Back Outdoors & Nature | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

BRITT COLLINS · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Open Season: True Stories of the Maine Warden Service

Daren Worcester · Down East Books
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback

Before reality TV, GPS devices, and dashboard computers, there was a coming of age for the Maine Warden Service. It was a time when a compass, map, and one's wits were what mattered most in the field. Every day offered the potential for an exciting new adventure, many of which endangered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret Language of Cats

Susanne Sch tz · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Have you ever wondered what your cat is saying? Cats do not meow randomly, nor do they growl or hiss because they have nothing better to do. Cat sounds have a purpose, and they can carry important messages, whether for us or other cats.Susanne Schštz is hard at work on breaking the cat code....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trainable cat : a practical guide to making life happier for you and your cat

John Bradshaw · Basic Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Dog owners know that dogs can be trained, but the idea of training rarely crosses cat owners' minds. But as bestselling anthrozoologist John Bradshaw and cat expert Sarah Ellis show, not only can cats be trained, but they absolutely should be to ensure a happy and healthy relationship between...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rightful Heritage: Franklin D. Roosevelt and the Land of America

Douglas Brinkley · Harper
Pages: 752
Format: Print book

The acclaimed, award-winning historian - "America's new past master" (Chicago Tribune) - examines the environmental legacy of FDR and the New Deal.Douglas Brinkley's The Wilderness Warrior celebrated Theodore Roosevelt's spirit of outdoor exploration and bold vision to protect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let Dogs Be Dogs: Understanding Canine Nature and Mastering the Art of Living with Your Dog

MONKS OF NEW SKETE · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

America's foremost authorities on dog care and training distill decades of experience in a comprehensive "foundational" guide for dog owners.No matter what training method or techniques you use with your dog, the training is unlikely to be optimally successful unless it is predicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Animals Among Us: How Pets Make Us Human

John Bradshaw · Basic Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Dog Sense and Cat Sense explains why living with animals has always been a fundamental aspect of being human Pets have never been more popular. Over half of American households share their home with either a cat or a dog, and many contain both. This is a huge change...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Craig & Fred: A Marine, A Stray Dog, and How They Rescued Each Other

CRAIG GROSSI · William Morrow
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The uplifting and unforgettable true story of a US Marine, the stray dog he met on an Afghan battlefield, and how they saved each other and now travel America together, "spreading the message of stubborn positivity."In 2010, Sergeant Craig Grossi was doing intelligence work for Marine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Complete Dog Book: Official Breed Standards and Profiles for over 200 Breeds

AMERICAN KENNEL CLUB. · LUMINA MEDIA
Pages: 920
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dog Gone: A Lost Pet's Extraordinary Journey and the Family Who Brought Him Home

Pauls Toutonghi · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The true story of a lost dog's journey and a family's furious search to find him before it is too late. Saturday, October 10, 1998. Fielding Marshall is hiking on the Appalachian Trail. His beloved dog - a six-year-old golden retriever mix named Gonker - bolts into the woods. Just like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wildlife Photography: Proven Techniques for Capturing Stunning Digital Images

Jack Ballard · Falcon Guides
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Viewing wildlife in action is always a pleasure-capturing that action with your camera is one of the most rewarding and challenging ways to become even closer to Nature. Birders, hikers, national-park visitors, and international travelers are all discovering the joys of wildlife photography....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forest Bathing Retreat: Find Wholeness in the Company of Trees

HANNAH FRIES · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

People have been retreating to the woods for quiet, meditation, and inspiration for centuries, and recent research finds that time spent in the forest doesn't just feel good but is, in fact, good for you. Inspired by the Japanese concept of shinrin-yoku, or forest bathing, poet Hannah...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love, Animals, and Miracles: Inspiring True Stories Celebrating the Healing Bond

Cynthia Hurn · New World Library
Format: Hardcover

Dr. Bernie Siegel has long observed how relationships with animals have helped his patients, alleviating their suffering and heartbreak. Now, he's gathered many inspiring true stories, including delightful tales from the "Siegel Family Zoo" where "squawks, purrs, chirrups,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ruthless Tide: The Tragic Epic of the Johnstown Flood

AL ROKER · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A gripping narrative history of the 1889 Johnstown Flood - the deadliest flood in US history - from New York Times bestselling author, NBC Host, and legendary weather authority Al Roker.May 1889: After a deluge of rainfall - nearly a foot in less than twenty-four hours - swelled the Little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage and Survival in WWII

Robert Weintraub · Little
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

"A canine version of Unbroken."--Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air with Terry Gross NO BETTER FRIEND tells the story of Air Force technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer, who met in WWII and were POWs in a camp in the Pacific. Judy was loyal, with a keen sense for who was friend...
Read More check catalog