Back History | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Grim Sleeper: The Lost Women of South Central

Christine Pelisek · Counterpoint LLC
Pages: 325
Format: Print book

Christine Pelisek - petite, blonde, Canadian - seems the least likely reporter to have broken the story on the longest running serial killer west of the Mississippi. But in 2008 she did just that with her cover story for LA Weekly, shedding light on a suspected killer of women in South...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bridge at No Gun Ri: A Hidden Nightmare from the Korean War

Charles J. Hanley · Henry Holt and Co.; 1st edition
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The untold human story of a massacre of Korean civilians by American soldiers in the early days of the Korean War, by the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists who uncovered itIn the fall of 1999, a team of Associated Press investigative reporters broke the news that U.S. troops had massacred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown

Penny Junor · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the first in-depth biography of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall - the infamous other woman who made the marriage of Britain's Prince Charles and Princess Diana "a bit crowded" - esteemed royal biographer Penny Junor tells the unlikely and extraordinary story of the woman reviled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American treasures : the secret efforts to save the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Gettysburg Address

Stephen Puleo · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

On December 26, 1941, Secret Service Agent Harry E. Neal stood on a platform at Washington's Union Station, watching a train chug off into the dark and feeling at once relieved and inexorably anxious. These were dire times: as Hitler's armies plowed across Europe, seizing or destroying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vietnam War : an intimate history

Geoffrey C Ward · Alfred A. Knopf

"A comprehensive look at the Vietnam War"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blindsided by the Taliban: A Journalist's Story of War, Trauma, Love, and Loss

CARMEN GENTILE · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

I turn to see a rocket-propelled grenade screaming toward me. The ordinance strikes me in the side of the head, instantly blinding me in one eye and crushing the right side of my face. On September 9, 2010, while embedded with an Army unit and talking with locals in a small village in eastern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Al Capone's Beer Wars: A Complete History of Organized Crime in Chicago during Prohibition

JOHN J BINDER · Prometheus Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Although much has been written about Al Capone, there has not been--until now--a complete history of organized crime in Chicago during Prohibition. This exhaustively researched book covers the entire period from 1920 to 1933. Author John J. Binder, a recognized authority on the history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Burning of the White House: James and Dolley Madison and the War of 1812

Jane Hampton Cook · Regnery History
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

It's unimaginable today, even for a generation that saw the Twin Towers fall and the Pentagon attacked. It's unimaginable because in 1814 enemies didn't fly overhead, they marched through the streets; and for 26 hours in August, the British enemy marched through Washington, D.C. and set fire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amish Mennonites in Germany: Their Congregations, the Estates Where They Lived, Their Families

Hermann Guth · Masthof Press
Pages: 380
Format: Hardcover

Check out masthof.com for other great books like this one! This collection of data on the Amish Mennonites in Germany is a massive array of details accumulated from European archives and other sources to assemble a unique portrait of families which populated the 18th- and 19th-century Amish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Year of War: Two Brothers, Vietnam, and a Nation Divided

DANIEL BOLGER · Da Capo Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The gritty and engaging story of two brothers--Chuck and Tom Hagel--who went to war in Vietnam, fought in the same unit, and saved each other's life. One supported the war, the other detested it, but they fought it together.1968. America was divided. Flag-draped caskets came home by the thousands....
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Mississippi Ran Backwards : Empire, Intrigue, Murder, and the New Madrid Earthquakes

Jay Feldman · Free Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The shocks that devastated the Mississippi River town of New Madrid, Mo., and environs in the winter of 1812 were among the strongest earthquakes in America's history. But in human terms they were fairly inconsequential (about 100 people died in the lightly populated area), hence the resort...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Accidental President: Harry S. Truman and the Four Months That Changed the World

A J BAIME · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The dramatic, pulse-pounding story of Harry Truman's first four months in office, when this unlikely, small-town former farmer and haberdasher had to take on Germany, Japan, Stalin, and the atomic bomb, with the fate of the world hanging in the balance. Heroes are often defined as ordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Autumn of the Black Snake: The Creation of the U.S. Army and the Conquest That Opened the West

WILLIAM HOGELAND · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The forgotten story of how the U.S. Army was created to fight a crucial Indian warIn 1783, with the signing of the Peace of Paris, the American Revolution was complete. And yet even as the newly independent United States secured peace with Great Britain, it found itself losing an escalating...
Read More check catalog