Back Politics | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
Exoneree Diaries: The Fight for Innocence, Independence, and Identity

Alison Flowers · Haymarket Books
Pages: 280
Format: Print book

Through intimate portraits of four exonerated prisoners, journalist Alison Flowers explores what happens to innocent people when the state flings open the jailhouse door and tosses them back, empty-handed into the unknown. From the front lines of the wrongful conviction capital of the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hillary's America

Dinesh D'Souza · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

Dinesh D'Souza has a warning: We are on the brink of losing our country forever. After eight years of Obama, four years -- or possibly eight years -- of Hillary Clinton as president of the United States would so utterly transform America as to make it unrecognizable. No more will America...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Money: 2.5 Billion Dollars, One Suspicious Vehicle, and a Pimp—on the Trail of the Ultra-Rich Hijacking American Politics

Kenneth P Vogel · PublicAffairs
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Mark Hanna - the turn-of-the-century iron-and-coal-magnate-turned-operative who leveraged massive contributions from the robber barons - was famously quoted as saying: "There are two things that are important in politics. The first is money, and I can't remember what the second one is."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fractured Lands: How the Arab World Came Apart

Scott Anderson · Anchor
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

From the bestselling author of Lawrence in Arabia, a piercing account of how the contemporary Arab world came to be riven by catastrophe since the 2003 United States invasion of Iraq.In 2011, a series of anti-government uprisings shook the Middle East and North Africa in what would become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pay Any Price: Greed, Power, and Endless War

James Risen · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014.
Pages: 285
Format: Print book

War corrupts. Endless war corrupts absolutely. Ever since 9/11 America has fought an endless war on terror, seeking enemies everywhere and never promising peace. In Pay Any Price, James Risen reveals an extraordinary litany of the hidden costs of that war: from squandered and stolen dollars,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Queer Virtue: What LGBTQ People Know About Life and Love and How It Can Revitalize Christianity

Elizabeth M Edman · Beacon Press
Pages: 181
Format: Print book

LGBTQ people are a gift to the Church and have the potential to revitalize Christianity.As an openly lesbian Episcopal priest and professional advocate for LGBTQ justice, the Reverend Elizabeth Edman has spent her career grappling with the core tenets of her faith. After deep reflection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Speaking American: How Y'all, Youse , and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide

Josh Katz · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

From the creator of the New York Times dialect quiz that ignited conversations about how and why we say the words we say, a stunning and delightful exploration of American language Did you know that your answers to just a handful of questions can reveal where you grew up? In December 2013,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stronger Together

Hillary Rodham Clinton · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

For more than a year, Hillary Clinton has laid out an ambitious agenda to improve the lives of the American people and make our country stronger and safer. Stronger Together presents that agenda in full, relating stories from the American people and outlining the Clinton/Kaine campaign's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clay Water Brick: Finding Inspiration from Entrepreneurs Who Do the Most with the Least

Jessica Jackley · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 191
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Kabul Beauty School and Start Something That Matters comes an inspiring story of social entrepreneurship from the co-founder of Kiva, the first online microlending platform for the working poor. Featuring lessons learned from successful businesses in the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brave New Weed: Adventures into the Uncharted World of Cannabis

Joe Dolce · Harperwave
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The former editor-in-chief of Details and Star adventures into the fascinating "brave new world" of cannabis, tracing its history and possible future as he investigates the social, medical, legal, and cultural ramifications of this surprisingly versatile plant.Pot. Weed. Grass....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragnet Nation: A Quest for Privacy, Security, and Freedom in a World of Relentless Surveillance

Julia Angwin · Times Books
Format: Hardcover

An inside look at who's watching you, what they know and why it matters. We are being watched.We see online ads from websites we've visited, long after we've moved on to other interests. Our smartphones and cars transmit our location, enabling us to know what's in the neighborhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spam Nation: The Inside Story of Organized Cybercrime-from Global Epidemic to Your Front Door

Brian Krebs · Sourcebooks
Format: Hardcover

Now a New York Times bestsellerThere is a Threat Lurking Online with the Power to Destroy Your Finances Steal Your Personal Data and Endanger Your LifeIn Spam Nation investigative journalist and cybersecurity expert Brian Krebs unmasks the criminal masterminds driving some of the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Your Roots: The Official Companion to the PBS Series

Henry Louis Gates Jr. · The University of North Carolina Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Who are we, and where do we come from? The fundamental drive to answer these questions is at the heart of Finding Your Roots, the companion book to the PBS documentary series seen by 30 million people. As Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates Jr. shows us, the tools of cutting-edge genomics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Radicals: In the War for American Ideals

JEREMY MCCARTER · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Hamilton: The Revolution, a stunning group portrait of five American radicals fighting for their ideals as the country goes mad around them Where do we find our ideals? What does it mean to live for them - and to risk dying for them?...
Read More check catalog