Back Politics | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
A Man and His Presidents: The Political Odyssey of William F. Buckley Jr.

ALVIN FELZENBERG · Yale University Press
Pages: 456
Format: Hardcover

A new understanding of the man who changed the face of American politics William F. Buckley Jr. is widely regarded as the most influential American conservative writer, activist, and organizer in the postwar era. In this nuanced biography, Alvin Felzenberg sheds light on little-known aspects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drone Warrior: An Elite Soldier's Inside Account of the Hunt for America's Most Dangerous Enemies

BRETT VELICOVICH · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A former Delta Force black ops member takes us inside America's covert drone war in this headline-making, never-before-told account for fans of Zero Dark Thirty and Lone Survivor, told by a Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal writer and filled with eye-opening and sure to be controversial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Speaking American: How Y'all, Youse , and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide

Josh Katz · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

From the creator of the New York Times dialect quiz that ignited conversations about how and why we say the words we say, a stunning and delightful exploration of American language Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can reveal where you grew up? In December 2013,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rise and Kill First: The Secret History of Israel's Targeted Assassinations

RONEN BERGMAN · Random House
Pages: 736
Format: Hardcover

The page-turning, news-breaking, inside account of Israel's state-sponsored assassination programs, from the man hailed by David Remnick as "arguably [Israel's] best investigative reporter."
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beltway Bible: A Totally Serious A-Z Guide to Our No-Good, Corrupt, Incompetent, Terrible, Depressing, and Sometimes Hilarious Government

Eliot Nelson · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 424
Format: Print book

How is legislation crafted? How do you lose an election? What do "bundler," "quorum call" and "omnibus" mean? Why do some of the White House's most important meetings occur at a Starbucks? Why are Washington insiders obsessed with something called Jumbo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
America at War with Itself

Henry A Giroux · City Lights
Pages: 250
Format: Print book

From hatemongering tactics in the run-up to the 2016 presidential race, to the increasing number of mass shootings, to excessive police violence, evidence that America is at war with itself is everywhere around us. The question is not whether or not it's happening, but how to understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The American Spirit: Who We Are and What We Stand For

DAVID MCCULLOUGH · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 176
Format: Book

A timely collection of speeches by David McCullough, the most honored historian in the United States—winner of two Pulitzer Prizes, two National Book Awards, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, among many others—that reminds us of fundamental American principles. Over the course...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue on Blue: An Insider's Story of Good Cops Catching Bad Cops

Charles Campisi · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

This eye-opening, richly authentic memoir by the longest serving chief of NYPD's Internal Affairs Bureau reveals what it's like to expose and put away the bad cops - so that they won't tarnish the majority who wear the uniform.Charles Campisi headed the NYPD's Internal Affairs Bureau from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Fine Mess: A Global Quest for a Simpler, Fairer, and More Efficient Tax System

T R REID · PENGUIN Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Bestselling author T. R. Reid voyages around the world to solve the urgent problem of America's failing tax code, unraveling a complex topic in plain English and telling a rollicking story along the way.The U.S. tax code is a total write-off. Overstuffed with loopholes and special interest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America

Richard Rothstein · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

An explosive, alarming history that finally confronts how American governments in the twentieth century deliberately imposed racial segregation on metropolitan areas nationwide. Lauded by Ta-Nehisi Coates for his "brilliant" and "fine understanding of the machinery of government...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poisoned: How a Crime-Busting Prosecutor Turned His Medical Mystery into a Crusade for Environmental Victims

Kent Heckenlively · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

After years of prosecuting hard-core criminals, rising legal star Alan Bell took a private sector job in South Florida's newest skyscraper. Suddenly, he suffered such bizarre medical symptoms, doctors suspected he'd been poisoned by the Mafia. Bell's rapidly declining health...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why I March: Images from The Women's March Around the World

Abrams Books · Abrams Image
Pages: 173
Format: Paperback

New York Times BestsellerIndiebound BestsellerThe Washington Post BestsellerSan Francisco Chronicle Bestseller On January 21, 2017, five million people in 82 countries and on all seven continents stood up with one voice. The Women's March began with one cause, women's rights, but quickly...
Read More check catalog