Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Marissa Mayer and the Fight to Save Yahoo!

Nicholas Carlson · Twelve
Format: Hardcover

When Yahoo hired Google executive Mayer to be its CEO in 2012 employees rejoiced. They put posters on the walls throughout Yahoo's California headquarters. On them there was Mayer's face and one word: HOPE. But one year later, Mayer sat in front of those same employees in a huge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Southern Education of a Jersey Girl: Adventures in Life and Love in the Heart of Dixie

Jaime Primak Sullivan · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Jaime Primak Sullivan, outspoken star of Bravo TV's Jersey Belle, offers no-nonsense Southern-spun advice for navigating life and love with her signature charismatic Jersey charm in this winning fish-out-of-water tale.Jamie Primak Sullivan, a Jersey-bred, tough-as-nails PR maven - and unlikely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Playing dead : a journey through the world of death fraud

Elizabeth Greenwood · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 246
Format: Print book

A darkly comic inquiry into how to fake your own death, the disappearance industry, and the lengths to which people will go to be reborn.Is it still possible to fake your own death in the twenty-first century? With six figures of student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood was tempted to find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two and Two: McSorley's, My Dad, and Me

RAFE BARTHOLOMEW · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A deeply stirring memoir of growing up in New York City's oldest Irish bar. McSorley's Old Ale House has been serving light and dark ale in New York City's East Village since 1854. Although a Supreme Court ruling forced them to allow women inside in the 1970s, many of the bar's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Famous People Who've Met Me: A Memoir by the Man Who Discovered Prince

Owen Husney · Rothco Press
Pages: 294
Format: Paperback

"Famous People Who've Met Me" is an outrageous collection of true stories starring oddball characters, behind the scenes gurus, scoundrels, and brilliant superstars in the music business straight out of Minnesota. The unique memoir does more than just recount tales; it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vulgar Favors: The Assassination of Gianni Versace

Maureen Orth · Bantam
Pages: 548
Format: Paperback

The basis for the FX true crime series American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace, from creator Ryan Murphy and starring Edgar Ramirez, Penelope Cruz, Darren Criss, and Ricky MartinTwo months before Gianni Versace was murdered on the steps of his Miami Beach mansion by Andrew...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On His Own Terms: A Life of Nelson Rockefeller

Richard Norton Smith · Random House
Format: Hardcover

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE AND KIRKUS REVIEWSFrom acclaimed historian Richard Norton Smith comes the definitive life of an American icon: Nelson Rockefeller - one of the most complex and compelling figures of the twentieth century. Fourteen years in the making,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 Minutes to Live - Helicopter Combat in Vietnam: A Memoir by Lew Jennings

Lew Jennings · CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Pages: 365
Format: Paperback

"19 Minutes to Live" illustrates the incredible courage and determination of helicopter pilots and crews supporting those heroes that carried a rucksack and a rifle in Vietnam. Over 12,000 helicopters were used in the Vietnam War, which is why it became known as "The Helicopter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Terror in Ypsilanti: John Norman Collins Unmasked

Gregory A Fournier · Wheatmark
Pages: 516
Format: Paperback

Between the summers of 1967 through 1969, before the term serial killer was coined, a predatory killer stalked the campuses of Eastern Michigan University and the University of Michigan seeking prey until he made the arrogant mistake of killing his last victim in the basement of his uncle's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hurricane Street

Ron Kovic · Akashic Books
Pages: 238
Format: Print book

"Hurricane Street...[is] another raw expose on the cost of war. The book, which he calls a prequel, drills deep into the 17-day drama of a 1974 sit-in and hunger strike staged by Kovic and a band of fellow wounded veterans who took the federal building on Wilshire Boulevard by storm...The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Writing to Save a Life: The Louis Till File

John Edgar Wideman · Scribner
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

An award-winning writer traces the life of the father of iconic Civil Rights martyr Emmett Till - a man who was executed by the Army ten years before Emmett's murder. An evocative and personal exploration of individual and collective memory in America by one of the most formidable Black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Undiagnosed, unscrupulous and unbeatable : the paul haber story

Monty Nereim · Bookbaby
Pages: 198
Format: Print book

Undiagnosed, Unscrupulous and Unbeatable chronicles the life of a quick-witted Jewish kid who battled child abuse, manic depression, personality disorder and alcohol to become one of history s greatest and most controversial handball players. Had these issues not been a part of his life,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Love Serial Killers: The Curious Appeal of the World's Most Savage Murderers

Scott Bonn · Skyhorse Publishing
Format: Book

For decades now serial killers have taken center stage in the news and entertainment media The coverage of real-life murderers such as Ted Bundy and Jeffrey Dahmer has transformed them into ghoulish celebrities Similarly the popularity of fictional characters such as Hannibal The Cannibal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Casting Lots: Creating a Family in a Beautiful, Broken World

Susan Silverman · Da Capo Press
Pages: 233
Format: Print book

Susan Silverman grew up with parents who were, both before and after a devastating loss, atheists. Yet, as a young adult, she shocked everyone who knew her ("But you were elected Class Flirt in high school!") and became a rabbi. What was not surprising, however, was that she built...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate...
Read More check catalog