Back Ages 4-8 | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
The Princess and the Pit Stop

Tom Angleberger · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Once upon a time there was a Princess . . .
. . . who made a pit stop.
While the Birds and Beasts changed her tires, her Fairy Godmother told her she was in last place! With just one lap left! She might as well give up!
Give up? Not THIS princess! Instead,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crocodile Who Didn't like Water

Gemma Merino · NorthSouth (NY)
Pages: 24
Format: Hardcover

Meet a most unusual crocodile!



Everybody knows that crocodiles love water, but this little crocodile is different - he doesn't like it at all! He tries to his best to change, but when attempt at swimming causes a shiver then a sneeze - could it be that this little crocodile...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cece Loves Science and Adventure

Kimberly Derting · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Cece loves science and adventure!

In this STEM-themed picture book, the second in a series, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin.

Illustrated by New York Times-bestseller Vashti Harrison,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Mumbet's Declaration of Independence

Gretchen Woelfle · Carolrhoda Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"""All men are born free and equal."" Everybody knows about the Founding Fathers and the Declaration of Independence in 1776. But the founders weren't the only ones who believed that everyone had a right to freedom. Mumbet, a Massachusetts slave, believed it too....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ojiichan's Gift

Chieri Uegaki · Kids Can Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When Mayumi was born, her grandfather created a garden for her. It was unlike any other garden she knew. It had no flowers or vegetables. Instead, Ojiichan made it out of stones: ?big ones, little ones and ones in-between.? Every summer, Mayumi visits her grandfather in Japan, and they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Made by Raffi

Craig Pomranz · Frances Lincoln Children's Bks
Format: Hardcover

Raffi is a shy boy who doesn?t like noisy games and is often teased at school. But when he gets the idea of making a scarf for his dad?s birthday he is full of enthusiasm, even though the other children think it is girly to knit. Then the day draws near for the school pageant, and there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is MY Fort!

Drew Daywalt · Orchard Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

Meet Monkey and Cake.
Cake has lots of questions. Monkey has lots of answers.
They are silly. They are curious.
Sometimes they fight.
But Monkey and Cake are always best friends.


When Cake decides to build an exclusive fort, Monkey feels left out. But before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rodzilla

Rob Sanders · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

This just in! There's a Rodzilla on the loose! Is he a monster ... or just your typical toddler? Tune in for the full report in this riotous picture book from Rob Sanders and Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat.

Rodzilla is the mightiest toddler to ever roam the streets of the city. Marvel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Truly Brave Princesses

Dolores Brown · NubeOcho
Pages: 44
Format: Hardcover

Princess Nin is a firefighter, Princess Gilda is a supermarket cashier, Princess Agnes is retired, and Princess Liang is in a wheel chair. This gallery of princesses gives visibility to lot of women who do not fit with the traditional conception of a princess. Maybe it's time to realize...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pullman Porter

Vanita Oelschlager · VanitaBooks, LLC,
Pages: 44
Format: Print book

Children and adults under the age of 40 are forgetting about the Pullman Porter. They were very important figures in the history of American. This book will teach children and adults, who the porters were and why they were so important in our history. Porters worked in early train cars,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Well-Mannered Young Wolf

Jean Leroy · Eerdmans Books for Young Readers
Pages: 30
Format: Print book

A hilarious story about why manners matter

One morning, a young wolf eagerly sets out on his first hunting trip. But before he can devour his prey, he must honor their final wishes, just as his parents taught him to do. But the wolf's would-be meals aren't quite as honorable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Wants to Be a Princess?: What It Was Really Like to Be a Medieval Princess

Bridget Heos · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Did you ever wish to be a princess? Have you ever wanted to wear a pretty pink gown, sing to your forest animal friends, and attend a fancy fairy-tale ball?

Then meet Beatrice -- she represents what being a princess in the Middle Ages was really like. Pink gown? More like...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Harold & Hog Pretend For Real!

Dan Santat · Hyperion Books for Children
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover


Hog is careful. Harold is not.Harold cannot help smiling. Hog can.Hog worries so that Harold does not have to.
Harold and Hog are best friends. But can Harold and Hog's friendship survive a game of pretending to be Elephant & Piggie?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peeper and Zeep

Adam Gudeon · Holiday House
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

Peeper the bird and Zeep the alien both love to fly. When the little bird and the young alien meet after a tumble from the sky, they must band together to figure out a way home. With the help of the innovative but eccentric A. Frog, the three friends try various machines to get Peeper and Zeep...
Read More check catalog