Back Science | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Elephant Don: The Politics of a Pachyderm Posse

Caitlin O'Connell · University Of Chicago Press
Format: Hardcover

Meet Greg. Hes a stocky guy with an outsized swagger. Hes been the intimidating yet sociable don of his posse of friends—including Abe, Keith, Mike, Kevin, Torn Trunk, and Willie. But one arid summer the tide begins to shift and the third-ranking Kevin starts to get ambitious, seeking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zika: The Emerging Epidemic

Donald G. McNeil Jr. · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 203
Format: Print book

A gripping narrative about the origins and spread of the Zika virus by New York Times science reporter Donald G. McNeil Jr.

Until recently, Zika -- once considered a mild disease -- was hardly a cause for global panic. But as early as August 2015, doctors in northeast Brazil began...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Skeptics' Guide to the Universe: How to Know What's Really Real in a World Increasingly Full of Fake

Steven Novella · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

An all-encompassing guide to skeptical thinking in the popular The Skeptics Guide to the Universe podcast's dryly humorous, accessible style, which Professor Richard Wiseman calls the "the perfect primer for anyone who wants to separate fact from fiction."
It's intimidating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Disordered Mind: What Unusual Brains Tell Us About Ourselves

Eric R Kandel · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Nobel Prize recipient Eric R. Kandel investigates The Disordered Mind to uncover what brain disorders reveal about human nature. This challenging study will not only help transform medical care but also encourage a new humanism based in part on the biological confirmation of individuality.
Eric...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think

HANS ROSLING · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts.

When asked simple questions about global trends -- what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Liquid Rules: The Delightful and Dangerous Substances That Flow Through Our Lives

Mark Miodownik · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Sometimes explosive, often delicious, occasionally poisonous, but always interesting: the New York Times best-selling author of Stuff Matters show us the secret lives of liquids: the shadow counterpart of our solid "stuff."

We all know that without water we couldn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Improbable Destinies: Fate, Chance, and the Future of Evolution

Jonathan B Losos · Riverhead Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A major new work overturning our assumptions about how evolution works

Earth's natural history is full of fascinating instances of convergence: phenomena like eyes and wings and tree-climbing lizards that have evolved independently, multiple times. But evolutionary biologists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Reef: A Passionate History: The Great Barrier Reef from Captain Cook to Climate Change

Iain McCalman · Scientific Amer Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Stretching 1,400 miles along the Australian coast and visible from space, the Great Barrier Reef is home to three thousand individual reefs, more than nine hundred islands, and thousands of marine species, and has alternately been viewed as a deadly maze, an economic bounty, a scientific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zooburbia: Meditations on the Wild Animals Among Us

Tai Moses · Parallax Press
Format: Paperback

Every animal has a story.In ZOOBURBIA, urban naturalist Tai Moses launches a lively exploration into "the extraordinary, unruly, half-wild realm where human and animal lives overlap." The author's woodsy backyard at the base of the Oakland hills becomes a laboratory for encounters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nations of the World 2014: A Political, Economic & Business Handbook

Grey House Publishing · Grey House Publishing
Pages: 2126
Format: Paperback

This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing terr-itories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. More than 2,000 pages present political, economic and business information not found in any other reference work of its kind.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks: Tales of Important Geological Puzzles and the People Who Solved Them

Donald R Prothero · Columbia University Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Every rock is a tangible trace of the earth's past. In The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks, Donald R. Prothero tells the fascinating stories behind the discoveries that shook the foundations of geology. In twenty-five chapters -- each about a particular rock, outcrop, or geologic phenomenon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Domesticated: Evolution in a Man-Made World

Richard C Francis · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 484
Format: Print book

Without our domesticated plants and animals, human civilization as we know it would not exist.

We would still be living at subsistence level as hunter-gatherers if not for domestication. It is no accident that the cradle of civilization -- the Middle East -- is where sheep, goats,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon

Tucker Malarkey · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr's mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into adventures that make for a breathtakingly exciting read." - Ian Frazier, author of Travels in Siberia

In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pleasure Shock: The Rise of Deep Brain Stimulation and Its Forgotten Inventor

Lone Frank · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The electrifying, forgotten history of Robert Heath's brain pacemaker, investigating the origins and ethics of one of today's most promising medical breakthroughs: deep brain stimulation

The technology invented by psychiatrist Robert G. Heath at Tulane University in the 1950s and '60s...
Read More check catalog