Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Sixty: A Diary of My Sixty-First Year: The Beginning of the End, or the End of the Beginning?

Ian Brown · The Experiment
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From a multiple-award-winning author and journalist, a dispatch - at once funny, serious, informative, wistful, and hopeful - from the line between middle-aged and soon-to-be elderly "This is the thing, you see: I am on my way to being an old man. But at sixty, I am still the youngest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
So Much Things to Say: The Oral History of Bob Marley

ROGER STEFFENS · W W NORTON
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The definitive oral history of Bob Marley by one of the world's foremost reggae scholars. Bob Marley's life is the stuff of legend. Raised in the slums of Kingston, Jamaica, Marley (1945-1981) wrote songs that inspired millions. So Much Things to Say tells Marley's life story like never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild

James Campbell · Crown Publishers
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The powerful and affirming story of a father's journey with his teenage daughter to the far reaches of Alaska Alaska's Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, home to only a handful of people, is a harsh and lonely place. So when James Campbell's cousin Heimo Korth asked him to spend a summer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madame President

Helene Cooper · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The harrowing, but triumphant story of Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, leader of the Liberian women's movement, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, and the first democratically elected female president in African history.When Ellen Johnson Sirleaf won the 2005 Liberian presidential election, she demolished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Jim St Germain · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause - until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Schadenfreude, A Love Story: Me, the Germans, and 20 Years of Attempted Transformations, Unfortunate Miscommunications, and Humiliating Situations That Only They Have Words For

Rebecca Schuman · Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"This book is a wild and wonderful ride. Your guide, Rebecca Schuman, is a super-smart and very funny person who writes brilliantly about Germany and Germans (who are not what you think) and being young and insane and life in general and ... just read it, OK?"-Dave BarryYou...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Queen of Bebop: The Musical Lives of Sarah Vaughan

ELAINE M HAYES · ECCO
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Queen of Bebop brilliantly chronicles the life of jazz singer Sarah Vaughan, one of the most influential and innovative musicians of the twentieth century and a pioneer of women's and civil rightsSarah Vaughan, a pivotal figure in the formation of bebop, influenced a broad array of singers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Mind at Play: How Claude Shannon Invented the Information Age

Jimmy Soni · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The life and times of one of the foremost intellects of the twentieth century: Claude Shannon - the neglected architect of the Information Age, whose insights stand behind every computer built, email sent, video streamed, and webpage loaded.Claude Shannon was a groundbreaking polymath,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jane Austen at Home: A Biography

LUCY WORSLEY · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen's world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity,...
Read More check catalog