Back Audiobooks | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Audiobooks  
Liberty's First Crisis: Adams, Jefferson, and the Misfits Who Saved Free Speech

Charles Slack · Atlantic Monthly Press
Format: Hardcover

When the United States government passed the Bill of Rights in 1791, its uncompromising protection of speech and of the press were unlike anything the world had ever seen before. But by 1798, the once-dazzling young republic of the United States was on the verge of collapse partisanship...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No one is coming to save us : a novel

Stephanie Powell Watts · Harper Audio
Format: Audiobook

JJ Ferguson has returned home to Pinewood, North Carolina to build his dream home and to woo his high school sweetheart, Ava. But he finds that the people he once knew and loved have changed, just as he has. Ava is now married, and wants a baby more than anything. The decline of the town's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Astonishing Color of After

Emily X.R. Pan · Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Pages: 1
Format: Audiobook

[Young Adult Fiction (Ages 12-17) ]A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.Leigh, who is half...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Prisoner of Birth

Jeffrey Archer · Macmillan Audio; Unabridged edition
Format: Audio CD

Danny Cartwright and Spencer Craig never should have met. One evening, Danny, an East End cockney who works as a garage mechanic, takes his fianceé up to the West End to celebrate their engagement. He crosses the path of Spencer Craig, a West End barrister posed to be the youngest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Top Secret Twenty-One: A Stephanie Plum Novel

Janet Evanovich · Random House Audio; Unabridged edition
Format: Audio CD

1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERCatch a professional assassin top priority. Find a failure-to-appear and collect big bucks top score. How shell pull it all off top secret.   Trenton, New Jerseys favorite used-car dealer, Jimmy Poletti, was caught selling a lot more than used cars out of his dealerships....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly, and the Making of the Modern Middle East

Scott Anderson · Blackstone Audiobooks; Unabridged LIBRARY edition
Format: Audio CD

[Library Edition Audiobook CD in sturdy Vinyl case.] [Read by Malcolm Hillgartner] *Includes a bonus PDF with photos A thrilling and revelatory narrative of one of the most epic and consequential periods in twentieth century history -- the Arab Revolt and the secret game to control the Middle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Return

Varian Johnson · Scholastic Audio Books
Format: Audiobook

Confidential until May 2016!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Turbulence

Stuart Woods · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 311
Format: Hardcover

In the electrifying new thriller from #1 New York Times-bestselling author Stuart Woods, Stone Barrington finds himself pitted against both man and nature.Stone Barrington and several friends are vacationing in Florida when an extreme weather event puts a damper on their trip. Even worse,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twilight Warriors: The Soldiers, Spies, and Special Agents Who Are Revolutionizing the American Way of War

James Kitfield · HighBridge Audio
Format: Audiobook on CD

When US troops withdrew from Afghanistan at the end of 2014, the longest conflict in our nation's history came to an end. Yet we are still at war-no longer with other states, but with a host of new enemies, from Jihadi insurgents and nihilistic terrorists to narco-traffickers and modern-day...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life

William Finnegan · Audible Studios on Brilliance
Format: Audiobook

Barbarian Days is William Finnegan's memoir of an obsession, a complex enchantment. Surfing only looks like a sport. To initiates, it is something else entirely: a beautiful addiction, a demanding course of study, a morally dangerous pastime, a way of life. Raised in California and Hawaii,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Going Potty

Eoin Colfer · Brilliance Audio
Format: Audiobook on CD

Ed Cooper's a senior infant now and that means using the big boys' toilet. Ed needs "to go" but he just can't. The big white toilet is very different to the junior infants' loo -- with no lock on the door and goodness knows what hiding "down there!" What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prairie fires : the American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder

Caroline Fraser · Findaway World
Format: Audiobook

The first comprehensive historical biography of Laura Ingalls Wilder, the beloved author of the Little House on the Prairie book series. Millions of readers of Little House on the Prairie believe they know Laura Ingalls-the pioneer girl who survived blizzards and near-starvation on the Great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiloh Season

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor · Listening Library
Format: Audio CD

After Marty Preston worked so hard to earn the dog Shiloh, he had hoped that his troubles with Judd Travers were over. He could not rescue all the dogs that Judd mistreated, but since Shiloh was the one who ran away and came to him, Shiloh was the one he loved.Judd, however, has other problems....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hiddensee: A Novel

Gregory Maguire · William Morrow
Pages: 287
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the beloved #1 New York Times bestseller Wicked, the magical story of a toymaker, a nutcracker, and a legend remade . . .Gregory Maguire returns with an inventive novel inspired by a timeless holiday legend, intertwining the story of the famous Nutcracker with the life...
Read More check catalog