Back | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Book Club Picks  
How to End a Love Story: A Novel

Yulin Kuang - Avon
Format: Paperback

The brilliant contemporary romance novel debut from Yulin Kuang, the acclaimed screenwriter of Emily Henry's People We Meet on Vacation and director of the forthcoming Beach Read feature film.Helen Zhang hasn't seen Grant Shepard once in the thirteen years sincethe tragic accident...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Tempest of Tea (Blood and Tea)

Hafsah Faizal - Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame comes the first book in a hotly-anticipated fantasy duology teeming with romance and revenge, led by an orphan girl willing to do whatever it takes to save her self-made kingdom.. On the streets of White Roaring, Arthie Casimir...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Earth: Awakening to Your Lifes Purpose (Oprahs Book Club, Selection 61)

Eckhart Tolle - Penguin
Format: Paperback

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. "A wake-up call for the entire planet . . . [A New Earth] helps us to stop creating our own suffering and obsessing over the past and what the future might be, and to put ourselves in the now." - Oprah Winfrey With his bestselling spiritual guide...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel

Claire Lombardo - Random House Audio
Format: Paperback

"A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory." (Madeline Miller, New York Times best-selling author of Circe) A New York Times Best Seller Longlisted for the Womens Prize for Fiction In this "rich, complex family saga" (USA Today) full of long-buried...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Americans: A novel

Rachel Khong - Knopf
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning author of Goodbye, Vitamin: How far would you go to shape your own destiny? An exhilarating novel of American identity that spans three generations in one family and asks: What makes us who we are? And how inevitable are our futures?. Real Americans begins on the precipice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hundred Years' War on Palestine: A History of Settler Colonialism and Resistance, 19172017

Rashid Khalidi - Picador; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

In 1899, Yusuf Diya al-Khalidi, mayor of Jerusalem, alarmed by the Zionist call to create a Jewish national home in Palestine, wrote a letter aimed at Theodore Herzl: the country had an indigenous people who would not easily accept their own displacement. He warned of the perils ahead,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Practice of the Wild: Essays

Gary Snyder - Counterpoint
Format: Paperback

"This is an important book for anyone interested in the ethical interrelationships of things, places, and people, and it is a book that is not just read but taken in." -- Library JournalFeaturing a new introduction by Robert Hass, the nine captivatingly meditative essays in The Practice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hearing Test: A Novel

Eliza Barry Callahan - Catapult
Format: Hardcover

A young woman reorients her relationship to the world in the wake of sudden deafness in this mesmerizing debut novel for readers of Rachel Cusk, Clarice Lispector, and Fleur Jaeggy. When the narrator of The Hearing Test, an artist in her late twenties, awakens one morning to a deep drone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Have You Been Long Enough At Table

Leslie Sainz - Tin House Books
Format: Paperback

"Marvelous." -- Terrance Hayes Taking its title from Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea, Leslie Sainz's Have You Been Long Enough at Table explores the personal and historical tragedies of the Cuban American experience through a distinctly feminine lens. Formally diverse...
Read More check catalog