Back Biographies & Memoirs | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Stay Interesting: I Don't Always Tell Stories About My Life, but When I Do They're True and Amazing

JONATHAN GOLDSMITH · Dutton
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A real-life memoir from the actor who played "The Most Interesting Man in the World" in the wildly popular television ads for Dos Equis.Jonathan Goldsmith's memoir features stories about his truly fascinating life both in and out of Hollywood: getting shot by John Wayne, competing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fifty-Year Mission: The Next 25 Years: From The Next Generation to J. J. Abrams: The Complete, Uncensored, and Unauthorized Oral History of Star Trek

Edward Gross · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 864
Format: Print book

This is the true story behind the making of a television legend. There have been many books written about Star Trek, but never with the unprecedented access, insight and candor of authors Mark A. Altman and Edward Gross. Having covered the franchise for over three decades, they've assembled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Look at the Empty Seats: A Memoir

C DANIELS · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 252
Format: Hardcover

The Incredible Story of a Country Music Legend Few artists have left a more indelible mark on America's musical landscape than Charlie Daniels. Readers will experience a soft, personal side of Charlie Daniels that has never before been documented. In his own words, he presents the path...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lightless Sky: A Twelve-Year-Old Refugee's Harrowing Escape from Afghanistan and His Extraordinary Journey Across Half the World

Gulwali Passarlay · HarperOne
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A gripping, inspiring, and eye-opening memoir of fortitude and survival - of a twelve-year-old boy's traumatic flight from Afghanistan to the West - that puts a face to one of the most shocking and devastating humanitarian crises of our time."To risk my life had to mean something....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wars of the Roosevelts: The Ruthless Rise of America's Greatest Political Family

William J Mann · Harpercollins
Pages: 640
Format: Print book

The award-winning author presents a provocative, thoroughly modern revisionist biographical history of one of America's greatest and most influential families - the Roosevelts - exposing heretofore unknown family secrets and detailing complex family rivalries with his signature cinematic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Natural Disaster: I Cover Them. I am One.

Ginger Zee · Kingswell
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

ABC News chief meteorologist Ginger Zee pulls back the curtain on her life in Natural Disaster. Ginger grew up in small-town Michigan where she developed an obsession with weather as a young girl. Ginger opens up about her lifelong battle with crippling depression, her romances that range...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unlikely Angel: The Untold Story of the Atlanta Hostage Hero

Ashley Smith · William Morrow
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The author presents an account of being held hostage by courthouse killer Brian Nichols in her suburban Atlanta apartment, relating personal events of her life, and describing how her faith in God enabled her to persevere.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hitler's Forgotten Children: A True Story of the Lebensborn Program and One Woman's Search for Her Real Identity

Ingrid Von Oelhafen · Berkley Caliber
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Created by Heinrich Himmler, the Lebensborn program abducted as many as half a million children from across Europe. Through a process called Germanization, they were to become the next generation of the Aryan master race in the second phase of the Final Solution. In the summer of 1942,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Untitled on Becoming a Grandmother

Lesley Stahl · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

From one of the country s most recognizable journalists: How becoming a grandmother transforms a woman s life. After four decades as a reporter, Lesley Stahl s most vivid and transformative experience of her life was not covering the White House, interviewing heads of state, or researching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Choosing Hope: Moving Forward from Life's Darkest Hours

Kaitlin Roig-DeBellis · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"[S]tirring...a bold, inspiring and ultimately hopeful book." --Arianna Huffington, co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post and author of the New York Times bestseller ThriveKaitlin Roig-Debellis is the first-grade teacher at Sandy Hook Elementary School who saved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Bill: The True Story of the American Frontier's First Gunfighter

Tom Clavin · Thorndike Press Large Print
Format: Library Binding

The definitive true story of Wild Bill, the first lawman of the Wild West, by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dodge City. In July 1865, "Wild Bill" Hickok shot and killed Davis Tutt in Springfield, MO?the first quick-draw duel on the frontier. Thus began the reputation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canada

Mike Myers · Recorded Books
Format: Audiobook

Comedy superstar Mike Myers writes from the (true patriot) heart about his 53-year relationship with his beloved Canada. Mike Myers is a world-renowned actor, director and writer, and the man behind some of the most memorable comic characters of our time. But as he says: "no description...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All You Can Ever Know: A Memoir

NICOLE CHUNG · Catapult
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection An Official Junior Library Guild Selection An ABA Indies Introduce Selection "This book moved me to my very core. As in all her writing, Nicole Chung speaks eloquently and honestly about her own personal story, then widens her aperture...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Got Up Off the Couch: And Other Heroic Acts from Mooreland, Indiana

Haven Kimmel · Free Press; First Edition edition
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The # 1 "New York Times" bestseller "A Girl Named Zippy" was a rare and welcome treat: a memoir of a happy childhood. Spunky, strong-willed, and too smart for her own good, Zippy Jarvis brought readers delight and joy. In "She Got Up Off the Couch," Haven Kimmel...
Read More check catalog