Back Outdoors & Nature | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
The Oceans: A Deep History

Eelco J Rohling · Princeton University Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The 4.4-billion-year history of the oceans and their role in Earth's climate systemIt has often been said that we know more about the moon than we do about our own oceans. In fact, we know a great deal more about the oceans than many people realize. Scientists know that our actions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being a Beast: Adventures Across the Species Divide

Charles Foster · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

A passionate naturalist explores what it's really like to be an animal -- by living like themHow can we ever be sure that we really know the other? To test the limits of our ability to inhabit lives that are not our own, Charles Foster set out to know the ultimate other: the non-humans,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Forest in the Clouds: My Year Among the Mountain Gorillas in the Remote Enclave of Dr. Dian Fossey

JOHN FOWLER · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, a riveting insider's account of the fascinating world of Dr. Dian Fossey's mountain gorilla camp, telling the often-shocking story of the unraveling of Fossey's Rwandan facility alongside adventures tracking mountain gorillas over hostile terrain, confronting aggressive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Good Creature: A Memoir in Thirteen Animals

SY MONTGOMERY · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

National Book Award finalist Sy Montgomery reflects on the personalities and quirks of 13 animals - her friends - who have profoundly affected her in this stunning, poetic, and life-affirming memoir featuring illustrations by Rebecca Green.Understanding someone who belongs to another species...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poison Spring: The Secret History of Pollution and the EPA

E.G. Vallianatos · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 284
Format: Hardcover

Imagine walking into a restaurant and finding chlorinated hydrocarbon pesticides, or neonicotinoid insecticides listed in the description of your entree. They may not be printed in the menu, but many are in your food.These are a few of the literally millions of pounds of approved synthetic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where Song Began: Australia's Birds and How They Changed the World

Tim Low · Yale University Press
Pages: 405
Format: Print book

An authoritative and entertaining exploration of Australia's distinctive birds and their unheralded role in global evolution Renowned for its gallery of unusual mammals, Australia is also a land of extraordinary birds. But unlike the mammals, the birds of Australia flew beyond the continent's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spineless: The Science of Jellyfish and the Art of Growing a Backbone

Juli Berwald · Riverhead Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A former ocean scientist goes in pursuit of the slippery story of jellyfish, rediscovering her passion for marine science and the sea's imperiled ecosystems. Jellyfish are an enigma. They have no centralized brain, but they see and feel and react to their environment in complex ways. They...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Will's red coat : a story of friendship, faith, and one old dog's choice to live again

Tom Ryan · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A true story of acceptance, perseverance, and the possibility of love and redemption as evocative, charming, and powerful as the New York Times bestseller Following Atticus.Drawn by an online post, Tom Ryan adopted Will, a frightened, deaf, and mostly blind elderly dog, and brought him home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dogs of Camelot: Stories of the Kennedy Canines

Margaret Reed · Lyons Press
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Before that tragic day on November 22, 1963, the Kennedy years were filled with hope and promise. As the White House gardener put it, they were also filled with children and dogs. The Dogs of Camelotilluminates the inside story of the Kennedys' lifelong love of dogs and the unparalleled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

Dan Egan · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A landmark work of science, history and reporting on the past, present and imperiled future of the Great Lakes.The Great Lakes -- Erie, Huron, Michigan, Ontario and Superior -- hold 20 percent of the world's supply of surface fresh water and provide sustenance, work and recreation for tens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Merchants: Inside the Big Business of Breeders, Pet Stores, and Rescuers

Kim Kavin · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

We love them with all our hearts, but do we really know where our dogs came from? Kim Kavin, author of Little Boy Blue, reveals the complex network behind the $11 billion-a-year business of selling dogs. A must-read for the benefit of all dogs, everywhere. In what promises to become an "Omnivore's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Is a Dog?

Raymond Coppinger · The University of Chicago Press, 2016.
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Of the world's dogs, less than two hundred million are pets, living with humans who provide food, shelter, squeaky toys, and fashionable sweaters. But roaming the planet are five times as many dogs who are their own masters - neighborhood dogs, dump dogs, mountain dogs. They are dogs,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Horse Grooming Manual

Alison Pocklington · The Crowood Press Ltd
Pages: 190
Format: Print book

Grooming is of vital importance to a horse's health and welfare. This highly illustrated book provides practical advice for establishing good grooming practice. Topics covered in the book are: handling of the horse for grooming; routine cleaning and grooming; clipping and trimming; grooming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Odd Birds

Ian Harding · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A 7-time Teen Choice Award Winner on Freeform's most-watched series, Pretty Little Liars ... A social media influencer with over 7 million followers ... An avid birdwatcher? Yes, you read that correctly. Ian Harding is all of these things, and so much more. In this memoir, explore the unexpected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Farewell to the Horse: A Cultural History

ULRICH RAULFF · Liveright
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

A surprising, lively, and erudite history of horse and man, for readers of The Invention of Nature and The Soul of an Octopus.Horses and humans share an ancient, profoundly complex relationship. Once our most indispensable companions, horses were for millennia essential in helping build...
Read More check catalog