Back Ages 9-12 | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Who Was Louis Braille?

Margaret Frith · Grosset & Dunlap an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), LLC.,
Pages: 104
Format: Print book

Louis Braille certainly wasn't your average teenager. Blind from the age of four, he was only fifteen when in 1824 he invented a reading system that converted printed words into columns of raised dots. Through touch, Braille opened the world of books to the sightless, and almost two hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
School of Secrets: Freddie's Shadow Cards

Jessica Brody · Disney Press
Pages: 188
Format: Hardcover

Freddie is the daughter of the infamous witch doctor, Dr. Facilier.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madam C.j. Walker and Her Beauty Empire

Caitie McAneney · PowerKids Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Before Madam C.J. Walker launched a line of beauty and hair products for black women, she was Sarah Breedlove, a washerwoman in rural Louisiana. This title presents Walkers fascinating biography, tracing her life from a childhood in poverty to becoming Americas first female self-made millionaire....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Curiosity

Jaleigh Johnson · Dial
Format: Kindle Edition

Publishers Weekly04/14/2014 In a brisk historical novel set in the early 19th century, a young hunchback named Rufus lands a job that makes use of his chess abilities after his father is thrown into debtors' prison. Rufus controls an automaton called the Turk, secretly crawling inside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Algeria

Martin Hintz · Children's Press
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

After more than 100 years of French rule, the nation of Algeria achieved independence in 1962 after a long, bloody war. Today, the largest country in Africa is a land of vibrant culture. Readers will find out how people live in Algeria, from what they eat and how they dress to how their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Family Tree Book Three: Best Kept Secret

Ann M. Martin · Scholastic Press
Format: Audiobook

Four girls. Four generations. One family.The third installment of the exquisite new series from Newbery Honor winner Ann M. Martin follows Francie, Dana's daughter, to Princeton, NJ, in the 1980s.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Desert ecosystems

Tammy Gagne · Core Library
Pages: 48
Format:  eBook : Document : EnglishView all editions and formats

This title will introduce readers to desert ecosystems, the plants and animals that thrive there, its climate, its food web, any threats to it, and conservation efforts. Readers will also learn about the most well known deserts and their characteristics.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magisterium

Holly Black · Scholastic Press
Pages: 249
Format: Print book

From Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes the third installment in the New York Times bestselling series that defies what you think you know about the worlds of good and evil.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lola

Ellen Miles · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Charles and Lizzie Peterson love puppies. Their family fosters these young dogs, giving them love and proper care, until they can find the perfect forever home.When Charles and his friends find Lola stuck outside right before a rain storm, they have a tough decision to make. They know the French...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Library: Mysterious Messenger

D J Machale · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Leave the lights on for this first book in a new thriller series! The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Pendragon invites you to enter The Library, where the stories you can't finish just might finish you. There's a place beyond this world where spirits tell their tales - stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Bandit's Tale: The Muddled Misadventures of a Pickpocket

Deborah Hopkinson · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

From an award-winning author of historical fiction comes a story of survival, crime, adventure, and horses in the streets of 19th century New York City.Eleven-year-old Rocco is an Italian immigrant who finds himself alone in New York City after he's sold to a padrone by his poverty-stricken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Answering the Cry for Freedom: Stories of African Americans and the American Revolution

Gretchen Woelfle · Calkins Creek Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Even as American Patriots fought for independence from British rule during the Revolutionary War, oppressive conditions remained in place for the thousands of enslaved and free African Americans living in this country. But African Americans took up their own fight for freedom by joining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dr. Critchlore's School for Minions: Book Two: Gorilla Tactics

Sheila Grau · Amulet Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The second book in this hilarious, illustrated series cracks the imaginative world of minions wide open, and we meet the other schools and Evil Overlords that surround Dr. Critchlore's.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magic Mirror: Concerning a Lonely Princess, a Foundling Girl, a Scheming King and a Pickpocket Squirrel

Susan Hill · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The twisty-turny journey of a girl searching for her heart's desire - glimpsed in a magic mirror. Perfect for fans of Rump or Catherine, Called Birdy A foundling girl with a crooked leg and a crutch doesn't expect life to be easy. Indeed, Maggie's dearest wish is to simply...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sticks & Stones

Sarah Mlynowski · Scholastic Press
Pages: 193
Format: Hardcover

Nory, Bax, and their friends are in a special class at Dunwiddle Magic School, a class for children whose magic is unpredictable--and while Nory is finding an outlet for her dritten-self (a combination of a kitten and dragon) , in the kittenball team, Bax is worried because all he can do is turn...
Read More check catalog