Back Ages 4-8 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Old Hat

Emily Gravett · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of Wolves, Dogs, Tidy, and the Bear and Hare series and twice-winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, Emily Gravett comes a fresh, funny, and punchy picture book about the futility of fads and the joy of learning to be yourself.Harbet had a hat. His Nana had knitted it for him when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hug Machine

Scott Campbell · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Who have YOU hugged today? Open your arms to this delightfully tender, goofy, and sweet tale.Watch out world, here he comes! The Hug Machine! Whether you are big, or small, or square, or long, or spikey, or soft, no one can resist his unbelievable hugs! HUG ACCOMPLISHED! This endearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Babar's Guide to Paris

Laurent de Brunhoff · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Babar the elephant, one of the most beloved and classic characters in children's literature, showcases his favorite parts of the City of Lights in this memorable trip to Paris, France. Laurent de Brunhoff's Paris is filled with charming elephants on every page as they enjoy all the sights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Samurai Santa: A Very Ninja Christmas

Rubin Pingk · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

A young ninja wants a snowball fight for Christmas, and he just might get his holiday wish in this picture book with graphic novel-inspired illustrations that celebrate the spirit of giving, Samurai style.It's snowing on Christmas Eve! Yukio loves snowball fights, but none of the other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey Black Child

Useni Eugene Perkins · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Six-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and four-time Caldecott Honor recipient Bryan Collier brings this classic, inspirational poem to life, written by poet Useni Eugene Perkins
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amelia Bedelia Is for the Birds

Herman Parish · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Learn to read with young Amelia Bedelia! The Amelia Bedelia books are great for growing the vocabularies of newly independent readers. Amelia Bedelia Is for the Birds is a funny story about nature, friendship, and family, and it stars Amelia Bedelia as a young girl. More than 35 million...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mercury: The Smallest of All

Chaya Glaser · Bearport Publishing
Format: Print book

Whats the closest planet to our Sun? Mercury! Mercury orbits the Sun very quickly in fact, it circles the Sun four times more quickly than Earth. With a surface covered in craters, its also the smallest planet. Early readers will be taken on a journey through outer space as they learn these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dad and the Dinosaur

Gennifer Choldenko · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A heartwarming father-son story about bravery and facing fears. Nicholas was afraid of the dark outside his door, the bushes where the giant bugs live, and the underside of manhole covers. His dad was not afraid of anything. Nicholas wants to be as brave as his dad, but he needs help....
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Pillow Keeps Moving

Laura Gehl · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40

A lonely man tries to buy a pillow . . . and ends up with a new best friend in this silly and sweet doggy tale, perfect for fans of Officer Buckle and Gloria. Dogs make good pillows, don't they? A clever pup ends up in a cozy home, and she'll do anything to stay there. She impersonates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Otter Goes to School

Sam Garton · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Otter - the irrepressible picture book character from I Am Otter, Otter in Space, and Otter Loves Halloween!, sure to be adored by fans of Llama Llama - goes to school for the first time!In Otter Goes to School, Otter starts her own school for Teddy, Giraffe, and the rest of her friends....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stegothesaurus

Bridget Heos · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A fun, playful, energetic story starring two stegosauruses and one stegothesaurus about family -- and synonyms! -- for the young word lover in your home, residence, or abode!Stegothesaurus's love of language has always put him at odds with his stegosaurus brothers. So when he makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Middle of Fall

Kevin Henkes · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Everything is yellow, red, orange.Everything is chilly, frisky, gusty.Everything is changing, turning.It's the middle of Fall.Can you see it?Can you taste it?Can you smell it?Can you imagine it?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey, That's MY Monster!

Amanda Noll · Flashlight Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When Ethan looks under the bed for his monster, he finds this note instead: "So long, kid. Gotta go. Someone needs me more than you do. -Gabe" How will Ethan ever get to sleep without his monster's familiar, comforting snorts? And who could need Gabe more than Ethan does?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
World of Reading Star Wars Rebels Hera's Phantom Flight: Level 2

Elizabeth Schaefer · Disney Lucasfilm Press
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

Rebel pilot Hera stars in another exciting Star Wars adventure! Featuring exciting full-color art from the show, this World of Reading early reader is perfect for fans who are ready to read on their own.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kung Pow Chicken #3: The Birdy Snatchers

Cyndi Marko · Scholastic Inc.
Format: Hardcover

Gordon's birdy senses are tingling like crazy! All over the city, chickens are acting strangely. Have they been turned into zombies?! This superhero knows that only a bad guy would steal brains! Kung Pow Chicken is hot on the evil Birdbrain's tail feathers--that is, until an army...
Read More check catalog