Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Falling Short

Ernesto Cisneros - Quill Tree Books
Format: Hardcover

Isaac and Marco already know sixth grade is going to change their lives. But it won’t change things at home—not without each other’s help.

This year, star basketball player Isaac plans on finally keeping up with his schoolwork. Better grades will surely stop...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wind Riders #3: Shipwreck in Seal Bay

Jen Marlin - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

You never know where Wind Rider will take you... Max and Sofia's summer vacation gets wild when they stumble upon an abandoned sailboat in the mangrove forest. They’re given the chance to make a real impact when the boat magically transports them to a different corner of the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Air: A Novel

Monica Roe
Format: Hardcover

An action-packed, empowering middle grade novel about a girl who has to speak up when her wheelchair motocross dreams get turned upside down.Twelve-year-old Emmie is working to raise money for a tricked-out wheelchair to get serious about WCMX, when a mishap on a poorly designed ramp at school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Children of the Flying City

Jason Sheehan
Format: Hardcover

A fast-paced and wondrously detailed countdown of orphan Milo Quick's final days in the doomed flying city of Highgate.Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson's layered storytelling and Adam Gidwitz's wry narrators. Brought to the flying city of Highgate when he was only five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Potato

Arianne Costner - Yearling; Illustrated edition
Format: Paperback

"A grade A, spudtastic (not to mention FUNNY) debut. Arianne Costner sure knows middle school and middle schoolers!" --Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's LibraryBen Hardy believes he's cursed by potatoes. And now he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop - Team Spirit

Kelly Thompson
Format: Paperback

Marvel Boy is back in Kate Bishop's life - and his timing couldn't be worse! Will his arrival throw a wrench into Kate Bishop's less-than-well-oiled team of West Coast Avengers? Probably! Meanwhile, something foul is afoot in the City of Angels, courtesy of the newly formed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trillium Sisters 3: Fashionable Disaster

Laura Brown
Format: Hardcover

Being bossy leads to big problems, and only the Trills coming together can save the day in the third book in the Trillium Sisters series, perfect for fans of Mia Mayhem and The Wish Fairy.When the Trills discover a rocky enclosure with natural hot spring while hiking, they realize it could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Depth Perception

Victor Appleton - ?Aladdin
Format: Paperback

Tom and his friends' service project cleaning up a local lake becomes a deep dive into suspicious behavior in in the eighth novel in Tom Swift Inventors' Academy - perfect for fans of The Hardy Boys or Alex Rider.Tom and his friends are excited to be spending their spring break...
Read More check catalog
 
 
For the Record

Monique Polak - Owlkids
Format: Hardcover

A middle-grade novel thoughtfully explores the realities of parents' divorce Twelve-year-old Justine's parents are recently divorced. She and her little sister, Bea, go back and forth between their parents' homes in Montreal. Their mother, whose anxiety manifests as the need...
Read More check catalog