Back Children's Books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Space Boy and the Snow Monster

DIAN REGAN · Boyds Mills Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Niko and his trusty dog Tag blast off on another easy-to-read outer-space adventure, the third book in the Space Boy trilogy!Niko and Tag are on their way to space when suddenly Niko?s robot copilot is captured by a snow monster (who looks an awful lot like Niko?s annoying sister, Posh)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
That Fruit Is Mine!

Anuska Allepuz · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When five fruit-loving elephants spot a scrumptious hard-to-reach fruit high up in a tree, it's a race to see who can claim it first! But after one too many fumbles, the elephants begin to lose their cool, and the highly coveted fruit is whisked away by the teeny-tiniest of all jungle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pixar Animation Studio Artist Showcase Over There

Steve Pilcher · Disney Press
Format: Hardcover

Shredder is a little shrew who lives by himself, and while he loves his forest home, he gets a bit lonely. There must be something more, he thinks. So when he sees a "silver line twinkling in the distance," he decides to find out what it is. He discovers a beautiful stream, but then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perfectly Norman

Tom Percival · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Meet Norman. Norman is normal--perfectly normal.That's until he grows a pair of wings!Norman loves his new wings, but he's worried about everyone will think. After all, they're definitely NOT normal. Norman decides to cover them with a big coat, but hiding such a big part of his life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Say Zoop!

HERVE TULLET · Chronicle Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

PRESS HERE, MIX IT UP!, LET'S PLAY! and now SAY ZOOP! Collect all four interactive books from Hervé Tullet!

Make some noise! Shout "OH!" Whisper "oh!" Say "Zoop"? Yes! "Zoop!" "Zoop!" "Zoop!" The newest book from Hervé...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Had a Raptor

George O'Connor · Candlewick
Format: Hardcover

A spunky and imaginative little girl dreams of the best pet ever — a fuzzy baby raptor to snuggle. Our heroine can’t think of anything better than bringing home a baby raptor — all teensy and tiny, fluffy and funny. It would cuddle and play, stalk birds and dust bunnies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Past: From Trilobites to Dinosaurs to Mammoths in More Than 500 Million Years

DAVID ELLIOTT · Candlewick
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Return to the prehistoric era and discover a host of creatures both novel and familiar, from the mysterious trilobite to the famed T. rex.

Care to meet a dunkleosteus? An apatosaurus? How about the dragonflyesque meganaura? In a collection that's organized chronologically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mousie, I Will Read to You

Rachael Cole · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Like Rosemary Wells's Read to Your Bunny and with the charm of The Wonderful Things You Will Be, this gorgeous book will surely appeal to families who want their children to become lifelong readers.

Long before the words make sense, Mousie,
I will read...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Albert's Tree

JENNI DESMOND · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Waa! Waa! Why is Albert's favorite tree crying? And how can he cheer it up? From artist Jenni Desmond comes a warm and funny story about finding a new friend in a very unexpected place.

Awake after his long sleep, Albert the bear can't wait to spend time in his own special...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thunder Pug

Kim Norman · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"Navigating friendships and popularity can be difficult for youngsters; Percy is a shining example of empowerment." - Kirkus

What's a superhero without a sidekick? This delightful follow-up to the popular Puddle Pug brings back that perfectly THUNDER-ful pug-and-pig...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Superbat

Matt Carr · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Pat is an ordinary bat who wants nothing more than to be special. But when he proclaims himself a superbat, the other bats laugh and say that anything he can do, like fly and navigate through the dark, they can do too.



Disheartened that his friends have the same superpowers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah

Emily Jenkins · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The beloved characters from Sydney Taylor's All-of-a-Kind Family return in this heartwarming picture book from a critically adored team--perfect for Hanukkah gift-giving!

Acclaimed author Emily Jenkins (A Greyhound, a Groundhog) and Caldecott Award-winning artist Paul...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crabby Crab

Chris Raschka · Harry N. Abrams
Format: Hardcover

Theme: Feeling Grumpy. Crabby Crab is not in a good mood. No, Crabby Crab would rather complain than do anything else! Young readers will be drawn in by this humorous look into an all-too-familiar situation, and be comforted in the end. Chris Raschka's expert balance of visual and textual...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Little Chick

Geraldine Elschner · minedition
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Lena liked to sit in her mother's garden and watch the chickens. But something is missing in this happy group of hens...a sweet little chick! How fortunate that plump little Alma had just laid an egg. But to Lena's surprise, Alma does not seem interested in hatching it. Lena makes a snap...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlotte and the Rock

Stephen W Martin · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that's perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird....
Read More check catalog