Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Last Romantics: A Novel

TARA CONKLIN · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming." -- Meg WolitzerThe New York Times bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Study of Animal Languages: A Novel

Lindsay Stern · Viking
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

"An exuberant, wise, and darkly funny novel from an essential new voice in fiction." --Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest This astonishing first novel tells the story of a married couple - both experts in language and communication - who nevertheless cannot seem to communicate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Volunteer: A Novel

Salvatore Scibona · Penguin Press
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

A long-awaited new novel from a National Book Award Finalist, the epic story of a restless young man who is captured during the Vietnam War and pressed into service for a clandestine branch of the United States government A small boy speaking an unknown language is abandoned by his father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Weekend in New York: A Novel

Benjamin Markovits · Faber & Faber
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"In tender, compassionate prose and a deftly compressed time-scheme, Markovits glints through desire, ennui, misunderstanding, and love, illuminating his family so they collectively glow like a human panorama." -- Jonathan Lethem"Deliciously poised, [a] hugely enjoyable and unashamedly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Beginner's Guide to the Universe: Uncommon Ideas for Living an Unusually Happy Life

Mike Dooley · Hay House Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The beloved creator of Notes from the Universe distills a career's worth of inspiration into elegant, brief lessons for making our way through the world--conceived as a guidebook for his young daughter yet relevant to everyone who's living a life on earth. (In other words, everyone.) Mike...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby of the Family: A Novel

· Dutton
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The money is old, the problems are new.A wry and addictive debut about a modern-day American dynasty and its unexpected upheaval when the patriarch wills his dwindling fortune to his youngest, adopted son - setting off a chain of events that unearth family secrets and test long-held definitions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Things We Cannot Say

Kelly Rimmer · Graydon House
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It's a decision that will alter her destiny ... and it's a lie that will remain buried until the next century.Since she was nine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blood Orange

Harriet Tyce · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A young lawyer's outwardly perfect life spirals out of control as she takes on her first murder case in this dark and twisty debut thriller for readers of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, or Shari Lapena.I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up. Alison, a young lawyer, has just been given...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arturo's Island: A Novel

Elsa Morante · Liveright
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Elsa Morante's novels are "astonishing for the quality of the writing, . . . the complexity of the invented world, the wide-ranging view of the human condition" (Elena Ferrante) .Once considered the greatest writer of Italy's postwar generation -- and admired by authors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aerialists: Stories

Mark Mayer · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Mark Mayer writes with a humorous, wistful elegance. His stories are singular, as detached and intimate as dreaming." --Marilynne RobinsonWelcome to the sublime circus of Mark Mayer's Michener-Copernicus-winning debut, Aerialists, a fiercely inventive collection of nine stories...
Read More check catalog