Back Outdoors & Nature | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Ruthless Tide: The Tragic Epic of the Johnstown Flood

AL ROKER · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A gripping narrative history of the 1889 Johnstown Flood - the deadliest flood in US history - from New York Times bestselling author, NBC Host, and legendary weather authority Al Roker.May 1889: After a deluge of rainfall - nearly a foot in less than twenty-four hours - swelled the Little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ravenmaster: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London

Christopher Skaife · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The first behind-the-scenes account of life with the legendary ravens at the world's eeriest monumentThe ravens at the Tower of London are of mighty importance: rumor has it that if a raven from the Tower should ever leave, the city will fall. The title of Ravenmaster, therefore, is a serious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Horizon

Barry Lopez · Knopf
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

From the National Book Award-winning author of the now-classic Arctic Dreams, a vivid, poetic, capacious work that recollects the travels around the world and the encounters--human, animal, and natural--that have shaped an extraordinary life.Taking us nearly from pole to pole--from modern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Designer Dogs: An Exposé: Inside the Criminal Underworld of Crossbreeding

Madeline Bernstein · Apollo Publishers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Designer Dogs is the shocking exposure of the dangers of continuing to make our dogs tinier or funnier looking, more "Instagram worthy," and presents startling new revelations on why this threatens French bulldogs, pit bulls, and other favorite breeds with extinction. Ever heard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unsettlers: In Search of the Good Life in Today's America

Mark Sundeen · Riverhead Books
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

The radical search for the simple life in today's America. On a frigid April night, a classically trained opera singer, five months pregnant, and her husband, a former marine biologist, disembark an Amtrak train in La Plata, Missouri, assemble two bikes, and pedal off into the night, bound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Omega Principle: Seafood and the Quest for a Long Life and a Healthier Planet

Paul Greenberg · Penguin Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

By the bestselling author of Four Fish and American Catch, an eye-opening investigation of the history, science, and business behind omega-3 fatty acids, the "miracle compound" whose story is intertwined with human health and the future of our planetOmega-3 fatty acids have long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Promise of the Grand Canyon: John Wesley Powell's Perilous Journey and His Vision for the American West

JOHN F ROSS · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A timely, thrilling account of a man who, as an explorer, dared to lead the first successful expedition down the Colorado through the Grand Canyon--and, as an American visionary, waged a bitterly-contested campaign for environmental sustainability in the American West.When John Wesley Powell...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Walking Life: Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time

Antonia Malchik · Da Capo Lifelong Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For readers of On Trails: an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace it"I'm going for a walk." How often has this phrase been uttered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trees of North America: Michaux and Redoute's American Masterpiece

David Allen Sibley · Abbeville Press Publishers
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

François André Michaux (1770-1855) was a French botanist whose work on the trees of North America gave the world's first illustrated account of American trees east of the Mississippi. From 1841 to 1849 the English botanist and one of the greatest plant explorers of North America,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Real Cost of Fracking: How America's Shale Gas Boom Is Threatening Our Families, Pets, and Food

Michelle Bamberger · Beacon Press
Pages: 230
Format: Hardcover

A pharmacologist and a veterinarian pull back the curtain on the human and animal health effects of hydraulic fracturing, or "fracking" Across the country, fracking - the extraction of natural gas by hydraulic fracturing - is being touted as the nation's answer to energy independence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Megafire: The Race to Extinguish a Deadly Epidemic of Flame

Michael Kodas · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant exploration of the rising phenomenon of megafires - forest fires of alarming scale, intensity, and devastation - that captures the danger and heroism of those who fight them In Megafire, a world-renowned journalist and forest fire expert travels to the most dangerous and remote...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deep Thinkers: Inside the Minds of Whales, Dolphins, and Porpoises

Janet Mann · University Of Chicago Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Humans aside, dolphins, whales, and porpoises are often considered to be the smartest creatures on Earth. Science and nature buffs are drawn to stories of their use of tools, their self-recognition, their beautiful and complex songs, and their intricate societies. But how do we know what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Walden: 12 Life Lessons from a Sojourn to Thoreau's Cabin

Kevin T Dann · TarcherPerigee
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

The acclaimed author of Expect Great Things: The Life and Search of Henry David Thoreau traverses on foot from Manhattan to Walden Pond, retracing Thoreau's steps and unlocking the practical principles of the mystic's life in the woods.When Henry David Thoreau launched his experiment in living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carnivore Minds: Who These Fearsome Animals Really Are

G. A. Bradshaw · Yale University Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Myth and media typically cast animals we consider predators or carnivores as unthinking killers - dangerous, unpredictable, and devoid of emotion. But is this portrait valid? By exploring their inner lives, this pioneering book refutes the many misperceptions that hide the true nature of these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dogs of Avalon: The Race to Save Animals in Peril

Laura Schenone · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

After adopting an Irish sight hound, Laura Schenone discovers a remarkable and little-known fight to gain justice for dogs and for all animals.Greyhounds, bred to be the fastest racing dogs on earth, are streaks of lightning. Beautiful, astonishing creatures, tens of thousands of them have...
Read More check catalog