Back Outdoors & Nature | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
John Muir : Nature Writings: The Story of My Boyhood and Youth; My First Summer in the Sierra; The Mountains of California; Stickeen; Essays

John Muir · Library of America
Format: Hardcover

In a lifetime of exploration, writing, and passionate political activism, John Muir became America's most eloquent spokesman for the mystery and majesty of the wilderness. A crucial figure in the creation of our national parks system and a far-seeing prophet of environmental awareness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage and Survival in WWII

Robert Weintraub · Little
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

The extraordinary tale of survival and friendship between a man and a dog in war Flight technician Frank Williams and Judy, a purebred pointer, met in the most unlikely of places: a World War II internment camp in the Pacific. Judy was a fiercely loyal dog, with a keen sense for who was friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dog Gone: A Lost Pet's Extraordinary Journey and the Family Who Brought Him Home

Pauls Toutonghi · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The true story of a lost dog's journey and a family's furious search to find him before it is too late. Saturday, October 10, 1998. Fielding Marshall is hiking on the Appalachian Trail. His beloved dog - a six-year-old golden retriever mix named Gonker - bolts into the woods. Just like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cure for Catastrophe: How We Can Stop Manufacturing Natural Disasters

Robert Muir-Wood · Basic Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Year after year, floods wreck people's homes and livelihoods, earthquakes tear communities apart, and tornadoes uproot whole towns. Natural disasters cause destruction and despair. But does it have to be this way?In The Cure for Catastrophe, global risk expert Robert Muir-Wood argues that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Animals Among Us: How Pets Make Us Human

John Bradshaw · Basic Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Dog Sense and Cat Sense explains why living with animals has always been a fundamental aspect of being human Pets have never been more popular. Over half of American households share their home with either a cat or a dog, and many contain both. This is a huge change...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Giant Book of Dog Names

Laurie Bogart Morrow · Gallery Books; Original edition
Format: Paperback

THE BOOK THAT TAKES YOU BEYOND REX AND FIDO! Everywhere you turn, you’ll find another baby name book. But do you really want to call your dog Emma or Ethan? If you’re a dog lover, you know that naming your dog should be truly meaningful and memorable. With over 5,000 names to choose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Field Guide to the Birds of Eastern North America

Jon L Dunn · National Geographic
Pages: 431
Format: Print book

New enthusiasts are flocking in record numbers to the fascinating pastime of birding. National Geographic has been meeting their need for clear and accurate information for 25 years with our million-selling Field Guide to the Birds of North America. Now, to better serve the expanding market,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Sanctuary of Trees: Beechnuts, Birdsongs, Baseball Bats, and Benedictions

Gene Logsdon · Chelsea Green Publishing
Format: Paperback

As author Gene Logsdon puts it, "We are all tree huggers." But not just for sentimental or even environmental reasons. Humans have always depended on trees for our food, shelter, livelihood, and safety. In many ways, despite the Grimm's fairy-tale version of the dark, menacing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being in the Shadow: Stories of the First-Time Total Eclipse Experience

Kate Russo · Being in the Shadow
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
Craig & Fred: A Marine, A Stray Dog, and How They Rescued Each Other

CRAIG GROSSI · William Morrow
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The uplifting and unforgettable true story of a US Marine, the stray dog he met on an Afghan battlefield, and how they saved each other and now travel America together, "spreading the message of stubborn positivity."In 2010, Sergeant Craig Grossi was doing intelligence work for Marine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Talking to Animals: How You Can Understand Animals and They Can Understand You

Jon Katz · Atria Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

There are so many benefits to learning how to communicate with animals. Love, trust, a spiritual connection that goes to the heart of the human-animal bond. Every time I listen to them, I learn about myself.We seem to need animals in our disconnected lives more and more, yet we understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Lost Brothers: The Untold Story by the Yarnell Hill Fire's Lone Survivor

Brendan McDonough · Hachette Books
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

A gripping first-person account by the sole survivor of Arizona's disastrous 2013 Yarnell Hill Fire, which took the lives of 19 "hotshots"--firefighters trained specifically to battle wildfires. Brendan McDonough was on the verge of becoming a hopeless, inveterate heroin addict...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear County Agent Guy: Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer

Jerry Nelson · Workman, 2016.
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

"Jerry Nelson's column comes from the true heart of the Midwest. He has the true voice, the slow twang. He knows wheat from barley. He knows hardware, he knows vegetation, he knows people." - Garrison Keillor In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar: Evolution's Most Unbelievable Solutions to Life's Biggest Problems

Matt Simon · Penguin Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

"A bizarre collection of evolution tales . . . the weirder, the better." - Entertainment WeeklyA fascinating exploration of the awe-inspiring, weird, and unsettling ingenuity of evolutionOn a barren seafloor, the pearlfish swims into the safety of a sea cucumber's anus. To find...
Read More check catalog