns. Natural disasters cause destruction and despair. But does it have to be this way?In The Cure for Catastrophe, global risk expert Robert Muir-Wood argues that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Muir : Nature Writings: The Story of My Boyhood and Youth; My First Summer in the Sierra; The Mountains of California; Stickeen; Essays

John Muir · Library of America
Format: Hardcover

In a lifetime of exploration, writing, and passionate political activism, John Muir became America's most eloquent spokesman for the mystery and majesty of the wilderness. A crucial figure in the creation of our national parks system and a far-seeing prophet of environmental awareness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lambs: My Father, a Farm, and the Gift of a Flock of Sheep

Carole Shelbourn George · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"An enchanting book -- please read." -- Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE; Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute & UN Messenger of PeaceIn this touching memoir about the relationship between father, daughter, and animals, Carole explores life after adopting thirteen pet Karakul lambs....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sanctuary of Trees: Beechnuts, Birdsongs, Baseball Bats, and Benedictions

Gene Logsdon · Chelsea Green Publishing
Format: Paperback

As author Gene Logsdon puts it, "We are all tree huggers." But not just for sentimental or even environmental reasons. Humans have always depended on trees for our food, shelter, livelihood, and safety. In many ways, despite the Grimm's fairy-tale version of the dark, menacing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shake

Carli Davidson · Harper Design
Format: Hardcover

Original, amusing, and brilliantly documented, Shake is a heartwarming collection of sixty-one beguiling dogs caught in the most candid of moments: mid-shake. This glorious, graphic volume will stop you dead in your tracks as you are presented with images of man's best friend caught...
Read More check catalog