Back History | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Alps: A Human History from Hannibal to Heidi and Beyond

Stephen O'Shea · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A thrilling blend of contemporary travelogue and historical narrative about the Alps from "a graceful and passionate writer" (Washington Post) .For centuries the Alps have seen the march of armies, the flow of pilgrims and Crusaders, the feats of mountaineers, and the dreams...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Zero Fighter: Firsthand Accounts from WWII Japanese Naval Pilots

Dan King · Pacific
Pages: 292
Format: Book

Firsthand accounts from interviews conducted in Japan with five WWII Japanese Naval aviators. All are veterans of the pivotal battles of the Pacific War including; USS Panay, Nanking, Pearl Harbor, Wake Island, Rabaul, Port Darwin, Indian Ocean Raid, Ceylon, Midway, Guadalcanal, Marshall...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Balkan Genocides: Holocaust and Ethnic Cleansing in the Twentieth Century

Paul Mojzes · Rowman & Littlefield
Pages: 299
Format: Print book

During the twentieth century, the Balkan Peninsula was affected by three major waves of genocides and ethnic cleansings, some of which are still being denied today. In Balkan Genocides Paul Mojzes provides a balanced and detailed account of these events, placing them in their proper historical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Great Crossings: Indians, Settlers, and Slaves in the Age of Jackson

Christina Snyder · Oxford University Press
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

In Great Crossings: Indians, Settlers, and Slaves in the Age of Jackson, prize-winning historian Christina Snyder reinterprets the history of Jacksonian America. Most often, this drama focuses on whites who turned west to conquer a continent, extending "liberty" as they went....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Open to Debate: How William F. Buckley Put Liberal America on the Firing Line

Heather Hendershot · Broadside
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

A unique and compelling portrait of William F. Buckley as the champion of conservative ideas in an age of liberal dominance, taking on the smartest adversaries he could find while singlehandedly reinventing the role of public intellectual in the network television era.When Firing Line premiered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Third War

Jay Solomon · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

For readers of Steve Coll's Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower comes a riveting, deeply reported exploration of the decades-long power struggle between Iran and the United States that led to a historic - and potentially disastrous - nuclear deal. For more than a decade,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book That Changed America: How Darwin's Theory of Evolution Ignited a Nation

Randall Fuller · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 302
Format: eBook

A compelling portrait of a unique moment in American history when the ideas of Charles Darwin reshaped American notions about nature, religion, science and race"A lively and informative history." - The New York Times Book ReviewThroughout its history America has been torn in two by debates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Private Lives of the Tudors: Uncovering the Secrets of Britain's Greatest Dynasty

Tracy Borman · Grove
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

England's Tudor monarchs - Henry VII, Henry VIII, Edward VII, Mary I, and Elizabeth I - are perhaps the most celebrated and fascinating of all royal families in history. Their love affairs, their political triumphs, and their overturning of the religious order are the subject of countless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Call Them Trailer Trash: The Illustrated Mobile Home Story

John Brunkowski · Schiffer Publishing
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Although the phrase "trailer trash" is catchy and kitschy in describing mobile home living, this revealing peek into a stereotype that has dogged the mobile home since its earliest days challenges that label and defends the honor of the trailer home. Via nearly 400 colorful and fun images...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The History of Compacts and Cosmetics: From Victorian Times to the Present Day

Madeleine Marsh · Pen and Sword
Format: Paperback

Cosmetics have been used to increase attraction since Ancient times whilst Compacts have been a symbol of love for generations but especially since the 1920s. In this fascinating book, vintage accessories expert, Madeleine Marsh, discusses just what makes compacts so desirable and reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Five Came Back: A Story of Hollywood and the Second World War

Mark Harris · Penguin Books; Reprint edition
Format: Kindle Edition

In Pictures at a Revolution, Mark Harris turned the story of the five movies nominated for Best Picture in 1967 into a landmark work of cultural history, a book about the transformation of an art form and the larger social shift it signified. In Five Came Back, he achieves something larger...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ojibwa: People of Forests and Prairies

Michael Johnson · Firefly Books
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Ojibwa describes the history and culture of the people, and introduces their most important figures. It offers the most up-to-date and essential facts on identity, kinships, locations, populations and cultural characteristics. It presents extensive visual coverage of tribal dress and cultural...
Read More check catalog