Back Ages 9-12 | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Third Wheel

Jeff Kinney · Amulet Books
Pages: 217
Format: Hardcover

Greg Heffley is not willing to be the odd man out.A dance at Greg's middle school has everyone scrambling to find a partner, and Greg is determined not to be left by the wayside. So he concocts a desperate plan to find someone - anyone! - to go with on the big night.But Greg's schemes go hilariously...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Half-True Lies of Cricket Cohen

Catherine Lloyd Burns · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Cricket Cohen isn't a liar, but she doesn't always tell the exact truth. She loves thinking about geology and astronomy and performing tricky brain surgery on her stuffed animals. She also loves conspiring with Dodo, her feisty grandmother who lives in the apartment right next door....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hold fast

Blue Balliett · Scholastic Press
Format:  eBook : Document : Elementary and junior high school : Fiction : English : First editionView all editions and formats

On a cold winter day in Chicago, Early's father disappeared, and now she, her mother and her brother have been forced to flee their apartment and join the ranks of the homeless--and it is up to Early to hold her family together and solve the mystery surrounding her father.
Read More check catalog
 
 
#26 High Five, Mallory!

Laurie B Friedman · Darby Creek
Pages: 159
Format: Print book

Mallory is excited to start fifth grade. She just got a cell phone, and Mary Ann's in her class. What could go wrong? For one thing, she gets off on the wrong foot with her new teacher. For another, Mary Ann seems to be avoiding her and spending all her time with their classmate Zoe. And then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Workbooks: Raspberry Pi Projects Workbook

Sway Grantham · DK Children
Pages: 40
Format: Paperback

Get kids building exciting computer projects, including games, music, and designs. Perfect for children ages 7-11 who are new to programming, this highly visual workbook is a fun introduction to Raspberry Pi, an affordable credit-card-size computer that is revolutionizing the world of computing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jubilee

Patricia Reilly Giff · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 149
Format: Print book

Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia Reilly Giff writes a tender, timeless story about a girl who stopped speaking long ago, and how she finds her way back to her voice. For fans of Listening for Lucca, Fish in a Tree, The Rules, and Mockingbird. Judith lives with her beloved aunt Cora...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mission Atomic

Sarwat Chadda · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Confidential until July 2016!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to the Jungle

Matt London · Razorbill
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

WHAT IF YOU BUILT A CONTINENT OF YOUR OWN? AND WHAT IF IT WAS ON A COLLISION COURSE WITH AUSTRALIA?Rick and Evie Lane have finally converted the Great Pacific Garbage Patch into an eighth continent. But their dream of a new homeland for their family turns out to be short-lived. Because...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ancient Earth Journal: The Late Jurassic: Notes, drawings, and observations from prehistory

Juan Carlos Alonso · Walter Foster Jr
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Through detailed illustrations and descriptive narrative, readers will experience a thrilling, thoroughly enjoyable ride through the most popular time period of prehistory.What would it be like to see a living, breathing dinosaur? Following in the footsteps of Ancient Earth Journal: The Early...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Junior Novel

Kate Howard · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

The LEGO(R) NINJAGO(R) Movie(TM) hits theaters September 22nd 2017, with an all-star cast featuring Jackie Chan, Dave Franco, Justin Theroux, Fred Armisen, and more. Meet Lloyd. He's the leader of the secret ninja force, a high school student, and his dad is pretty much the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plants vs. Zombies: Grown Sweet Home

Paul Tobin · Dark Horse Books
Pages: 71
Format: Print book

A new story arc begins! A group of young plants--led by Fred the Sunflower, Jeff the Bloomerang, and Grrawrr-Bear the Bonk Choy--move out of Crazy Dave's garage and into his huge family mansion in Neighborville. Nate and Patrice head over with them to make sure they don't accidentally destroy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Answering the Cry for Freedom: Stories of African Americans and the American Revolution

Gretchen Woelfle · Calkins Creek Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Even as American Patriots fought for independence from British rule during the Revolutionary War, oppressive conditions remained in place for the thousands of enslaved and free African Americans living in this country. But African Americans took up their own fight for freedom by joining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Famouse Fjord Race

Geronimo Stilton · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

Who is Geronimo Stiltonord?He is a mouseking -- the Geronimo Stilton of the ancient far north! He lives with his clan in the village of Mouseborg. From sailing frozen waters to facing fiery dragons, every day is an adventure for the micekings! The Famouse Fjord RaceIt's the day of the Famouse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mask of Power: Eruptor Meets the Nightmare King #7

Onk Beakman · Grosset & Dunlap, 2016.
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Eruptor Meets the Nightmare King is the seventh book in the ongoing Mask of Power series of illustrated original novels set in the Skylanders universe. In this installment, Eruptor makes a chilling discovery when he meets his own double frozen in ice! What starts as a cold snap leads to a red-hot...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Olivia Nibblesqueak's Messy Mischief

Daisy Meadows · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

From the mind of Daisy Meadows comes a fantasy world full of magical creatures and brand-new adventures! Best friends Jess and Lily visit Friendship Forest, where animals can talk and magic exists! When Jess and Lily return to Friendship Forest, Grizelda casts a spell to make little Olivia...
Read More check catalog