Back Biographies & Memoirs | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir

Mark Bouman · Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela's Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you'll read this year!"What did it mean to be the Tank Man's son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father's presence and personality? It was as if I didn't exist, as if I was just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stalin's Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva

Rosemary Sullivan · Harper
Format: Hardcover

The award-winning author of Villa Air-Bel returns with a painstakingly researched, revelatory biography of Svetlana Stalin, a woman fated to live her life in the shadow of one of history's most monstrous dictators - her father, Josef Stalin.Born in the early years of the Soviet Union,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miss D and Me: Life with the Invincible Bette Davis

Kathryn Sermak · Hachette Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For ten years Kathryn Sermak was at Bette Davis's side--first as an employee, and then as her closest friend--and in Miss D and Me she tells the story of the great star's harrowing but inspiring final years, a story fans have been waiting decades to hear. Miss D and Me is a story of two powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tolstoy's False Disciple: The Untold Story of Leo Tolstoy and Vladimir Chertkov

Alexandra Popoff · Pegasus; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

This new book from the critically acclaimed author of THE WIVES 2012 and SOPHIA TOLSTOY A BIOGRAPHY 2010 sheds light on one of the most unusual relationships in literary history, which has been steeped in secrecy for more than a century.                                                                                                                                                                                         ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln's Gift: How Humor Shaped Lincoln's Life and Legacy

Gordon Leidner · Cumberland House, 2015.
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

"Simply the best book that has been published on this great president's humor and stories...Everyone interested in Abraham Lincoln will want to read this." -- William C. Harris, author of Lincoln and the Border StatesAbraham Lincoln has long been admired for his leadership, honesty,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Against the Tide: True Tales from the Stud of the Sea

Captain Lee · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the star of Bravo's hit reality show Below Deck, comes Running Against the Tide, the "Stud of the Sea's" first-ever memoir recounting his journey from landlocked Saginaw, Michigan to the high seas, where he has spent more than twenty-five years as a superyacht captain.The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Confucius: And the World He Created

Michael Schuman · Basic Books, 2015.
Pages: 285
Format: Print book

Confucius is perhaps the most important philosopher in history. Today, his teachings shape the daily lives of more than 1.6 billion people. Throughout East Asia, Confucius's influence can be seen in everything from business practices and family relationships to educational standards and government...
Read More check catalog
 
 
President McKinley: Architect of the American Century

Robert W Merry · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

"A deft character study of a president." - The New York Times Book Review "A valuable education on where America has been and, possibly, where it is going." - National Review "Magisterial." - The Christian Science Monitor In this great American story, acclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Words Without Music: A Memoir

Philip Glass · Liveright; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The long-awaited memoir by "the most prolific and popular of all contemporary composers" (New York Times).A world-renowned composer of symphonies, operas, and film scores, Philip Glass has, almost single-handedly, crafted the dominant sound of late-twentieth-century classical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt

Kara Cooney · Crown; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

An engrossing biography of the longest-reigning female pharaoh in Ancient Egypt and the story of her audacious rise to power. Hatshepsut - the daughter of a general who usurped Egypt's throne and a mother with ties to the previous dynasty - was born into a privileged position in the royal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tonight I'm Someone Else: Essays

Chelsea Hodson · Holt Paperbacks
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

"I had a real romance with this book." -- Miranda JulyA highly anticipated collection, from the writer Maggie Nelson has called, "bracingly good ... refreshing and welcome," that explores the myriad ways in which desire and commodification intersect.From graffiti gangs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Undercover brother.

Eddie Huang · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 218
Format: Print book

"Fresh Off the Boat was Huang's story of growing up in his wild family as a first-generation Chinese-American in the comically hostile world of suburban America; a rejection of the typical narrative of assimilation, it was a rallying cry for cultural integrity. But as he entered adulthood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Women of Duck Commander: Surprising Insights from the Women Behind the Beards About What Makes This Family Work

Kay Robertson · Howard Books
Pages: 260
Format: Hardcover

An Inside Look at the Robertson Women In the pages of this book, you'll find both fun and inspirational stories . . . Kay shares the honest story of her relationship with Phil - and his wild and philandering years - and the challenges of being a teenage mother. Even more amazing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lights Out: Living In A Sightless World

Rebeca Seitz · BELIEVERS PRESS
Format: Print book

When the lights go out – play harder. Travis Freeman plunged into a world of darkness at 12 years old. A rare occurrence of a routine illness stole his sight, leaving the small–town Kentucky boy's dreams of football and fun languish–ing on the sidelines. Having...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Manson Women and Me: Monsters, Morality, and Murder

NIKKI MEREDITH · Citadel
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In the summer of 1969, Leslie Van Houten and Patricia Krenwinkel carried out horrific acts of butchery on the orders of the charismatic cult leader Charles Manson. At their murder trial the following year, lead prosecutor Vincent Bugliosi described the two so-called Manson Women as "human...
Read More check catalog