Back Ages 9-12 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Stuck in the Stone Age

GEOFF RODKEY · Rodale Kids
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Tom Edison (no, not that Tom Edison) is a hopeful janitor who dreams of becoming a scientist -- and Dr. Morice is a shy scientist who dreams of making friends. When an accident at the lab sends them back in time to the stone age, Tom and Dr. Morice must work together to face down cavemen,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Bones

Lisa McMann · Aladdin
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond Artimé in the second novel in the New York Times bestselling sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called "The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter."The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science of Breakable Things

Tae Keller · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An emotionally-charged new classic about the science of hope, love, and miracles! Natalie's uplifting story of using the scientific method to "save" her mother from depression is sure to take root in readers' hearts!How do you grow a miracle? For the record, this is not the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Boy

CATHERINE GILBERT MURDOCK · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock.This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dam Keeper

Robert Kondo · First Second
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Life in Sunrise Valley is tranquil, but beyond its borders lies certain death. A dangerous black fog looms outside the village, but its inhabitants are kept safe by an ingenious machine known as the dam. Pig's father built the dam and taught him how to maintain it. And then this brilliant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flower Moon

GINA LINKO · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Tally Jo and Tempest Trimble are mirror twins, so alike they were almost born the same person. Inseparable, but more than that. Connected. That is, until this summer. The twins are traveling with Pa Charlie's carnival just like always, but there's a new distance between them. Tempest is so caught...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Overnight

SARAH MLYNOWSKI · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

It's time for the Upside-Down Magic class to go on a field trip--a sleepover field trip! But things go wonky from the start, and soon there's a dragon to deal with.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Double Play: Baseball Genius

Tim Green · Aladdin
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Jalen DeLuca and his hero New York Yankee James "JY" Yager must team up to prove themselves in this sequel to Tim Green and Derek Jeter's New York Times bestselling novel, Baseball Genius.Jalen DeLuca loves baseball. He's playing for his summer travel team and trying to win a regular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tapper Twins Go Viral

Geoff Rodkey · Little
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Told as a series of interviews, photos, texts, social media hits, and videogame screenshots, The Tapper Twins Go Viral is a laugh-a-page book with a serious lesson: never feed the internet trolls Claudia Tapper just doesn't get it: How is it possible that the video of the best breakup...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can Start a Band!

Ruth Owen · Windmill Books
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Readers will rock around the clock with this amazing guide to starting their first band! Full of step-by-step activities and accompanying photographs, this book is bursting with ideas to inspire eager musicians. Theyll create their own unique style and sound, while also learning the basics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Kids Bird Guide of North America, Second Edition

Jonathan K Alderfer · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 208
Format: Library Binding

Fly into the world of birds in the most complete guide for kids to North America's birds, featuring range maps, cool facts, fun activities, and detailed descriptions and drawings by Jonathan Alderfer, one of the country's top avian experts and artists.Kids can soar with peregrine falcons...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Confronting the Dragon: Book Three in the Gameknight999 Series: An Unofficial Minecrafter's Adventure

Mark Cheverton · Sky Pony Press
Format: Print book

An evil army threatens to destroy all of Minecraft in the third Gameknight999 adventure!The ghast king Malacoda and the terrible enderman Erebus have led their monster army to the server that houses the Source, with plans to destroy Minecraft and all the digital lives on its servers before...
Read More check catalog