Back Politics | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Politics  
120 Banned Books: Censorship Histories of World Literature
120 Banned Books: Censorship Histories of World Literature

Nicholas J. Karolides · Checkmark Books; 2 edition
Format: Book

Presents summaries and censorship accounts of books that have been banned throughout history for political, religious, sexual, and social reasons.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Defusing the Angry Patron: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians, Second Edition
Defusing the Angry Patron: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians, Second Edition

Rhea Joyce Rubin · Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc.; Second Edition edition
Format: Paperback

How do libraries deal with angry comments on their websites, blogs, or social networks? Does having a security staff actually help defuse angry users? How can library staff members best respond to frustrated users who get angry in a chat reference setting? Here, renowned library consultant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beating Obamacare: Your Handbook for the New Healthcare Law
Beating Obamacare: Your Handbook for the New Healthcare Law

Betsy McCaughey · Regnery Publishing; First edition
Format: Paperback

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act has been a political football for years now, but as its provisions start going into effect, theres still precious little information available on how it will impact you, your family, and your pocketbook. This 2,572 page document, nearly unreadable,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Disaster Preparedness Handbook: A Guide For Families
The Disaster Preparedness Handbook: A Guide For Families

Arthur T. Bradley · Castle Books; 2 edition
Format: Hardcover

The Disaster Preparedness Handbook will motivate you not only to become better prepared but will also show you how to prepare effectively. It offers well-researched advice that can be put into practice in the real world by normal families. This handbook is organized around the basic needs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Divide: American Injustice in the Age of the Wealth Gap
The Divide: American Injustice in the Age of the Wealth Gap

Matt Taibbi · Random House
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST, NPR, AND KIRKUS REVIEWSA scathing portrait of an urgent new American crisis Over the last two decades, America has been falling deeper and deeper into a statistical mystery: Poverty goes up. Crime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Encyclopedia of Giants and Humanoids in Myth, Legend and Folklore
Encyclopedia of Giants and Humanoids in Myth, Legend and Folklore

Theresa Bane · McFarland & Company
Pages: 203
Format: Print book

Every culture has in its folklore and mythology beings of immense size and strength, as well as other preternatural humanoids great or small who walk among us, serving the divine or fulfilling their own agendas. This book catalogs the lore and legends of more than 1,000 different humanoid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infiltrated: How to Stop the Insiders and Activists Who Are Exploiting the Financial Crisis to Control Our Lives and Our Fortunes
Infiltrated: How to Stop the Insiders and Activists Who Are Exploiting the Financial Crisis to Control Our Lives and Our Fortunes

Jay W. Richards · McGraw-Hill Education; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

What Every American Needs to Know About the War on Free Enterprise--and Freedom Itself America be warned. A new wave of financial reformers has infiltrated our public institutions at both the state and national levels. A growing army of self-proclaimed activists, philanthropists, and politicians...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Islamic Exceptionalism: How the Struggle Over Islam Is Reshaping the World
Islamic Exceptionalism: How the Struggle Over Islam Is Reshaping the World

Shadi Hamid · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

In Islamic Exceptionalism, Brookings Institution scholar and acclaimed author Shadi Hamid offers a novel and provocative argument on how Islam is, in fact, "exceptional" in how it relates to politics, with profound implications for how we understand the future of the Middle East....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Makers and Takers: The Rise of Finance and the Fall of American Business
Makers and Takers: The Rise of Finance and the Fall of American Business

Rana Foroohar · Crown Business
Pages: 388
Format: Print book

Eight years on from the biggest market meltdown since the Great Depression, the key lessons of the crisis of 2008 still remain unlearned - and our financial system is just as vulnerable as ever. Many of us know that our government failed to fix the banking system after the subprime mortgage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World's Most Wanted Man
The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World's Most Wanted Man

Luke Harding · Vintage Books
Pages: 346
Format: Paperback

IT BEGAN WITH A TANTALIZING, ANONYMOUS EMAIL: "I AM A SENIOR MEMBER OF THE INTELLIGENCE COMMUNITY." What followed was the most spectacular intelligence breach ever, brought about by one extraordinary man. Edward Snowden was a 29-year-old computer genius working for the National...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Speak Now: Marriage Equality on Trial
Speak Now: Marriage Equality on Trial

Kenji Yoshino · Crown
Format: Hardcover

A renowned legal scholar tells the definitive story of Hollingsworth v. Perry, the trial that will stand as the most potent argument for marriage equalitySpeak Now tells the story of a watershed trial that unfolded over twelve tense days in California in 2010. A trial that legalized same-sex...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unstoppable: The Emerging Left-Right Alliance to Dismantle the Corporate State
Unstoppable: The Emerging Left-Right Alliance to Dismantle the Corporate State

Ralph Nader · Nation Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Ralph Nader has fought for over fifty years on behalf of American citizens against the reckless influence of corporations and their government patrons on our society. Now he ramps up the fight and makes a persuasive case that Americans are not powerless. In Unstoppable, he explores the emerging...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weed the People: The Future of Legal Marijuana in America
Weed the People: The Future of Legal Marijuana in America

Bruce Barcott · Time Home Entertainment
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The legalization of marijuana is the next great reversal of history. Perhaps the most demonized substance in America, scientifically known as Cannabis sativa, simply a very fast growing herb, thrived underground as the nation's most popular illegal drug. Now the tide has shifted: In 1996...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life
The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life

Jonathan F P Rose · Harper Wave
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

In the vein of Jane Jacobs's The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Edward Glaeser's Triumph of the City, Jonathan F. P. Rose - a visionary in urban development and renewal - champions the role of cities in addressing the environmental, economic, and social challenges of the twenty-first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weeding Handbook: A Shelf-by-Shelf Guide
The Weeding Handbook: A Shelf-by-Shelf Guide

Rebecca Vnuk · American Library Association
Pages: 218
Format: Paperback

No! We can t rid of that! Vnuk, author of the popular Weeding Tips column on BOOKLIST Online, is here to show you that yes, you can. A library is an ever-changing organism; when done the right way, weeding helps a library thrive by focusing its resources on those parts of the collection...
Read More check catalog