Back Science | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

Svante PaÃŒ?aÃŒ?bo · Basic Books
Pages: 275
Format: Hardcover

What can we learn from the genomes of our closest evolutionary relatives?Neanderthal Man tells the story of geneticist Svante Pääbo's mission to answer this question, and recounts his ultimately successful efforts to genetically define what makes us different from our Neanderthal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Robert Sapolsky · Penguin Press
Pages: 790
Format: Hardcover

"It's no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I've ever read." - David P. Barash, The Wall Street JournalFrom the celebrated neurobiologist and primatologist, a landmark, genre-defining examination of human behavior, both good and bad, and an answer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Alpha Woman Meets Her Match: How Today's Strong Women Can Find Love and Happiness Without Settling

Sonya Rhodes · William Morrow; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Relationship therapist Sonya Rhodes's liberating, straight-talking guide convincingly argues that successful modern women--the audience who embraced Lean In--can find the right guy without having to change or settle, and tells them how to do it.In the twenty-first century, women are outpacing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Roll Back Global Warming

Paul Hawken · Penguin Books
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

The 100 most substantive solutions to reverse global warming, based on meticulous research by leading scientists and policymakers around the worldIn the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dataclysm: Who We Are

Christian Rudder · Crown
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times BestsellerAn audacious, irreverent investigation of human behavior—and a first look at a revolution in the making   Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we dont need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder uses it to show us who we truly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Global Warming: The Complete Briefing

J T Houghton · Cambridge University Press, 2015.
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

How much of global warming is due to human activities? How far will it be possible to adapt to changes of climate? John T. Houghton's definitive, full colour, guide to climate change answers these questions and more by providing the best and latest information available, including the latest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Utopia is creepy : and other provocations

Nicholas Carr · W W Norton
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

With a razor wit, Nicholas Carr cuts through Silicon Valley s unsettlingly cheery vision of the technological future to ask a hard question: Have we been seduced by a lie? Gathering a decade s worth of posts from his blog, Rough Type, as well as his seminal essays, Utopia Is Creepy offers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Paul Rosolie · Harper,
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Animal Madness: How Anxious Dogs, Compulsive Parrots, and Elephants in Recovery Help Us Understand Ourselves

Laurel Braitman · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 373
Format: Book

** "Science Friday" Summer Reading Pick** **Discover magazine Top 5 Summer Reads****People magazine Best Summer Reads** "[A] lovely, big-hearted book ... brimming with compassion and the tales of the many, many humans who devote their days to making animals well." - The New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Troublesome Inheritance: Genes, Race and Human History

Nicholas Wade · Penguin Press
Pages: 278
Format: Hardcover

Drawing on startling new evidence from the mapping of the genome, an explosive new account of the genetic basis of race and its role in the human story Fewer ideas have been more toxic or harmful than the idea of the biological reality of race, and with it the idea that humans of different...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why?: What Makes Us Curious

Mario Livio · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Astrophysicist and author Mario Livio investigates perhaps the most human of all our characteristics - curiosity - as he explores our innate desire to know why.Experiments demonstrate that people are more distracted when they overhear a phone conversation - where they can know only one side...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin's Forgotten Theory of Mate Choice Shapes the Animal World - and Us

RICHARD O PRUM · Doubleday
Pages: 428
Format: Hardcover

A major reimagining of how evolutionary forces work, revealing how mating preferences - what Darwin termed "the taste for the beautiful" - create the extraordinary range of ornament in the animal world. In the great halls of science, dogma holds that Darwin's theory of natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The upright thinkers : the human journey from living in trees to understanding the cosmos

Leonard Mlodinow · Pantheon Books
Pages: n/a
Format: Print book

Presents a history of science, focusing on its influence in the transition from humanity's primitive beginnings up to the modern day, with profiles of famous scientists responsible for some of the world's greatest scientific discoveries. --Publisher's description."Leonard Mlodinow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unruly Places: Lost Spaces, Secret Cities, and Other Inscrutable Geographies

Alastair Bonnett · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 270
Format: Hardcover

A tour of the world's hidden geographies - from disappearing islands to forbidden deserts - and a stunning testament to how mysterious the world remains today
Read More check catalog
 
 
How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Benedict Carey · Random House
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today - and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness,...
Read More check catalog