Back Ages 4-8 | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
My Pillow Keeps Moving

Laura Gehl · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A lonely man tries to buy a pillow . . . and ends up with a new best friend in this silly and sweet doggy tale, perfect for fans of Officer Buckle and Gloria.

Dogs make good pillows, don't they?

A clever pup ends up in a cozy home, and she'll do anything to stay there....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pinkalicious: Tickled Pink

Victoria Kann · HarperFestival
Format: Paperback

When Tiffany challenges Pinkalicious to a laugh-off, the pressure is on to create the most pinkerrifically funny joke of all time. Even if Pinkalicious doesnt win the contest, shes going to have a lot of fun trying!,
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present

Charlotte Zolotow · Harper & Row
Format: Audiobook

The author of such classics as My Granson Lew, Williams's Doll, and Over and Over needs no introduction. Neither does her collaborator Maurice Sendak, who has illustrated so many of today's best-loved, as well as most distinguised, books for children. The heroine of their book has a problem....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miracle on 34th Street

Valentine Davies · Galahad
Pages: 118
Format: Hardcover

"Faith is believing in things when common sense tells you not to." If those words ring a bell, you've probably seen--and fallen in love with--the popular holiday film based on this heartwarming Christmas story. Dreamed up by the author as he watched the Macy's parade with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Water

Melissa Stewart · National Geographic
Format:  Print book : Juvenile audience : EnglishView all editions and formats

Water is all around us we drink it every day. In this level 3 reader, kids will learn about the water cycle, discovering how rain and snow flow into our lakes, rivers, and oceans, and later evaporate into the sky again. Vivid photography and accessible text make this book an ideal introduction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Yes Day!

Amy Krouse Rosenthal · HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

No matter how silly the requests, there is one day a year when kids always receive positive answers Can I have pizza for breakfast? Yes! Can we have a food fight? Yes! Can I stay up really late? Yes! This day is simply called Yes Day and its the best day of the year.Amy Krouse Rosenthals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
¿Por qué celebramos el día de los veteranos? / Why Do We Celebrate Veterans Day?

Grace Houser · PowerKids Press
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

For almost 100 years, the United States has set aside a special day to honor its veterans. This holiday is a chance for the rest of the country to appreciate and remember all the military personnel, both alive and dead, that have fought to protect the United States from domestic and foreign...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Incredible Me!

Kathi Appelt · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join a rambunctious child as she exuberantly celebrates all the wonderful qualities that make her special -- her nose, her toes, her ears, herself!Award winners Kathi Appelt and G. Brian Karas team up to create this joyous tribute to the wonders of being ... ME!
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Don't Eat Our Classmates

Ryan T Higgins · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

It's the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can't wait to meet her classmates. But it's hard to make human friends when they're so darn delicious! That is, until Penelope gets a taste of her own medicine and finds she may not be at the top of the food chain after all. . . . Readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins

Barbara Kerley · Scholastic
Pages: 48
Format: Audio CD

Can you fathom that until the mid 1800s almost nobody knew what a dinosaur was? When Victorian artist Waterhouse Hawkins built the first life-size models of dinosaurs in England, he dazzled the world with his awe-inspiring creations. This book tells his story.
Read More check catalog