Back Ages 4-8 | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Won Ton and Chopstick: A Cat and Dog Tale Told in Haiku

Lee Wardlaw · Henry Holt
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Won Ton has a happy life with his Boy, until ... Ears perk. Fur prickles. Belly low, I creep ... peek ... FREEZE!My eyes full of Doom.A new puppy arrives, and nothing will be the same.Told entirely in haiku and with plenty of catitude, the story of how Won Ton faces down the enemy is a fresh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shoe Dog

Megan McDonald · Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Shoe Dog loves to chew ... well, shoes! But when his choice of chewables leads to trouble, a feline friend has a purr-fect solution.Shoe Dog likes to chew. And chew and chew. But he doesn't chew a boring old bone. Not a squeaky old toy. Not a smelly old sock. Nope. Shoe Dogs chews ... well,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crab Cake: Turning the Tide Together

Andrea Tsurumi · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Under the sea, a crab follows its heart and its calling, bringing everyone together in the wake of a disaster. Feed your craving for a hilarious, heart-warming story with Crab Cake, perfect for budding environmentalists, kids learning to cope with mishaps, and every young reader in between....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Field

Baptiste Paul · NorthSouth Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A soccer story - for boy and girls alike - just in time for the World Cup!"Vini! Come! The field calls!" cries a girl as she and her younger brother rouse their community - family, friends, and the local fruit vendor - for a pickup soccer (futbol) game. Boys and girls, young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mickey Mantle: The Commerce Comet

Jonah Winter · schwartz & Wade books
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

The ONLY nonfiction picture book about New York Yankee Mickey Mantle, one of the greatest baseball players of all time. From award-winning author Jonah Winter and #1 New York Times bestselling artist C. F. Payne comes this extraordinary picture-book biography that traces Mickey Mantle's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lana's World: Let's Go to the Moon

Erica Silverman · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

When little Lana suggests a family adventure to the moon, Papa, Mama, Jay, Ray, and even Furry the dog, have excuses not to go. But that's not enough to stop the imaginative and resourceful Lana from rocketing into space and ultimately getting her whole family to blast off with her....
Read More check catalog
 
 
If You Had a Jetpack

Lisl H Detlefsen · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A fun and creative answer to the question "what would YOU do if you had a jetpack?" perfect for fans of Boy and Bot and How to Train a Train.Having a jetpack is fun--if you know what to do with one. If you had a jetpack, you could: * Teach your brother how to build one too....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born in the Wild: Baby Mammals and Their Parents

Lita Judge · Roaring Brook Press
Format: Hardcover

What do grizzly bear cubs eat? Where do baby raccoons sleep? And how does a baby otter learn to swim?Every baby mammal, from a tiny harvest mouse "pinky" to a fierce lion cub, needs food, shelter, love, and a family. Filled with illustrations of some of the most adorable babies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy, Star of Stage and Screen

Jane O'Connor · Harpercollins Childrens B, 2016.
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Now in paperback - Nancy Clancy is ready for her close-up in the fifth installment in the Nancy Clancy chapter book series by New York Times bestselling team Jane O'Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser!It's Nancy's time to shine as she takes center stage in the school play! There's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Monsterator

Keith Graves · Roaring Brook Press
Format: Hardcover

When he entered a dusty costume store,one that he hadnt seen beforeHe got what hed bargained for . . . and more.Enter the Monsterator if you dare.Put a coin in the slot . . . but beware! Join Master Edgar Dreadbury as he discovers the Monsterator, a machine that changes people into monsters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nadia: The Girl Who Couldn't Sit Still

Karlin Gray · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Nadia Comaneci was a feisty and fearless little girl who went from climbing trees in the forests of Romania to swinging into history at the 1976 Olympic Games, where she received an unprecedented seven perfect scores in gymnastics. But as readers will see in this first-ever illustrated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Book or Bell?

Chris Barton · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The first page has Henry hooked.The second page has him captivated.The third page . . .BBBBRRRRIIIIINNNNNGGGGG!. . . will have to wait.That is, unless Henry ignores the bell, stays put, and keeps on reading the most awesome book.By not springing up with the ringing of the bell, Henry sets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Timo's Garden

Victoria Allenby · Pajama Press, 2015.
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

At first, the Great, Green Garden Tour sounds like a lot of fun. Before long, though, young rabbit Timo starts to find that it's a lot of pressure. Can he really call his garden "great?" Maybe it needs one little change ... or a few ... or a lot. Anxious to make his garden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roger Is Going Fishing

KOEN VAN BIESEN · Eerdmans Books for Young Readers
Pages: 42
Format: Hardcover

Roger and his neighbor Emily are heading to the lake to do some fishing. But the city sidewalks are crowded - so crowded that Emily accidentally catches a few things that are decidedly not fish. A small mob starts to chase after her and Roger, but soon everyone discovers that a trip to the lake...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Circle, Square, Moose

Kelly Bingham · Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

In this companion to the acclaimed Z Is for Moose, Moose infiltrates a book about shapes (because he loves shapes, naturally) and it is up to his best friend, Zebra, to restore order and save the day. Another triumph from the award-winning team of Kelly Bingham and Paul O. Zelinsky.This...
Read More check catalog