Back History | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
How Do We Look: The Body, the Divine, and the Question of Civilization

MARY BEARD · Liveright
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From prehistoric Mexico to modern Istanbul, Mary Beard looks beyond the familiar canon of Western imagery to explore the history of art, religion, and humanity. Conceived as a gorgeously illustrated accompaniment to "How Do We Look" and "The Eye of Faith," the famed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prehistoric and Early Historic Archaeology of Wyandotte Cave and Other Caves in Southern Indiana

Patrick J Munson · Indiana Historical Society
Pages: 101
Format: Paperback

Prehistoric and Early Historic Archaeology of Wyandotte Cave and Other Caves in Southern Indiana
Read More check catalog
 
 
World War II at Sea: A Global History

Craig L Symonds · Oxford University Press
Pages: 792
Format: Hardcover

Author of Lincoln and His Admirals (winner of the Lincoln Prize) , The Battle of Midway (Best Book of the Year, Military History Quarterly) , and Operation Neptune (winner of the Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Naval Literature) , Craig L. Symonds ranks among the country's finest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Guide to Natural Areas of Northern Indiana: 125 Unique Places to Explore

Steven Higgs · Indiana University Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Beautiful and pristine, the natural areas of Indiana are perfect for nature lovers with a desire to explore. Featuring more than 140 beautiful color photos, A Guide to Natural Areas of Northern Indiana showcases the region's unique ecosystems and includes descriptions of the flora,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good and Mad: The Revolutionary Power of Women's Anger

REBECCA TRAISTER · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From Rebecca Traister, the New York Times bestselling author of All the Single Ladies - whom Anne Lamott called "the most brilliant voice on feminism in this country" - comes a vital, incisive exploration into the transformative power of female anger and its ability to transcend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Winter Fortress: The Epic Mission to Sabotage Hitler's Atomic Bomb

Neal Bascomb · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 378
Format: Print book

From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of Hunting Eichmann and The Perfect Mile, an epic adventure and spy story about the greatest act of sabotage in all of World War II. It's 1942 and the Nazis are racing to be the first to build a weapon unlike any known before. They...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Palace: Europe's Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House

CROWN. · Crown
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping yet intimate narrative about the last hundred years of turbulent European history, as seen through one of Mitteleuropa's greatest houses - and the lives of its occupants When Norman Eisen moved into the US ambassador's residence in Prague, returning to the land his mother had fled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Indianapolis: The True Story of the Worst Sea Disaster in U.S. Naval History and the Fifty-Year Fight to Exonerate an Innocent Man

LYNN VINCENT · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, thanks to years of original research and new reporting, two acclaimed authors deliver the riveting and emotionally wrenching full story of the worst sea disaster in United States naval history: the sinking of the USS Indianapolis during World War II - and the fifty-year...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Little Dribbling: Adventures of an American in Britain

Bill Bryson · Doubleday
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

Twenty years ago, Bill Bryson went on a trip around Britain to discover and celebrate that green and pleasant land. The result was Notes from a Small Island, one of the bestselling travel books ever written. Now he has traveled about Britain again, by bus and train and rental car and on foot,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Defying Hitler: The Germans Who Resisted Nazi Rule

Gordon Thomas · Dutton Caliber
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

An enthralling work of popular history that vividly resurrects the web of everyday Germans who resisted Nazi ruleNazi Germany is remembered as a nation of willing fanatics. But beneath the surface, countless ordinary, everyday Germans actively resisted Hitler. Some passed industrial secrets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jungle of Stone: The Extraordinary Journey of John L. Stephens and Frederick Catherwood

William Carlsen · William Morrow
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

New York Times Bestseller (Expeditions) "Thrilling. ... A captivating history of two men who dramatically changed their contemporaries' view of the past." - Kirkus (starred review) "[An] adventure tale that make[s] Indiana Jones seem tame." - Library JournalIn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Almanac 2019: Hot New Science, Fearless Explorers, Epic Adventures. Incredible Photographs

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC. · National Geographic
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

A one-of-a-kind annual featuring surprising facts, stunning color photos, arresting infographics, and illuminating maps that present the world in a whole new way.An almanac like you've never seen before, this arresting volume features key information on science, nature, history, and geography,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Gotta Get Out of This Place: The Soundtrack of the Vietnam War

Doug Bradley · University of Massachusetts Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

For a Kentucky rifleman who spent his tour trudging through Vietnam's Central Highlands, it was Nancy Sinatra's "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'." For a "tunnel rat" who blew smoke into the Viet Cong's underground tunnels, it was Jimi Hendrix's "Purple...
Read More check catalog