Back Politics | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
The Nordic Theory of Everything: In Search of a Better Life

Anu Partanen · Harpercollins
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

A Finnish journalist, now a naturalized American citizen, asks Americans to draw on elements of the Nordic way of life to nurture a fairer, happier, more secure, and less stressful society for themselves and their children.Moving to America in 2008, Finnish journalist Anu Partanen quickly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Covert Action: Reagan, the CIA, and the Cold War Struggle in Poland

SETH G JONES · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In this gripping narrative history, Seth G. Jones reveals the CIA's involvement in a landmark victory for democracy during the Cold War. In 1983, while Soviet- backed Polish prime minister Wojciech Jaruzelski worked to crush a budding opposition movement through martial law, the CIA launched...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Jim St Germain · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winners take all : the elite charade of changing the world

Anand Giridharadas · Knopf Publishing Group
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An insider's incisive and eye-opening account of the hypocrisies lurking behind the global elite's efforts to "change the world" through philanthropy and free enterprise without confronting their role in creating and perpetuating the very problems they purport to solve. Anand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution's Lost Hero

Christian Di Spigna · Crown
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A rich and illuminating biography of America's forgotten Founding Father, the patriot physician and major general who fomented rebellion and died heroically at the battle of Bunker Hill on the brink of revolutionLittle has been known of one of the most important figures in early American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minority Leader: How to Lead from the Outside and Make Real Change

STACEY ABRAMS · Henry Holt & Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Minority Leader is a guide to harnessing the strengths of being an outsider by Stacey Abrams, slated to become the first black female governor in the U. S. Networking, persistence, and hard work are the crucial ingredients to advancing a career, but for people like Stacey Abrams, and many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friends Divided: John Adams and Thomas Jefferson

Gordon S Wood · Penguin Press
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the great historian of the American Revolution, New York Times-bestselling and Pulitzer-winning Gordon Wood, comes a majestic dual biography of two of America's most enduringly fascinating figures, whose partnership helped birth a nation, and whose subsequent falling out did much to fix its course.Thomas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DIY Rules for a WTF World: How to Speak Up, Get Creative, and Change the World

Krista Suh · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of the Pussyhat Project comes a manifesto for every woman to create her own distinct and original path to joy, success, and impact.On January 21, 2017, millions of protestors took part in the Women's March, and many of them created a "sea of pink" when they wore...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Identity: The Demand for Dignity and the Politics of Resentment

Francis Fukuyama · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Origins of Political Order offers a provocative examination of modern identity politics: its origins, its effects, and what it means for domestic and international affairs of stateIn 2014, Francis Fukuyama wrote that American institutions were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Revolt: Inside the Populist Coalition Reshaping American Politics

SALENA ZITO · Crown Forum
Pages: 320
Format: Book

Standout syndicated columnist and CNN contributor Salena Zito, with veteran Republican strategist Brad Todd, reports across five swing states and over 27,000 miles to answer the pressing question: Was Donald Trump's election a fluke or did it represent a fundamental shift in the electorate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hell of Good Intentions: America's Foreign Policy Elite and the Decline of U.S. Primacy

Stephen M Walt · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling author Stephen M. Walt, The Hell of Good Intentions dissects the faults and foibles of recent American foreign policy -- explaining why it has been plagued by disasters like the "forever wars" in Iraq and Afghanistan and outlining what can be done...
Read More check catalog