Back History | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Common Cause: Creating Race and Nation in the American Revolution

Robert G Parkinson · Published for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture
Pages: 768
Format: Print book

When the Revolutionary War began, the odds of a united, continental effort to resist the British seemed nearly impossible. Few on either side of the Atlantic expected thirteen colonies to stick together in a war against their cultural cousins. In this pathbreaking book, Robert Parkinson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fateful Ties: A History of America's Preoccupation with China

Gordon H. Chang · Harvard University Press
Format: Hardcover

Americans look to China with fascination and fear, unsure whether the rising Asian power is friend or foe but certain it will play a crucial role in America's future. This is nothing new, Gordon Chang says. For centuries, Americans have been convinced of China's importance to their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Prisoner in His Palace: Saddam Hussein, His American Guards, and What History Leaves Unsaid

WILL BARDENWERPER · Scribner
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Rules the World?

Noam Chomsky · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 307
Format: Print book

The world's leading intellectual offers a probing examination of the waning American Century, the nature of U.S. policies post-9/11, and the perils of valuing power above democracy and human rightsIn an incisive, thorough analysis of the current international situation, Noam Chomsky argues...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescue at Los BanÌ?os : the most daring prison camp raid of World War II

Bruce Henderson · William Morrow
Format: Print book

The true story of one of the greatest military rescues of all time. In February 1945, as the U.S. victory in the Pacific drew nearer, the Japanese army grew desperate, and its soldiers guarding U.S. and Allied POWs more sadistic. Starved, shot and beaten, many of the 2,146 prisoners of the Los Ban'os...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Place Called Appomattox

William Marvel · Univ Of North Carolina Pr
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Although Appomattox Court House is one of the most symbolically charged places in America, it was an ordinary tobacco-growing village both before and after an accident of fate brought the armies of Lee and Grant together there. It is that Appomattox--the typical small Confederate community--that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plato at the Googleplex: Why Philosophy Won't Go Away

Rebecca Goldstein · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 459
Format: Hardcover

Is philosophy obsolete? Are the ancient questions still relevant in the age of cosmology and neuroscience, not to mention crowd-sourcing and cable news? The acclaimed philosopher and novelist Rebecca Newberger Goldstein provides a dazzlingly original plunge into the drama of philosophy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Francis I: The Maker of Modern France

LEONIE FRIEDA · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Catherine de Medici returns to sixteenth-century Europe in this evocative and entertaining biography that recreates a remarkable era of French history and brings to life a great monarch - Francis I - who turned France into a great nation.Catherine de Medici's father-in-law,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Impulse Society: America in the Age of Instant Gratification

Paul Roberts · Bloomsbury USA
Format: Hardcover

It's something most of us have sensed for years--the rise of a world defined only by "mine" and "now." A world where business shamelessly seeks the fastest reward, regardless of the long-term social consequences; where political leaders reflexively choose short-term...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Embroiderer: A True Story of Paris, Lovers, Swindlers, and the First Stock Market Crisis

JOAN DEJEAN · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the author of How Paris Became Paris, a sweeping history of high finance, the origins of high fashion, and a pair of star-crossed lovers in 18th-century France.Paris, 1719. The stock market is surging and the world's first millionaires are buying everything in sight. Against this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Did She Kill Him?: A Victorian Tale of Deception, Adultery, and Arsenic

Kate Colquhoun · The Overlook Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

In the summer of young Southern belle Florence Maybrick stood trial for the alleged arse-nic poisoning of her much older husband Liverpool cotton merchant James Maybrick The xCMaybrick MysteryxD had all the makings of a sensation a pretty flirtatious young girl resentful gossiping servants...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Food Explorer: The True Adventures of the Globe-Trotting Botanist Who Transformed What America Eats

Daniel Stone · Dutton
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The true adventures of David Fairchild, a late-nineteenth-century food explorer who traveled the globe and introduced diverse crops like avocados, mangoes, seedless grapes--and thousands more--to the American plateIn the nineteenth century, American meals were about subsistence, not enjoyment....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

Edward E Baptist · Basic Books
Pages: 560
Format: Print book

As the historian Edward E. Baptist reveals in The Half Has Never Been Told, the expansion of slavery in the first eight decades after American independence was the primary driver of the evolution and modernization of the United States. Drawing on intimate slave narratives, plantation records,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tunnel, Smuggle, Collect: A Holocaust Boy

Jeffrey N Gingold · HenschelHAUS Publishing
Pages: 329
Format: Print book

***2015 Finalist - MIPA Book Award for Biography *** A boy should never be forced to gather the dead or watch his family starve to death. Based upon the hidden and illuminating video and audio recordings of interviews with the author*s father and grandmother, Tunnel, Smuggle, Collect: A Holocaust...
Read More check catalog