Back Top Choices | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
Leaving Time: A Novel

Jodi Picoult · Ballantine Books
Pages: 450
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThroughout her blockbuster career, Jodi Picoult has seamlessly blended nuanced characters, riveting plots, and rich prose, brilliantly creating stories that "not only provoke the mind but touch the flawed souls in all of us" (The Boston Globe) . Now,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black & Decker The Complete Guide to Wiring, Updated 6th Edition: Current with 2014-2017 Electrical Codes

Editors of Cool Springs Press · Cool Springs Press
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Vanity lights on the sides of the mirror provide good lighting.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eileen: A Novel

Ottessa Moshfegh · Penguin Press
Pages: 260
Format: Hardcover

Dreaming of life in the city while caring for her alcoholic father and working in a 1960s boys' prison, a disturbed young woman is manipulated into committing a psychologically charged crime during the holiday season.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Starlight on Willow Lake

Susan Wiggs · Mira Books
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs sweeps readers away to a sun-drenched summer on the shores of Willow Lake in a stunning tale of the delicate ties that bind a family together ... and the secrets that tear them apart When caregiver Faith McCallum arrives at the enchanted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel

Nina George · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Monsieur Perdu can prescribe the perfect book for a broken heart. But can he fix his own? Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Most Likely to Succeed: Preparing Our Kids for the Innovation Era

Tony Wagner · Scribner Book Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From two leading experts in education and entrepreneurship, an urgent call for the radical re-imagining of American education so that we better equip students for the realities of the twenty-first century economy.Today more than ever, we prize academic achievement, pressuring our children...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ms. Marvel Volume 2: Generation Why

G Willow Wilson · Marvel Worldwide, Inc., 2015.
Pages: 136
Format: Print book

Who is the Inventor, and what does he want with the all-new Ms. Marvel and all her friends? Maybe Wolverine can help! Kamala may be fan-girling out when her favorite (okay maybe Top Five) super hero shows up, but that won't stop her from protecting her hometown. Then, Kamala crosses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith · Mulholland Books/Little, Brown and Company, 2015. ©2015
Pages: 497
Format: Print book

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twelve Recipes

Cal Peternell · William Morrow Cookbooks
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the 2015 International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) Cookbook AwardForewords by Alice Waters and Michael PollanIn this dazzling, full color cookbook and kitchen manual filled with lush photographs and beautiful drawings, the chef of Alice Waters' Chez Panisse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hope to Die

James Patterson · Little Brown & Co
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Detective Alex Cross is being stalked by a psychotic genius, forced to play the deadliest game of his career. Cross's family--his loving wife Bree, the wise and lively Nana Mama, and his precious children--have been ripped away. Terrified and desperate, Cross must give this mad man what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witch of Lime Street: Séance, Seduction, and Houdini in the Spirit World

David Jaher · Crown Publishers, 2015.
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

History comes alive in this textured account of the rivalry between Harry Houdini and the so-called Witch of Lime Street, whose iconic lives intersected at a time when science was on the verge of embracing the paranormal.The 1920s are famous as the golden age of jazz and glamour, but it was also...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paradise Lodge

Nina Stibbe · Little
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A delightful story of growing up, getting old, and every step in between, from the acclaimed author of Man at the Helm and Love, Nina.After succeeding in her quest to help her unconventional mother find a new "man at the helm," fifteen-year-old Lizzie Vogel simply wants to be a normal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Ed Catmull · Random House
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios - the Academy Award-winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story - comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Fall of Marigolds

Susan Meissner · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 370
Format: Paperback

A beautiful scarf, passed down through the generations, connects two women who learn that the weight of the world is made bearable by the love we give away....September 1911. On Ellis Island in New York Harbor, nurse Clara Wood cannot face returning to Manhattan, where the man she loved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brown Girl Dreaming

Jacqueline Woodson · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's LiteratureA New York Times Bestseller and National Book Award Winner Jacqueline Woodson, the acclaimed author of Another Brooklyn, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse. Raised in South...
Read More check catalog