Back Children's Books | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo!

Jill Esbaum · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A high-stakes adventure and hilarious ode to self-esteem for fans of Oliver Jeffers, Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, and Louise, The Adventures of a Chicken.Nadine can talk a blue streak, and one day she tells a real whopper: she isn't afraid of anything--no siree! Then her friends...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Curious Critters Marine

David FitzSimmons · Wild Iris Publishing
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

With images so stunningly life-like, so fabulously detailed, you'll believe you are swimming in the sea! Curious Critters: Marine features some of North America's most incredible marine animals captured through the award-winning photography of David FitzSimmons. The amazing photographs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hedgehog

Ashlyn Anstee · Tundra Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Hedgehog is hogging the hedge and won't let the other animals live there. In this humorous political allegory, he learns that it's not a winning strategy.Winter is coming, and the animals need homes. The worms move in with the groundhogs. The possums share a burrow with the foxes....
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can Do It, Bert!

Ole Könnecke · Gecko Press
Format: Hardcover

You Can Do It, Bert! is the perfect picture book for anyone embarking on a new adventure. This is Berts big day. He is well prepared, mentally and physically. But he might need some encouragement. You Can do it, Bert! is a simple, funny picture book with an encouraging positive message....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mary Had a Little Lab

Sue Fliess · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Mary is an enterprising young inventor. She wants a pet, but it isn't one she can easily buy ... so she makes one with the Sheepinator! Mary's pet sheep and her new invention make her popular with her classmates. But when she starts making sheep for her new friends, things go hilariously...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Baby Animals Playing

Suzi Eszterhas · Owlkids
Pages: 24
Format: Hardcover

Around the world, baby animals use play to learn and practice important skills. Whether it's baby lemurs climbing trees, giraffe calves galloping in the grass, or cheetah brothers wrestling, baby animals at play are not only adorable -- they can teach us about animal behavior, too. The first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Piglet Named Mercy

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Every porcine wonder was once a piglet! Celebrate the joy of a new arrival with this endearing picture-book prequel to the New York Times best-selling Mercy Watson series.Mr. Watson and Mrs. Watson live ordinary lives. Sometimes their lives feel a bit too ordinary. Sometimes they wish something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finders Keepers

Keiko Kasza · G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) , 2015.
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Fans of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie will love this new preschool gem from beloved storyteller Keiko KaszaA hat is not just a hat in these woods!From tree branch to stream to flower patch - wherever the hat lands, someone knows exactly what to do with it and exclaims, "Finders, keepers!"But...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grandpa Cacao: A Tale of Chocolate, from Farm to Family

Elizabeth Zunon · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

This beautifully illustrated story connects past and present as a girl bakes a chocolate cake with her father and learns about her grandfather harvesting cacao beans in West Africa.Chocolate is the perfect treat, everywhere! As a little girl and her father bake her birthday cake together,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Toucans, Too

Bethanie Deeney Murguia · little bee books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

This hilarious follow-up book to Cockatoo, Too features cockatoos, toucans, two-can stew, and gnus!One can. Two cans. Toucans?Toucans, too.Toucan stew???!The cockatoos are back, and the toucans are too! But the toucans think the cockatoos say "toucan stew" and run away in a toucan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Lion Is a Lion

POLLY DUNBAR · Candlewick
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Is a lion still a lion if he wears a hat? With whimsical illustrations and a nod to earlier classics, Polly Dunbar celebrates the shrewd mind of a child - and the power of saying no.Is a lion still a lion . . . if he skips down the street singing "Hoobie-doobie-doo"?Dapper in his hat and flourishing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red and Lulu

MATT TAVARES · Candlewick
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Separation and miles cannot keep a determined cardinal from his loved one in an ode to serendipity and belief that is destined to be a new Christmas classic.Red and Lulu make their nest in a particularly beautiful evergreen tree. It shades them in the hot months and keeps them cozy in the cold...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Old MacDonald Had a Boat

Steve Goetz · Chronicle Books LLC
Pages: 44
Format: Print Length

Old Mac and Mrs. Mac are at it again! This time, these DIY-happy farmers wield a host of noisy tools - from hammers to sanders, and even a blowtorch - to soup up their rusty old fishing boat. With a BANG BANG here and a BUZZ BUZZ there, this silly, summery sequel to the wildly popular Old MacDonald...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Poesy Ring: A Love Story

BOB GRAHAM · Candlewick
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Cast into the wind, a gold ring makes its way across the world in this heartwarming saga, Bob Graham's ode to romance and love.When a young woman with tears in her eyes throws a gold ring into the wind in 1830, the ring settles in a meadow, and there it stays as the seasons pass - and then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Splat!

JON BURGERMAN · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

For fans of The Book with No Pictures and Press Here, this hilarious interactive picture book lets kids in on the joke. "A brilliantly playful book that experiments with the physical boundaries of the book as an object, encouraging interaction and imagination." - Oliver Jeffers,...
Read More check catalog