Back History | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Twenty-Six Seconds: A Personal History of the Zapruder Film

Alexandra Zapruder · Twelve
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The moving, untold family story behind Abraham Zapruder's film footage of the Kennedy assassination and its lasting impact on our world. Abraham Zapruder didn't know when he began filming President Kennedy's motorcade on November 22, 1963 that his home movie would change not only his family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom: Ethan Allen's Green Mountain Boys and the American Revolution

Christopher S Wren · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The story of Ethan Allen and the much-loved Green Mountain Boys of Vermont and their role in the American Revolution - the myth and the reality. A rare look at a corner of the Revolutionary War.In Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom, Wren overturns the myth of Ethan Allen as a legendary hero...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vietnam War: An Intimate History

Geoffrey C Ward · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 640

From the award-winning historian and filmmakers of The Civil War, Baseball, The War, The Roosevelts, and others: a vivid, uniquely powerful history of the conflict that tore America apart--the companion volume to the major, multipart PBS film to be aired in September 2017. More than forty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Castle: The Epic Story of Love, Loss, and American Royalty in the Nation's Largest Home

Denise Kiernan · Touchstone
Pages: 388
Format: NOOK BookNot for Online (eBook - Not for Online)

New York Times Bestseller "A soaring and gorgeous American story" (Karen Abbott) from the author of the New York Times bestselling The Girls of Atomic City. The fascinating true story behind the magnificent Gilded Age mansion Biltmore - the largest, grandest residence ever...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mayflower: The Families, the Voyage, and the Founding of America

Rebecca Fraser · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed historian and biographer Rebecca Fraser comes a vivid narrative history of the Mayflower and of the Winslow family, who traveled to America in search of a new world.The voyage of the Mayflower and the founding of Plymouth Colony is one of the seminal events in world history....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lords of Apacheria Mickey Free, the Hunt for Geronimo and the Apache Kid, and the Longest War in American History.

Hutton Paul Andrew · Crown Pub
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Empire of the Summer Moon, a stunningly vivid historical account of the manhunt for Geronimo and the 25-year Apache struggle for their homeland They called him Mickey Free. His kidnapping started the longest war in American history, and both sides--the Apaches and the white...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invisibles: The Untold Story of African American Slaves in the White House

Jesse Holland · LP
Pages: 225
Format: Print book

THE INVISIBLES: Slavery Inside The White House and How It Helped Shape America is the first book to tell the story of the executive mansion's most unexpected residents, the African American slaves who lived with the U.S. presidents who owned them. Interest in African Americans and the White...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amish Mennonites in Germany: Their Congregations, the Estates Where They Lived, Their Families

Hermann Guth · Masthof Press
Pages: 380
Format: Hardcover

Check out masthof.com for other great books like this one! This collection of data on the Amish Mennonites in Germany is a massive array of details accumulated from European archives and other sources to assemble a unique portrait of families which populated the 18th- and 19th-century Amish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cattle Kingdom: The Hidden History of the Cowboy West

Christopher Knowlton · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

A revolutionary new appraisal of the Old West and the America it made The open range cattle era lasted barely a quarter-century, but it left America irrevocably changed. These few decades following the Civil War brought America its greatest boom-and-bust cycle until the Depression, the invention...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No More Champagne: Churchill and His Money

David Lough · Picador USA
Pages: 544
Format: eBook

"Meticulously researched by a senior private banker now turned historian, No More Champagne reveals for the first time the full extent of the iconic British war leader's private struggle to maintain a way of life instilled by his upbringing and expected of his public position....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Consequence: A Memoir

Eric Fair · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A man questions everything--his faith, his morality, his country--as he recounts his experience as an interrogator in Iraq; an unprecedented memoir and "an act of incredible bravery" (Phil Klay) "Remarkable... Both an agonized confession and a chilling expose of one of the darkest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
These Truths: A History of the United States

JILL LEPORE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 960
Format: Hardcover

In the most ambitious one-volume American history in decades, award-winning historian Jill Lepore offers a magisterial account of the origins and rise of a divided nation. The American experiment rests on three ideas -- "these truths," Jefferson called them -- political equality,...
Read More check catalog