Back Ages 9-12 | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
The Notations of Cooper Cameron

Jane H O'Reilly · Carolrhoda Books
Format: Hardcover

"Eleven-year-old Cooper Cameron likes things to be in order. When he eats, he chews every bite three times on each side. Sometimes he washes his hands in the air with invisible water. He invented these rituals after the death of his beloved grandfather to protect others he loves from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing King's Killer: The Hunt for Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Assassin

James L Swanson · Scholastic Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In his meteoric, thirteen-year rise to fame, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. led a mass movement for Civil Rights -- with his relentless peaceful, non-violent protests, public demonstrations, and eloquent speeches. But as violent threats cast a dark shadow over Dr. King's life, Swanson hones...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shehewe

Lee Nordling · Graphic Universe
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Alex hosts a tea party and makes new friends. Drew soars through the sky, searching for adventure. Two kids play in a park, imagining they're somewhere else. In one afternoon, the worlds of imagination and reality collide. In this clever wordless comic, Lee Nordling's simple storytelling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Las aves en la primavera / Birds in Spring

Jenny Fretland VanVoorst · Jump!
Format: Print book

In Birds in Spring, beginning readers will learn how birds mate and raise their young during the spring season. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text will engage early readers as they discover what birds do when the weather warms up.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Massively Epic Engineering Disasters: 33 Thrilling Experiments Based on History's Greatest Blunders

Sean Connolly · Workman Publishing Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

It's hands-on science with a capital "E" - for engineering. Beginning with the toppling of the Colossus of Rhodes, one of the seven wonders of the ancient world, to the destructive, laserlike sunbeams bouncing off London's infamous "Fryscraper" in 2013, here...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City

JODI KENDALL · HarperCollins
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

This delightful middle grade novel is a modern-day homage to Charlotte's Web, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern."We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! No matter how big she gets, there's always room for Hamlet in our hearts."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kat Greene Comes Clean

Melissa Roske · Charlesbridge
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Kat Greene lives in New York City and attends fifth grade in the very progressive Village Humanity School. At the moment she has three major problems - dealing with her boy-crazy best friend, partnering with the overzealous Sam in the class production of Harriet the Spy, and coping with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Medgar Evers

Ann Weil · Heinemann Library
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

This biography examines the life of Medgar Evers. The book includes biographies of other historical people and a family tree.
Read More check catalog