Back History | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mayflower: The Families, the Voyage, and the Founding of America

Rebecca Fraser · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed historian and biographer Rebecca Fraser comes a vivid narrative history of the Mayflower and of the Winslow family, who traveled to America in search of a new world.The voyage of the Mayflower and the founding of Plymouth Colony is one of the seminal events in world history....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trials of the Earth The True Story of a Pioneer Woman.

Hamilton Mary Mann. · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 318
Format: Hardcover

The astonishing first-person account of Mississippi pioneer woman struggling to survive, protect her family and make a home in the early American SouthNear the end of her life, Mary Mann Hamilton (1866 - c.1936) began recording her experiences in the backwoods of the Mississippi Delta....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kentucky Obituaries, 1787-1854

G Glenn Clift · Genealogical Pub. Co.
Pages: 254
Format: Print book

These 5,000 obituary notices were extracted from six early Kentucky newspapers and published, in installments, in The Register of the Kentucky History Society. Most entries give the name of the deceased, place of residence, name(s) of wife or husband, parents or other survivors, date...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Mississippi Ran Backwards : Empire, Intrigue, Murder, and the New Madrid Earthquakes

Jay Feldman · Free Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The shocks that devastated the Mississippi River town of New Madrid, Mo., and environs in the winter of 1812 were among the strongest earthquakes in America's history. But in human terms they were fairly inconsequential (about 100 people died in the lightly populated area), hence the resort...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kick Kennedy: The Charmed Life and Tragic Death of the Favorite Kennedy Daughter

Barbara Leaming · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Kathleen "Kick" Kennedy was the incandescent life-force of the fabled Kennedy family, her father's acknowledged "favorite of all the children" and her brother Jack's "psychological twin." She was the Kennedy of Kennedys, sure of her privilege, magnetically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jefferson's Daughters: Three Sisters, White and Black, in a Young America

CATHERINE KERRISON · Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Thomas Jefferson fathered three girls: two white and free, one black and a slave. This book about Martha, Maria, and Harriet tells the fascinating story of their very different lives at Monticello and beyond, as daughters of one of our most brilliant and complicated Founding Fathers.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lords of Apacheria Mickey Free, the Hunt for Geronimo and the Apache Kid, and the Longest War in American History.

Hutton Paul Andrew · Crown Pub
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Empire of the Summer Moon, a stunningly vivid historical account of the manhunt for Geronimo and the 25-year Apache struggle for their homeland They called him Mickey Free. His kidnapping started the longest war in American history, and both sides--the Apaches and the white...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enduring Vietnam: An American Generation and Its War

James Wright · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

The Vietnam War is largely recalled as a mistake, either in the decision to engage there or in the nature of the engagement. Or both. Veterans of the war remain largely anonymous figures, accomplices in the mistake. Critically recounting the steps that led to the war, this book does not excuse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Modern Weapons Compared and Contrasted: Tanks Aircraft Small Arms Ships Artillery

Martin J Dougherty · Chartwell Books
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

After the end of the Cold War, there was decade or so while military spending was cut, but since the new millennium budgets have grown and new weapons technology is reaching the front line. Modern Weapons allows the reader to compare the key weapons of modern armies side by side. The large...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Great City Maps

Dk. · Dk Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A beautifully illustrated history of the world's most celebrated historical city maps, from the hubs of ancient civilization to sprawling modern mega-cities, created in association with the Smithsonian Institution.Great City Maps explores and explains 30 of the world's greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Survivor Café: The Legacy of Trauma and the Labyrinth of Memory

ELIZABETH ROSNER · Counterpoint
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Survivor Café takes on important issues of atrocity, trauma, and memory, rendering them all with such great clarity and intimacy that the reader will not soon forget them, or this powerful book." -- Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer As firsthand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prehistoric and Early Historic Archaeology of Wyandotte Cave and Other Caves in Southern Indiana

Patrick J Munson · Indiana Historical Society
Pages: 101
Format: Paperback

Prehistoric and Early Historic Archaeology of Wyandotte Cave and Other Caves in Southern Indiana
Read More check catalog
 
 
Victoria: The Queen: An Intimate Biography of the Woman Who Ruled an Empire

Julia Baird · Random House
Pages: 696
Format: Print book

This page-turning biography reveals the real woman behind the myth: a bold, glamorous, unbreakable queen - a Victoria for our times. Drawing on previously unpublished papers, this stunning new portrait is a story of love and heartbreak, of devotion and grief, of strength and resilience."Victoria...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Year of War: Two Brothers, Vietnam, and a Nation Divided

DANIEL BOLGER · Da Capo Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The gritty and engaging story of two brothers--Chuck and Tom Hagel--who went to war in Vietnam, fought in the same unit, and saved each other's life. One supported the war, the other detested it, but they fought it together.1968. America was divided. Flag-draped caskets came home by the thousands....
Read More check catalog