Back Ages 9-12 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Clean Getaway

Nic Stone · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for Black History Month and for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Case of the Girl in Grey

Jordan Stratford · Alfred A Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

This history-mystery series continues with another fine display of brains and bravery from the Wollstonecraft Girls - Ada Bryon Lovelace and Mary Shelley. Inspired fun for middle grade readers and fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket! The Wollstonecraft Detective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gateway

Obert Skye · Aladdin; First Edition edition
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

WELCOME TO FOO. Fourteen-year-old Leven Thumps (a.k.a. "Lev") lives a wretched life in Burnt Culvert, Oklahoma. But his life is about to change and his destiny be fulfilled as he learns about a secret gateway that bridges two worlds -- the real world and Foo, a place created...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Girl Called Blue

Railey, Shawna · LITTLE BEE BOOKS

Eleven-year-old "Blue" Warren is cursed with three bothersome brothers, a too-busy father, a recently deceased mother, and she's annoyed. With humor, hijinks, and heart, this debut novel is a touching tale of grief and the healing power of family. Eleven-year-old Beulah "Blue"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lebron James

Marie Morreale · Childrens Pr
Format: Paperback

From the hottest stars in pop music to the greatest athletes in the world, these biographies explore the lives of today's biggest celebrities. This thrilling new series gives readers an inside look at how their favorite stars grew up, how they conquered the entertainment world, and where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Girl: Contemporary MG Series 1, Novel 1

Kellen Hertz · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Tenney's biggest dream is to share what's in her heart through music. Little does she know, she's about to get the opportunity of a lifetime. In this first book, Tenney gets invited to perform solo at Nashville's famed Bluebird Cafe and the pressure is on to write the song that will show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wings of Fire Book Five: The Brightest Night

Tui Sutherland · Scholastic, Incorporated
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

The dragonets struggle to fulfill the prophecy and -- somehow -- end the war in this thrilling new installment of the bestselling WINGS OF FIRE series!It all comes down to this: The Dragonets of Destiny must finally bring the epic war to an end, reconcile the seven tribes, and choose the next...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales

Kiersten White · Scholastic Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest and became a zombie.



Wait, no, that's not how this story is supposed to go. Let's try again.



Once upon a time, a boy did a horrible job as a sheep-sitter and burned his tongue on stolen pie.



No,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Joke

Janet Tashjian · Christy Ottaviano Books, Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 252
Format: Print book

Derek Fallon discovers all the angst that comes with being twelve -- he just wants to feel grown up, but life gets in the way with a series of mishaps that make him look like a baby. He passes out during a worm dissection in science class, falls flat on his face in gym class and gets...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Olympian

Rick Riordan · Disney Hyperion
Pages: 387
Format: eBook

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of victory are grim. Kronos's army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan's power only grows. While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging...
Read More check catalog