Back Ages 4-8 | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Butterflies and Moths

Lisa M. Herrington · C. Press/F. Watts Trade
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Theyre both insects. They both have wings and antennas and flutter through the sky. So how do you tell the difference between butterflies and moths? One way is to ask yourself if they fly mostly during the day or at night. These identification clues and many more can all be found in Whats...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roseate Spoonbill

Ellen Lawrence · Bearport Publishing
Pages: 24
Format: Book

It's early morning in a swamp. A roseate spoonbill is wading through a shallow pond. Slowly, the bird sweeps its long, spoon-shaped bill back and forth through the water. The colorful bird is feeling for small fish and shrimp. When its super-sensitive bill detects movement in the murky...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Pants: Trick or Feet!

Scott Mccormick · Dial Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Trick-or-treat with some seriously clever cats in this Halloween installment of the series perfect for fans of Bad Kitty and Squish! When Mr. Pants and his sisters find themselves snowed in at the airport on Halloween night, it looks like their plans for the best Halloween ever are about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Picnic with Oliver

MIKA SONG · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"Fans of Tea with Oliver will delight in watching this cat-and-mouse friendship grow." - KirkusA beautifully illustrated picture book about friendship, starring the BFF cat-and-mouse duo Oliver and Philbert, from award-winning author-illustrator Mika Song.The two friends are going...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Can You See What I See?: Out of This World: Picture Puzzles to Search and Solve

Walter Wick · Cartwheel Books
Format: Hardcover

Walter Wick's new search-and-find adventure in the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling series!OUT OF THIS WORLD, the ninth title in this search-and-find series, follows two characters from two separate, very different worlds--until their worlds collide! In the end, we learn that these two worlds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I am Abraham Lincoln

Brad Meltzer · Dial Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

We can all be heroes. That's the inspiring message of this lively, collectible picture book biography series from New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer. "Kids always search for heroes, so we might as well have a say in it," Brad Meltzer realized, and so he envisioned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Polly Diamond and the Magic Book: Book 1

Alice Kuipers · Chronicle Books
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Polly loves words. And she loves writing stories. So when a magic book appears on her doorstep that can make everything she writes happen in real life, Polly is certain all of her dreams are about to come true. But she soon learns that what you write and what you mean are not always the same...
Read More check catalog
 
 
King & Kayla and the Case of the Secret Code

Dori Hillestad Butler · Peachtree Publishers
Pages: 46
Format: Hardcover

A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery. Kayla and Mason both got mysterious letters, written in code. What does Kayla know? The same person left both letters. It's someone she and Mason both know. The two letters are the same, except for the second word. What does King know?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hammerhead Sharks

Leo Statts · Abdo Zoom
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Provides a basic introduction to hammerhead sharks, describing their physical characteristics, habitat, behaviors, and life cycle.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Small Person

Lauren Child · Candlewick Press (MA)
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Lauren Child tells the familiar tale of a less-than-welcome sibling with subtlety, insight, affection, and humor.Elmore Green starts life as an only child, as many children do. He has a room to himself, where he can line up his precious things and nobody will move them one inch. But one day everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sheep Go to Sleep

Nancy E. Shaw · Harcourt Brace and Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

It's time for bed but the sheep just can't settle down. Never fear, a trusty sheepdog is here to help. What will it take to get these restless sheep to bed? A hug? A blanket? A drink of water? Will this dedicated collie ever get these bleating sheep to sleep?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rock On, Mom And Dad!

James Dean · HarperFestival, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

Rock out with Pete the Cat in New York Times bestselling artist James Dean's Pete the Cat: Rock On, Mom and Dad!, complete with stickers, cards, and a poster!Mom and Dad do so much for Pete that he wants to thank them with a special surprise. But what can Pete do that will show Mom and Dad how much...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Kitty, Scaredy-Cat

Nick Bruel · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Kitty wasn't always such a scaredy-cat. She used to be brave and lionhearted and nervy. That is, until one late October day a group of terrifying monsters showed up on her doorstop and Kitty became VERY scared. Then she decided to take matters into her own paws.Bad Kitty is back in her first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Noodleheads Find Something Fishy

Tedd Arnold · Holiday House
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author-illustrator TEDD ARNOLD has teamed up with two professional storytellers to create a third comic-style book about the gullible Noodlehead Brothers, Mac and Mac.Mac and Mac deduce that since fish live in schools, they must be smart. The fish in this funny story are smart...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pete the Cat: Go, Pete, Go!

James Dean · Harperfestival
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author-artist James Dean brings us a new Pete the Cat adventure, a special reimagining of "The Tortoise and the Hare" as a race between Pete and Turtle, in Pete the Cat: Go, Pete, Go! Includes over 30 fun stickers.Ding, ding. There's nothing Pete...
Read More check catalog