Back Ages 9-12 | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Astrotwins -- Project Blastoff

Mark Kelly · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 210
Format: Hardcover

A team of middle schoolers prepares for blastoff in this adventure from the author of the New York Times bestselling Mousetronaut, based on the childhoods of real-life astronauts Mark Kelly and his twin brother Scott.It's a long, hot summer and Scott and Mark are in big trouble for taking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Action Presidents #2: Abraham Lincoln!

Fred Van Lente · HarperCollins
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Where the history is real and the jokes are fake!The second Action Presidents book is just as fun - and funny - as the first. Legendary lumberjack and paramount president Abraham Lincoln practically jumps off the page. Did you know that Lincoln never went to college, and that he kept important...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Distance to Home

Jenn Bishop · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 230
Format: Print book

For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game. Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Frame-Up

WENDY MCLEOD MACKNIGHT · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

When Sargent Singer discovers that the paintings in his father's gallery are alive, he is pulled into a captivating world behind the frame that he never knew existed.Filled with shady characters, devious plots, and a grand art heist, this inventive mystery-adventure celebrates art and artists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jed and the Junkyard War

Steven Bohls · Disney Hyperion
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Jed is a regular kid with a normal, loving family . . . that is, if it's normal for a loving family to drop their child off in the middle of nowhere and expect him home in time for Sunday dinner. Luckily, Jed excels at being a regular kid who-armed with wit and determination-can make his way out of any situation....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Bill Gates?

Patricia Brennan Demuth · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Bill Gates, born in Seattle, Washington, in 1955, is an American business magnate, investor, philanthropist, and author. In this Who Was...? biography, children will learn of Gates' childhood passion for computer technology, which led him to revolutionize personal computers. Through the success...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hyacinth and the Stone Thief

Jacob Sager Weinstein · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious second book in a middle-grade fantasy trilogy about the magical rivers that run through the sewers of London and shape history in ways you'd never learn in school.Magic is real. History is about to be squashed.Now that Hyacinth Hayward knows about the enchanted rivers under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Would Make a Good Story Someday

Dana Alison Levy · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher comes an epic cross-country train trip for fans of Dan Santat's Are We There Yet? and Geoff Rodkey's The Tapper Twins. Pack your suitcase and climb on board with the Johnston-Fischer family. Sara Johnston-Fischer loves her family,...
Read More check catalog