Back Outdoors & Nature | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
The Ends of the World: Volcanic Apocalypses, Lethal Oceans, and Our Quest to Understand Earth's Past Mass Extinctions

PETER BRANNEN · Ecco
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

As new groundbreaking research suggests that climate change played a major role in the most extreme catastrophes in the planet's history, award-winning science journalist Peter Brannen takes us on a wild ride through the planet's five mass extinctions and, in the process, offers us a glimpse...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Field Guide to Birds of Eastern and Central North America, 6th Edition

Roger Tory Peterson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 6th edition

Guide to birds of eastern and central north america guides a unique identification system, which has been called the greatest invention since binoculars. This guide is illustrated with drawings and photographs in color and black and white and all provide up to date range information and the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beekeeping For Dummies

Howland Blackiston · For Dummies
Pages: 456
Format: Paperback

Your guide to becoming a successful back yard beekeeper Want to find out what all the buzz is about beekeeping? The latest edition of Beekeeping For Dummies gives you the most trusted and up-to-date information on safely keeping your own bees, including complete instructions for assembling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On the Burning Edge: A Fateful Fire and the Men Who Fought It

Kyle Dickman · Ballantine Books
Pages: 277
Format: Print book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN'S JOURNAL * In the tradition of Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm and Robert Kurson's Shadow Divers comes a true and heartbreaking tale of courage, difficult decisions, and ultimate sacrifice. On the Burning Edge,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The ultimate guide to puppy care and training : house-training, life skills, and basic care from puppyhood to adolescence

Tracy Libby · I-5 Publishing
Format: Hardcover

A guide to caring for and training a puppy, offering advice on such topics as socialization, exercise, feeding, grooming, house-training, and behavioral problems.
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Audubon Society Trees of North America

National Audubon Society · Knopf
Format: Kindle Edition

This handsome volume is the result of a collaboration among leading scientists, scholars, taxonomic and field experts, photo editors, and designers. An indispensable reference, it covers more than 540 species, with nearly 2,500 full-color photographs--including images of the bark, fruit,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walking with Peety: The Dog Who Saved My Life

Eric O'Grey · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Eric was 150 pounds overweight, depressed, and sick. After a lifetime of failed diet attempts, and the onset of type 2 diabetes due to his weight, Eric went to a new doctor, who surprisingly prescribed a shelter dog. And that's when Eric met Peety: an overweight, middle-aged, and forgotten...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stop Walking on Eggshells: Taking Your Life Back When Someone You Care About Has Borderline Personality Disorder

Paul T. T. Mason MS
Format: Paperback(Third Edition)

Do you feel manipulated, controlled, or lied to? Are you the focus of intense, violent, and irrational rages? Do you feel you are 'walking on eggshells' to avoid the next confrontation? If the answer is 'yes,' someone you care about may have borderline personality disorder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Foxfire 3: Animal Care, Banjos and Dulcimers, Hide Tanning, Summer and Fall Wild Plant Foods, Butter Churns, Ginseng, and Still More Affairs of Plain Living

Eliot Wigginton · Doubleday
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback

First published in 1972, The Foxfire Book was a surprise bestseller that brought Appalachia's philosophy of simple living to hundreds of thousands of readers. Whether you wanted to hunt game, bake the old-fashioned way, or learn the art of successful moonshining, The Foxfire Museum...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gun Digest 2022, 76th Edition: The World's Greatest Gun Book!

Philip Massaro · Gun Digest Books; 76th edition
Format: Paperback

Now in its 76th edition, Gun Digest 2022 is the most-anticipated annual guide to all things new and exciting in the world of firearms. Informative and entertaining articles by the top writers in the field cover every aspect of guns and shooting, including hunting, personal defense, target...
Read More check catalog