Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson · Orbit
Pages: 624
Format: Print book

A new vision of the future from Kim Stanley Robinson, the New York Times bestselling author of science fiction masterworks such as the Mars trilogy, 2312, and Aurora. The waters rose, submerging New York City. But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always...
Read More check catalog
 
 
MEM

BETHANY C MORROW · The Unnamed Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

MEM is a rare novel, a small book carrying very big ideas, the kind of story that stays with you long after you've finished reading it.

Set in the glittering art deco world of a century ago, MEM makes one slight alteration to history: a scientist in Montreal discovers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Besieged: Stories from The Iron Druid Chronicles

KEVIN HEARNE · Del Rey
Pages: 235
Format: Hardcover

The ancient gods are alive and well in the modern world in this hilarious, action-packed collection of original short stories featuring Atticus O'Sullivan, the two-thousand-year-old Irishman from Kevin Hearne's New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles.

* In ancient...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Light from Other Stars

Erika Swyler · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the author of national bestseller The Book of Speculation, a poignant, fantastical novel about the electric combination of ambition and wonder that keeps us reaching toward the heavens.

Eleven-year-old Nedda Papas is obsessed with becoming an astronaut. In 1986 in Easter,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snail on the Slope

Arkadii? Strugat?s?kii? · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A neglected masterpiece by Russian science fiction greats Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, who thought of it as their "most complete and important work," The Snail on the Slope disappeared almost immediately after it was first published in a small mass-market edition in the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DR. DOA

Simon R Green · Roc
Pages: 344
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of From a Drood to a Kill comes the next Secret Histories adventure...

The name is Drood, Eddie Drood, also known as Shaman Bond. My family has been safeguarding humanity for generations, facing the hidden horrors of the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daughter of Eden

Chris Beckett · Atlantic Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Angie Redlantern is the first to spot the boats - five abreast with men in metal masks and spears standing proud, ready for the fight to come. As the people of New Earth declare war on the people of Mainground, a dangerous era has dawned for Eden. After generations of division and disagreement,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Longer Fall

Charlaine Harris · Gallery / Saga Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris returns with the second of the Gunnie Rose series, in which Lizbeth is hired onto a new crew, transporting a crate into Dixie, the self-exiled southeast territory of the former United States. What the crate contains is something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fall of Gondolin

J R R TOLKIEN · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the Tale of The Fall of Gondolin are two of the greatest powers in the world. There is Morgoth of the uttermost evil, unseen in this story but ruling over a vast military power from his fortress of Angband. Deeply opposed to Morgoth is Ulmo, second in might only to Manwe, chief...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gather Her Round: A Novel of the Tufa

Alex Bledsoe · Tor Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In Cloud County, where music and Tufa, the otherworldly fae community, intermix, a monster roams the forest, while another kind of evil lurks in the hearts of men.


"Beautifully written, surprisingly moving, and unexpected in the best of ways." -- Seanan McGuire,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2018

John Joseph Adams · Mariner Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Today's readers of science fiction and fantasy have an appetite for stories that address a wide variety of voices, perspectives, and styles. There is an openness to experiment and pushing boundaries, combined with the classic desire to read about space ships and dragons, future technology...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Melody: A Novel

Jim Crace · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Harvest, Quarantine, and Being Dead, a tender new novel about music, celebrity, local intrigue, and lost love--all set by the Mediterranean Sea

Aside from his trusty piano, Alfred Busi lives alone in his villa overlooking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Biblical: A Novel

Christopher Galt · Pegasus
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood, an apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks—who will win? A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Havoc

Ann Aguirre · Ace
Format: Print book

The Conglomerates most dangerous convicts have made the prison ship Perdition their home. And they will defend it Perdition is under siege. Mercenaries have boarded the station with orders to take control of the facility—and execute the prisoners. Their commander is offering full pardons...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shadow of What Was Lost

James Islington · Orbit
Pages: 693
Format: Hardcover

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog
"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." - Guardian

"Islington...
Read More check catalog